Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have the Gigabyte RX460 4GB no 6-pin card. I also have HD530 built-in. The HD530 works natively without glitches, just the wake issue.

I would like to use my RX460. I have enabled CPU Graphics as Primary with 64MB DVMT. I have no ig-platform ID and Inject Intel is set to false. I have Inject ATI set to true instead. Monitor is plugged via HDMI to the RX460. Still the system boots using the HD530 so at half way boot the monitor turns off.

What am I missing?
op
orly
Note: I am running on Clover 4049. macOS 10.12.4

There are a couple of things to check on to make sure they are not interfering with your set-up.

1.) I am using a Haswell based system and found in the upgrade from 10.12.3 to 10.12.4, that the audio patching (CloverALC) had to be modified a bit because it was stopping the connectors from working. [the Realtek kext had to be removed, but the AppleHDA layout resources as well as the Clover patches for recognizing the layouts were kept for motherboard audio.]

2.) (Also coming from 10.12.3 to 10.12.4) @Sitherick found that some DSDT changes had to be made to get the card to work properly, see: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...rs-for-new-amd-radeon-drivers.197273/page-226 #2260

If these are okay, you should be able to get up and running with Inject-ATI = false. Your monitor will have the black screen booting until just after the AMD 4100 kext loads and your graphics card fans spin up. The monitor will turn back on and then after that, the login screen will appear.

That said, you should be able to use Inject-ATI = true, but you will need to use a frame buffer to get it to work. Read through the entry here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...rs-for-new-amd-radeon-drivers.197273/page-224 #2236 and make sure you set FBName to be Berbice in the Clover preferences. I have since gone back and tested the patch with regular (single link) DVI monitors and the patch works just fine with them as well as with dual-link DVI monitors and HDMI and DP monitors. Unless you have very good results, you will only be able to use two monitors at a time though.

Regardless, you will have the black screen on your monitor though the boot process until the kext loads and the log-in screen appears.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2014
Messages
183
Motherboard
MSI Z370i Pro Gaming Carbon AC
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
RX460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There are a couple of things to check on to make sure they are not interfering with your set-up.

1.) I am using a Haswell based system and found in the upgrade from 10.12.3 to 10.12.4, that the audio patching (CloverALC) had to be modified a bit because it was stopping the connectors from working. [the Realtek kext had to be removed, but the AppleHDA layout resources as well as the Clover patches for recognizing the layouts were kept for motherboard audio.]

2.) (Also coming from 10.12.3 to 10.12.4) @Sitherick found that some DSDT changes had to be made to get the card to work properly, see: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...rs-for-new-amd-radeon-drivers.197273/page-226 #2260

If these are okay, you should be able to get up and running with Inject-ATI = false. Your monitor will have the black screen booting until just after the AMD 4100 kext loads and your graphics card fans spin up. The monitor will turn back on and then after that, the login screen will appear.

That said, you should be able to use Inject-ATI = true, but you will need to use a frame buffer to get it to work. Read through the entry here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...rs-for-new-amd-radeon-drivers.197273/page-224 #2236 and make sure you set FBName to be Berbice in the Clover preferences. I have since gone back and tested the patch with regular (single link) DVI monitors and the patch works just fine with them as well as with dual-link DVI monitors and HDMI and DP monitors. Unless you have very good results, you will only be able to use two monitors at a time though.

Regardless, you will have the black screen on your monitor though the boot process until the kext loads and the log-in screen appears.

So this Gigabyte RX460 which works almost OOB, well prior to 12.4 update according to most previous comments and threads I read, is now currently not working in 12.4?

I also don't have the kexts and patches that was mentioned from your link that is causing the RX460 to not work. I tried to select Berbice and set Inject ATI=true, lost boot screen, waited for at least a couple of minutes, still the display did not open.

What else to try?

TIA
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So this Gigabyte RX460 which works almost OOB, well prior to 12.4 update according to most previous comments and threads I read, is now currently not working in 12.4?

I also don't have the kexts and patches that was mentioned from your link that is causing the RX460 to not work. I tried to select Berbice and set Inject ATI=true, lost boot screen, waited for at least a couple of minutes, still the display did not open.

What else to try?

TIA

For my setup, it is working almost OOB by using Inject-ATI = false and removing all of the other related patches OR, by using Inject-ATI = true along with using the Clover. Key FBName set to be Berbice as well as the Clover Berbice frame buffer patch I listed. You cannot just use the framebuffer name without the framebuffer patch. Ohers that have joined in the various comments are getting similar results. Also make sure you are using a new version of Clover, probably v4035 or the newest v 4049. 10.12.4 and Clover have made some of the approaches obsolete or at least no longer necessary. Note: this is also happening with some of the older graphics and other add in cards as well.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-GAMING 5
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 460
For my setup, it is working almost OOB by using Inject-ATI = false and removing all of the other related patches OR, by using Inject-ATI = true along with using the Clover. Key FBName set to be Berbice as well as the Clover Berbice frame buffer patch I listed. You cannot just use the framebuffer name without the framebuffer patch. Ohers that have joined in the various comments are getting similar results. Also make sure you are using a new version of Clover, probably v4035 or the newest v 4049. 10.12.4 and Clover have made some of the approaches obsolete or at least no longer necessary. Note: this is also happening with some of the older graphics and other add in cards as well.
Hello ¡¡ Are sleep and wake working for you? I'm facing some issues on that, because most of the times wakes without acceleration.
Could you help me to configure it right? Thanks a lot ¡¡¡
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello ¡¡ Are sleep and wake working for you? I'm facing some issues on that, because most of the times wakes without acceleration.
Could you help me to configure it right? Thanks a lot ¡¡¡

You probably will not like my answer. I am in 10.12.5 PB (s well as 10.12.4) and some sleep functions are working but hibernate mode is not working. I lost hibernate mode somewhere around 10.12.2 or so. Display sleep, all of the way to monitor shutdown mode and restart is working well. I have tried various options to recover audio after sleeping, but it seemed that longer sleep times caused these fixes to also not work, and hence the system needed to be rebooted. So for 'long enough' sleep times, I just shut the system down and restart later. For short term sleep, I open a terminal window, type in the command caffeinate and let it run. This will let the screen saver come on as you have it set up, then sleep the display, then allow it to shutdown at the times you have set up in the Energy Saver Preferences. The mouse and keyboard will awaken the system with acceleration, audio,. etc. no problems, but this command is not for long term use as it does not sleep the cpu.

edit: type the usual control-c combination to exit the command.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
122
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello AMD users. So Pascal driver is coming to Mac, does anyone know is it possible that Mac will support RX 480 without any tweaks? I want to use two RX 480(Crossfire in window) for my build. Gigamaxx told me that two rx480 will cause black screen in a skylake system. Does anyone know the reason behind this and will it be fix?

To be honest, at this point, I don't know if I should switch to Nvidia. :p
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Graphics
Asus strix RTX 2080TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I just upgraded from a HD 7970 to a R9 290X card. My 7970 was working flawlessly straight OOB. R9 290X? Not so much. I got the black screen after startup and monitor went into sleep mode. I have been reading about setting onboard intel GFX as primary and attaching both VGA (from intel GFX) and HDMI (from R9 290X) to the same monitor in order to see the clover boot menu (dual booting windows) Is this still the best way to "init" the R9 290X card? Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top