Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So this Gigabyte RX460 which works almost OOB, well prior to 12.4 update according to most previous comments and threads I read, is now currently not working in 12.4?

I also don't have the kexts and patches that was mentioned from your link that is causing the RX460 to not work. I tried to select Berbice and set Inject ATI=true, lost boot screen, waited for at least a couple of minutes, still the display did not open.

What else to try?

TIA

For my setup, it is working almost OOB by using Inject-ATI = false and removing all of the other related patches OR, by using Inject-ATI = true along with using the Clover. Key FBName set to be Berbice as well as the Clover Berbice frame buffer patch I listed. You cannot just use the framebuffer name without the framebuffer patch. Ohers that have joined in the various comments are getting similar results. Also make sure you are using a new version of Clover, probably v4035 or the newest v 4049. 10.12.4 and Clover have made some of the approaches obsolete or at least no longer necessary. Note: this is also happening with some of the older graphics and other add in cards as well.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2017
Messages
293
Motherboard
Asrock 270 Fatality mini-ITX
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Nice! It's the code I was selecting in your AMD compatibility guide.
Also install Verde.kext
Yes I was right facing the black screen sierra phase.

Now I got an "AMD Radeon HD 7xxx 2048 MB", with only a pair of glitches (flashes) on boot's progress bar.
After that everything flows.

It seem that this GPU, although it's a DDR5, it's only a "first generation", and less strong than the official site advertise :-X.
I did a geekbench compute Open CL with a score of 9232, less than the HD530: 19000. Is this possible?

A last detail I will investigate tomorrow is the GPU's fan that is running at max speed, it's noisy on a silent build...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 9, 2017
Messages
293
Motherboard
Asrock 270 Fatality mini-ITX
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Testing the card
  • I inserted GraphicEnabler=yes in config.plist in injection section (not sure if graphic accelleration is ON)
  • After effects alert me that there is no CUDA, after a fast search I know that is not available with AMD gpu.
    (But an old project called Ocelot promise compatibility...)
  • Looking on geekbench charts I see that W4100 should be at 26.300. I have the feeling that actually it's read as a DDR3 gpu. I will test soon similar ID, and framebuffer names.
  • Reading the hierarchy gpu post, this gpu should be a little better than HD530, so did also Novabench test:
    results with hd530 are global 1287, graphic 58. Result with AMD w4100, global 1320, graphic 65.
    This corresponds. Probably the Novabench is a wider test than only Open CL

I am also trying to control the fans. :beachball:
Looking about this I found this article and this other, but no one worked and it seem that I can't control the GPU speed.
Two details:
  • I see the temp on HWmonitor app: 40-42° in normal usage,
  • the speed of the fan is not detected.
I read that's almost is impossible to control fans of AMD gpu on Mac...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-GAMING 5
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 460
For my setup, it is working almost OOB by using Inject-ATI = false and removing all of the other related patches OR, by using Inject-ATI = true along with using the Clover. Key FBName set to be Berbice as well as the Clover Berbice frame buffer patch I listed. You cannot just use the framebuffer name without the framebuffer patch. Ohers that have joined in the various comments are getting similar results. Also make sure you are using a new version of Clover, probably v4035 or the newest v 4049. 10.12.4 and Clover have made some of the approaches obsolete or at least no longer necessary. Note: this is also happening with some of the older graphics and other add in cards as well.
Hello ¡¡ Are sleep and wake working for you? I'm facing some issues on that, because most of the times wakes without acceleration.
Could you help me to configure it right? Thanks a lot ¡¡¡
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2017
Messages
293
Motherboard
Asrock 270 Fatality mini-ITX
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Yes, I just done your benchmark.
with HD530 as primary

with AMD HD7xxx as primary

The card seem to be slower, note this detail on Luxmark interface: it has a clock of 100mhz?

Also, audio over mdp is not solved by the gpu, and stop/wake remain.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello ¡¡ Are sleep and wake working for you? I'm facing some issues on that, because most of the times wakes without acceleration.
Could you help me to configure it right? Thanks a lot ¡¡¡

You probably will not like my answer. I am in 10.12.5 PB (s well as 10.12.4) and some sleep functions are working but hibernate mode is not working. I lost hibernate mode somewhere around 10.12.2 or so. Display sleep, all of the way to monitor shutdown mode and restart is working well. I have tried various options to recover audio after sleeping, but it seemed that longer sleep times caused these fixes to also not work, and hence the system needed to be rebooted. So for 'long enough' sleep times, I just shut the system down and restart later. For short term sleep, I open a terminal window, type in the command caffeinate and let it run. This will let the screen saver come on as you have it set up, then sleep the display, then allow it to shutdown at the times you have set up in the Energy Saver Preferences. The mouse and keyboard will awaken the system with acceleration, audio,. etc. no problems, but this command is not for long term use as it does not sleep the cpu.

edit: type the usual control-c combination to exit the command.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello AMD users. So Pascal driver is coming to Mac, does anyone know is it possible that Mac will support RX 480 without any tweaks? I want to use two RX 480(Crossfire in window) for my build. Gigamaxx told me that two rx480 will cause black screen in a skylake system. Does anyone know the reason behind this and will it be fix?

To be honest, at this point, I don't know if I should switch to Nvidia. :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top