Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,451
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Did today's AMD announcements at the CES show make you happy?
Ryzen now and Vega 6-10 months from now! Real HappyQ!f&...@Ryzen.

If and that's a pretty big IF Vega 10 is as good as they're claiming this will be good for us. If they did come out with Vega first, I bet nobody would bother to buy the Zen boards so I guess they did what they had to do. Turds!

IMG_2303.JPG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i5-6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte Radeon RX 460 OC
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
This FCP X issue is intriguing me even if I don't use FCP X. According to Digital Rebellion it's an issue with Effect Rendering and Flexo. Since FCP X opens up the last event and timeline it crashes when attempting to render it.

4 Flexo 0x00000001040a863b -[FFRendererInfo initWithLocation:] + 587​

Deleting those two bundles does work (they are the OpenGL and the Metal drivers respectively) but that effectively kills the iGPU which for people using only the dGPU it's not an issue. Those of us who will be using a secondary monitor plugged into the iGPU it will cause issues most likely.

I have 10.2.3 and that opens with no issue! So this is one of those "start playing with Final Cut Pro.app and it's various parts" or just wait until Apple silently releases an update to Final Cut Pro that fixes this.

Of course with 10.2.3 I can report that the kext mod makes my BruceX benchmark 27 seconds, a good 10 second drop. I'm sure if I upgrade my RAM it'll drop even more.

And at this point I should take my screwing around in Final Cut Pro to a new thread! Or just not screw around with it and use 10.2.3 for now until Apple releases 10.3.2
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
It should work pretty well, the NVME may be the biggest hurdle. Before you try to get HD 530 support, like in Multibeast you may want to try the easy method without injecting Intel. You only need to use fake Intel ID 0x19120003, and ig platform ID 0a206080. These can be added in clover screen before you boot and set using clover configurator on a permanent basis. This will give you metal supported graphics without the need to inject Intel which may confuse FCPX with 2 graphics options. Using an external USB sound card like the Sabrient is plug and play and won't require any fixes as well. These two options should help you to get a system working more easily and leave you only with the Graphics card and Nvme needing fixes. The RX 480 will be easier to get up and running than the NvMe so I would recommend starting with the install and working your NvME fixes out then installing and fixing the RX card. Remember not to use the HD 530 fixes during instal they will be harder to find and remove later if they don't work out. If the fake Intel ID fix doesn't work and you want to load HD 530 you can do that later. Having a graphics card installed takes away the glitches and problems with Intel graphics so you will only have a minor problem with them( upper left corner glitch) until you get RX card installed.
For a everyday working machine I'd strictly stay with OOB components, so I'd avoid NVMe drives, especially as boot device. Even a minor OS update can break the hacked drivers, leaving your machine in an unbootable state. Better get an AHCI m.2 blade, they're supported OOB and almost as fast.

The RX 480 is less troublesome, but still not supported without some tweaks and workarounds. The raw compute performance of the older R9 280X isn't much lower, and it doesn't need any hacks. The only reason I see for preferring the RX 480 would be the 8GB framebuffer, which might be necessary for 4K editing. I don't have much personal experience in this field though, so I don't know for sure if a 3GB GPU would be bottlenecking your workflow.
Interesting information, thanks.
Yeah i have to state that i don’t really made my mind concerning the internal storage concept. The only thing i know is that at least i want to cut the OS + applications on one SSD from other stuff. Still i’m not sure if 240GB would be enough or if i have to double that what would be more expensive. I see your thoughts and your recommendation to use a AHCI instead of NVMe M2 drive because it’s more hassle free especially for the first buildup and that i could end up on a non bootable system drive after an update. You pointed me to a Samsung 951 (afaik the Samsung is a NVMe and not AHCI drive) or a Kingston HyperX Predator which are also fast enough but more expensive (compared to Samsung). I’m also asking myself if a plain and simple SATA SSD which are even cheaper aren’t enough as a system + application drive? M2 drives also eat PCIe lanes. Ok i just plan to insert one graphics card into the system but you never know. To keep it simple and more secure and if a SATA SSD is fast enough i could use both M2 slots on the Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 board with two 256 or 512GB AHCI M2 SSDs in software stripe set as a scratch disk for my video cut plans. Additionally i was thinking on a single, lets say 2 or 3TB 7k2 RPM SATA HDD just a plain and simple data storage partitioned 1TB for every day office work and rest as a „in between“ export drive for photo and film files before i throw them over onto a planned RAID5 backup NAS forever. I don’t want to buildup a HDD RAID5 inside the main case, i’m planning this external in a dedicated NAS. I still have to make my mind about the external interconnect of the NAS, the manufacturer and the netto capacity. But for now i firstly have to get the system up and running

