Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,570
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
You mean GUI|ScreenResolution? This is only for Clover boot-screen (which runs on separate monitor connected to HD530) and is set to 1920x1080px...

Are you sure? When I dont set mine to 1080p my icons are huge.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
Alienware 15R3
CPU
I7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD630 with GTX1070 laptop
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
so, I have RX480 metal supported using HDMI port. Awesome! I'm on 10.12.4 with latest clover. However, I have to unplug HDMI from RX480, boot to clover loader screen using HD530, then I can plug in RX480 again and proceed to boot. If I leave both HD530 and RX480 (two separate monitors) plugged in I will boot to non-responsive black screen every time. I think error is iogfxscreenlock...
Also, nothing makes my HD530 work. It shows up as HD7000 7MB. I've tried 3 days of every combination I can think of. The big problem is my bios is terrible and has no option to set DVMT prealloc. So, I'm using minStolenSize patch, but that doesn't work either. Any thoughts? It's a desktop, HP Envy 750-415.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
12
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
My problems with only one display at time with RX460/10.12.4 are DSDT related. Especially HECI->IMEI rename seams causing the problem. Mork's/Jerry's Berbice patch is working now. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
73
Motherboard
GA-H170M-DS3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
AMD RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@Gigamaxx @jerryy2345 I updated via Appstore today to 10.12.4 but before do that I make using my iGPU so I have less problem after when I go to activate again the RX 480 but after the update was downloaded, the pc reboot as always, install, but when finished just get a black screen, no mouse cursor, just the black screen, why I could get that? I unplugged the RX and just leave working just igpu and them plug the XFX RX 480 again.
 
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus Aura > Need full model name > See Rules!
CPU
Ryzen 9 5950X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
@Gigamaxx @jerryy2345 I updated via Appstore today to 10.12.4 but before do that I make using my iGPU so I have less problem after when I go to activate again the RX 480 but after the update was downloaded, the pc reboot as always, install, but when finished just get a black screen, no mouse cursor, just the black screen, why I could get that? I unplugged the RX and just leave working just igpu and them plug the XFX RX 480 again.

You need to specify the frame buffer Baladi in clover.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
73
Motherboard
GA-H170M-DS3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
AMD RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You need to specify the frame buffer Baladi in clover.
This is my clover setting. Right now I'm booting on my backup drive with 10.12.2
Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.18.07.png
Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.18.14.png
Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.18.24.png
Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.19.46.png


I have installed Clover v2.3k r3923 but I dont know if that is the problem
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.18.07.png
    Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.18.07.png
    162.6 KB · Views: 118
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
My problems with only one display at time with RX460/10.12.4 are DSDT related. Especially HECI->IMEI rename seams causing the problem. Mork's/Jerry's Berbice patch is working now. Thanks!

I am glad to hear things are working better. How many monitors are you able to use at once?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
This is my clover setting. Right now I'm booting on my backup drive with 10.12.2

...

I have installed Clover v2.3k r3923 but I dont know if that is the problem

I am not sure how much help I will be able to provide beyond making suggestions, because I am using a RX 460 rather than a RX 480, but it sounds like rhys216 has you started on one track. Baladi is one of the frame buffers still available. One quick thought; you may need to update your Clover version to an even newer version, see this thread:

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...d-for-kext-injection-in-macos-10-12-4.218062/

If these do not work, Mork has a Berbice frame buffer patch listed some few pages back that may help. I also have read of Gigamaxx doing quite a bit using Inject-ATI = false along with some other Clover patches.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
12
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@jerryy2345: I've connected DVI and DP simultaneously (DVI and HDMI alternatively). Both combinations (DP/HDMI is physically the same monitor) work well with the Berbice patch. This was not the case with my previous DSDT.aml. The reason was HECI to IMEI rename in it (recommended for Skylake and unproblematic till 10.12.3).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top