I was told by someone when i was stating to use the CUDA-less AMD GPU based Powercolor Red Devil RX480 8GB Card why not to use a Nvidia card. I said Apple stopped using Nvidia GPUs AFAIK end of 2013 in their systems and i think OSX is more optimized to AMD GPUs thinking of their official stock systems. For sure i know FCPX loves AMD cards over Nvidia cards, and i'll also take a look to Adobes products that prefer more Nvidia cards. I'm really confused now.
He wrote:
"OpenGL is not Nvidia's version of OpenCL, and OpenCL isn't exclusive to AMD.

Open GL is a programming language primarily used for gaming, and Open CL is one used for graphics and video programs. They are both open sourced, as indicated by there name. CUDA is a proprietary, more widely adopted technology similar to OpenCL that Nvidia uses.

Now here are my two bits. I swore I would never stop using FCPX. I'm in love with it, and can do more with it than anyone I know. All that said, I've finally had to admit this year that it's just not sustainable longterm. Unless you want to get stuck or have your potential capped, you need to be ready to start using Adobe. And even if you have all the workarounds like I do, and kept using FCPX, you're still going to end up using After Effects, which requires way more horsepower than FCPX (my laptop can handle 5k & 6k RED raw in FCPX, while shitting the bed in AE), and Adobe stuff is far more optimized for CUDA.

So, do what you like, but be future minded. These things are a bitch to get working, so might as well setup for the long road."

Samsung 951?
Isn't the 951 a NVMe and not AHCI drive?

Yes, either that one or a Kingston HyperX Predator.
Good but a bit expensive.

With FCPX 10.3.1 you need to delete some of the Skylake graphics drivers. There currently seems to be a conflict in the latest version of fcpx.
Do you have to do this with Hackintoshs on every new version of an application of just as long as your system has a stable and working status and then never again if you don't change it?

You removed the SKL CRB kexts, or some of them right? If your using a graphics card this is a great fix since you don't really need the igpu functionality only to get the RX or other AMD cards working.
I don't plan to use Intels internal GPU, just the choosen PCIe card. So when i disable the iGPU in BIOS (if possible) and just use the plugged one - shouldn't it be easier to get the System conflict free up and running?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i5-6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte Radeon RX 460 OC
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The latest version of Premiere Pro has Metal support under Project Settings for Video Rendering and Playback.

Speaking as someone who supports a ton of media companies they almost all use Adobe Premiere for editing. I know of two clients who use Avid, one client who still uses FCP 7 (somehow) and one who uses FCP X. And that client with FCP X is starting to switch to Premiere. So you should learn Premiere, it's easy to pick up if you've ever used FCP 7. Oh and they're all on Macs which is all AMD so sure it may be more CUDA but with Metal support who knows.

I'll throw a demo of Premiere and run some tests between CPU, OpenCL and Metal. I can't test CUDA since I don't have an Nvidia card. Though it'll be a benchmark project (probably from http://ppbm7.com/index.php/homepage/instructions) though I just remembered I have some test footage from a client from a C300, two Sony cameras and a RED all in camera raw format so we'll see how Premiere handles those.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
The latest version of Premiere Pro has Metal support under Project Settings for Video Rendering and Playback.

Speaking as someone who supports a ton of media companies they almost all use Adobe Premiere for editing. I know of two clients who use Avid, one client who still uses FCP 7 (somehow) and one who uses FCP X. And that client with FCP X is starting to switch to Premiere. So you should learn Premiere, it's easy to pick up if you've ever used FCP 7. Oh and they're all on Macs which is all AMD so sure it may be more CUDA but with Metal support who knows.
I see your point. AFAIK it’s a fact that FCPX loves AMD GPUs and is well optimized for it. I was told AMD cards are far more optimized for OpenCL, rather then OpenGL stuff where Nvidia is stronger. I can't verify that. You’ll have a much more stronger system when you lean it to Apples official configurations. And we all know they ended to use Nvidia subsystems in 2013. This doesn’t mean that Nvidia cards are impossible to use or are dog slow. Nvidia also makes drivers on their own for OSX. Concerning NLEs and sort of it’s crucial to know what you wanna do to choose the GFX subsystem wisely - as it was said „future minded and a setup for the long road“. As fas as i can say now…. my camera setup is an Sony FS700RH and an A7S. For now i’m recording just internally and 1080P is enough. But a Q7+ or an Atomos Inferno will come, maybe this year or next year to record in 4k DCI rep. UHD. But now i have to set the basis of a system that is able to handle all that cause i don’t want to start to rebuild it when i have to use it. And in fact my current 2010 MBP i’m currently writing on can’t handle it, even 1080P in Prores. For sure i’d use the best performance in both worlds. But you can’t or you have to switch AMD and Nvidia cards vice versa. I don’t earn money with this work, i’m just an enthusiast hobbyist. For now i want to start with FCPX. For sure i’ll also take a look at Premiere. I never made my mind about things like AE. But i know it's resource heavy. I was told i’ll end in AE for sure if not Premiere before and this forces CUDA. I don’t think that it is impossible to run Adobe stuff like Premiere and AE with my buildup plan. I wanted to start to order the components today but stopped because this AMD vs. Nvidia relations made my really confused and i'm not sure what to do in my case when i just plan to plug just one card and don't plan to buy both type GPUs and switch them before starting the desired NLE system. My partlist relies more or less 1:1 except for the choosen AMD type of card and internal storage concept plans on Max Yuryevs review which really makes sense to me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6ZJWPi_CBc
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,451
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Interesting information, thanks.
Yeah i have to state that i don’t really made my mind concerning the internal storage concept. The only thing i know is that at least i want to cut the OS + applications on one SSD from other stuff. Still i’m not sure if 240GB would be enough or if i have to double that what would be more expensive. I see your thoughts and your recommendation to use a AHCI instead of NVMe M2 drive because it’s more hassle free especially for the first buildup and that i could end up on a non bootable system drive after an update. You pointed me to a Samsung 951 (afaik the Samsung is a NVMe and not AHCI drive) or a Kingston HyperX Predator which are also fast enough but more expensive (compared to Samsung). I’m also asking myself if a plain and simple SATA SSD which are even cheaper aren’t enough as a system + application drive? M2 drives also eat PCIe lanes. Ok i just plan to insert one graphics card into the system but you never know. To keep it simple and more secure and if a SATA SSD is fast enough i could use both M2 slots on the Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 board with two 256 or 512GB AHCI M2 SSDs in software stripe set as a scratch disk for my video cut plans. Additionally i was thinking on a single, lets say 2 or 3TB 7k2 RPM SATA HDD just a plain and simple data storage partitioned 1TB for every day office work and rest as a „in between“ export drive for photo and film files before i throw them over onto a planned RAID5 backup NAS forever. I don’t want to buildup a HDD RAID5 inside the main case, i’m planning this external in a dedicated NAS. I still have to make my mind about the external interconnect of the NAS, the manufacturer and the netto capacity. But for now i firstly have to get the system up and running

I was told by someone when i was stating to use the CUDA-less AMD GPU based Powercolor Red Devil RX480 8GB Card why not to use a Nvidia card. I said Apple stopped using Nvidia GPUs AFAIK end of 2013 in their systems and i think OSX is more optimized to AMD GPUs thinking of their official stock systems. For sure i know FCPX loves AMD cards over Nvidia cards, and i'll also take a look to Adobes products that prefer more Nvidia cards. I'm really confused now.
He wrote:
"OpenGL is not Nvidia's version of OpenCL, and OpenCL isn't exclusive to AMD.

Open GL is a programming language primarily used for gaming, and Open CL is one used for graphics and video programs. They are both open sourced, as indicated by there name. CUDA is a proprietary, more widely adopted technology similar to OpenCL that Nvidia uses.

Now here are my two bits. I swore I would never stop using FCPX. I'm in love with it, and can do more with it than anyone I know. All that said, I've finally had to admit this year that it's just not sustainable longterm. Unless you want to get stuck or have your potential capped, you need to be ready to start using Adobe. And even if you have all the workarounds like I do, and kept using FCPX, you're still going to end up using After Effects, which requires way more horsepower than FCPX (my laptop can handle 5k & 6k RED raw in FCPX, while shitting the bed in AE), and Adobe stuff is far more optimized for CUDA.

So, do what you like, but be future minded. These things are a bitch to get working, so might as well setup for the long road."


Isn't the 951 a NVMe and not AHCI drive?


Good but a bit expensive.


Do you have to do this with Hackintoshs on every new version of an application of just as long as your system has a stable and working status and then never again if you don't change it?


I don't plan to use Intels internal GPU, just the choosen PCIe card. So when i disable the iGPU in BIOS (if possible) and just use the plugged one - shouldn't it be easier to get the System conflict free up and running?
The pcie slot usage is an issue, most CPUs have only 16 lane capacity so using it for storage/boot drive could be a performance drop for the card.

You have to use igpu as primary display in sierra to get newer AMD cards working, Clover developers have made strides to get better support and are making headway so there's hope for dedicated graphics card capability.

There are others that have enabled their igpu in bios and then remove the drivers or parts thereof to get FCPX working without crashes. If you only plan on one screen it's ok for a fix but if you need or want to see the igpu screen at boot or for some other reason it has bad resolution as expected.

I have before and you can set your igpu settings to null set 0x0000000 and ig 000000000 and not inject Intel and you get display 5-7 mb and it goes to default settings. I don't know if this has been tried by the FCPX users yet. You can set these parameters permanently or choose other settings and then re boot and use clover to change them as you need. You could set your igpu settings for metal support and then switch when needed for FCPX.

Lots of other programs work better with igpu and graphics card supported like Luxmark ball, Uningine benchmarks. Luxmark gains about 1000 points with igpu running with the vCard. FCPX and a few others have been crashing for most people with standard setups but the last version or prior version works fine. It may get updated and solve the whole problem.

The 2 listed m.2 drives are the best option for a trouble free system with updates. The threads I've been reading about NVMe drives have shown that these AHCI drives can scream if set up right. And it takes either a lot of clover injection or manipulating kexts to get support for anything else. I installed 18 kexts to patch in clover and got a Toshiba RD400 NVMe supported but I'm not going to use it because updates will crash the alternative kext patching method and the clover patches are a pain to get past Kernel panic. I also, considered pci lanes being used up and I'm going to stick to Ssd for now and later pick up one of these two models.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
The pcie slot usage is an issue, most CPUs have only 16 lane capacity so using it for storage/boot drive could be a performance drop for the card.

You have to use igpu as primary display in sierra to get newer AMD cards working, Clover developers have made strides to get better support and are making headway so there's hope for dedicated graphics card capability.

There are others that have enabled their igpu in bios and then remove the drivers or parts thereof to get FCPX working without crashes. If you only plan on one screen it's ok for a fix but if you need or want to see the igpu screen at boot or for some other reason it has bad resolution as expected.

I have before and you can set your igpu settings to null set 0x0000000 and ig 000000000 and not inject Intel and you get display 5-7 mb and it goes to default settings. I don't know if this has been tried by the FCPX users yet. You can set these parameters permanently or choose other settings and then re boot and use clover to change them as you need. You could set your igpu settings for metal support and then switch when needed for FCPX.

Lots of other programs work better with igpu and graphics card supported like Luxmark ball, Uningine benchmarks. Luxmark gains about 1000 points with igpu running with the vCard. FCPX and a few others have been crashing for most people with standard setups but the last version or prior version works fine. It may get updated and solve the whole problem.

The 2 listed m.2 drives are the best option for a trouble free system with updates. The threads I've been reading about NVMe drives have shown that these AHCI drives can scream if set up right. And it takes either a lot of clover injection or manipulating kexts to get support for anything else. I installed 18 kexts to patch in clover and got a Toshiba RD400 NVMe supported but I'm not going to use it because updates will crash the alternative kext patching method and the clover patches are a pain to get past Kernel panic. I also, considered pci lanes being used up and I'm going to stick to Ssd for now and later pick up one of these two models.
The i7 Skylake serves 16 lanes. But i can't figure out how much lanes for example the Powercolor Red Devil RX480 will take to see if something is left for one or both M2 slots on the desired Gigabyte board.

Do i have to switch every time between iGPU and the vCard manually before i start FCPX, Premiere, Safari and so on on Hackintoshes?

Conercening the "best practice" AHCI M2 SSD.... if the GFX card eats up 16 lanes, I'd stick around with a normal SATA SSD for the os+application drive. Overall i'm thinking about it since the speed is enough?
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,451
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
The Red Devil wants 16 lanes. X99 systems with Xeon chips can accommodate more lanes but most cpus don't.

If your config.plist is good you can do the black screen boot. You set cover settings to auto boot, when you turn on your computer it will be a black screen until you reach the log in screen. That's with one screen, if you have two you can see everything.

I am using a vga cable to my igpu (vga is not supported in Sierra) and have HDMI connected to the RX card. When I boot I see the clover screen (vga) and when it reaches Sierra the vga drops and I select hdmi input on the monitor. Some monitors have dual hdmi inputs and work this was as well. I've had dual and triple monitors connected at various times so there are many ways to configure your setup.
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,717
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't plan to use Intels internal GPU, just the choosen PCIe card. So when i disable the iGPU in BIOS (if possible) and just use the plugged one - shouldn't it be easier to get the System conflict free up and running?
The problem is that the RX 480 isn't able to work as primary GPU at the moment, so you'll need to configure your iGPU as primary (which can introduce problems FCPX).

As for the PCIe lanes: There are also some PCIe lanes coming from the PCH (through DMI connection), so you can easily use a fast GPU and PCIe m.2 storage at the same time.

The Samsung SM951 is available both in AHCI and NVMe flavors. AHCI tends to be a bit more pricey, but that's just how it is. Compare with Apple SSD prices and be happy! :thumbup:
 
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
91
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Now here are my two bits. I swore I would never stop using FCPX. I'm in love with it, and can do more with it than anyone I know. All that said, I've finally had to admit this year that it's just not sustainable longterm. Unless you want to get stuck or have your potential capped, you need to be ready to start using Adobe. And even if you have all the workarounds like I do, and kept using FCPX, you're still going to end up using After Effects, which requires way more horsepower than FCPX (my laptop can handle 5k & 6k RED raw in FCPX, while shitting the bed in AE), and Adobe stuff is far more optimized for CUDA.

Do you have to do this with Hackintoshs on every new version of an application of just as long as your system has a stable and working status and then never again if you don't change it?
No. This is the first time I had this issue with fcpx. The only times you would need to do this is when you update sierra to a new version. Unless apple update fcpx so it doesn't have this issue like earlier versions didn't.

Tbh I really like fcpx especially 10.3.1, it's incredibly fast on my system compared with adobe alternatives.
Combined with colorfinale it makes grading etc really easy. I use LUT's and lookconverter to basically convert my lightroom tools for colour correction etc. to use in fcpx. It basically allows me to edit video as if it were a picture in lightroom.
It also allows me to apply things like VSCO film simulation onto video which works really well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top