Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
MSI b85m-e45 | MSI b75MA-P45 | Probook 6470b
CPU
i7 4790 | i5 3570K | i5-3320m
Graphics
NITRO+OC RX480 8GB | XFXHD6870 1GB | HD4000
It was rather my low language skills instead of "demanding". Sorry for that.
So now I have latest clover on (by the way I lost my audio) and in system information it says I have RX 480 (I have 470, is it OK?)
But there is no graphics acceleration. I added Mork's patches too to the boot.plist, but nothing happened after double reboot.
Gigamaxx said something about patching 4100.kext, I think it would solve this. But I need some detail from him. I guessed that Mork's patch will do this but no result as I mentioned above.

I don't know how to get 470 to work, but the only thing you could do with 4100 kext is add your device id to it (mine 67DF1002) and change it with yours, but really i don't know if 4100 kext work with 470 cards.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64 LE
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I updated to 10.12.3 beta (16D12b) and followed instructions below. No issues.



So here we have the patches for use within CLOVERs config.plist:

First this one to get the two kext load into cache for CLOVER to apply patches (so you can leave original Kexts untouched):

<key>ForceKextsToLoad</key>
<array>
<string>\System\Library\Extensions\AMDRadeonX4100.kext</string>
<string>\System\Library\Extensions\AMD9500Controller.kext</string>
</array>

After this the four real KEXT-patches (paste into "KextsToPatch" section):

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Change_#_of_RX4x0_CUs-(C)_by_okrasit_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>SLgCAAAAAQAAAEiJQ1THQ3wIAAAA</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>SLgEAAAAAQAAAEiJQ1THQ3wSAAAA</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Remove_CU_limit_of_RX4x0-(C)_by_okrasit_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>D0LIiYuAAAAARIizmQAAAESIcyA=</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>kJCQiYuAAAAARIizmQAAAESIcyA=</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Change_init_from_BAFFIN_to_ELLESMERE-(C)_by_Fl0r!an_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>6EmF/v++SAEAAEyJ9w==</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>6EbkAAC+SAEAAEyJ9w==</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>PP_DisablePowerContainment=1</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
<true/>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMD9500Controller</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>PGtleT5QUF9EaXNhYmxlUG93ZXJDb250YWlubWVudDwva2V5PjxpbnRlZ2VyPjA8L2ludGVnZXI+</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>PGtleT5QUF9EaXNhYmxlUG93ZXJDb250YWlubWVudDwva2V5PjxpbnRlZ2VyPjE8L2ludGVnZXI+</data>
</dict>

Note: apply this one (Change_init_from_BAFFIN_to_ELLESMERE-(C)_by_Fl0r!an_2016) only, if you have RX470 or RX480, cause these card use ELLESMERE instead of BUFFIN. If you have RX460, this patch is NOT needed.

After you apply the patch for the first time, you may have to restart twice, cause info.plist patches could only be applied after the kext is in kernels cache. info.plist patches CAN'T be applied "on the fly". For more details consult CLOVER WIKI here.

After inserting the above code into your config.plist, it should look something like this:
Bildschirmfoto_2016_12_17_um_03_34_01.png

Item 7 "Disabled = YES" cause i use Sapphire RX460 Nitro <--- which is BAFFIN not ELLESMERE - so i don't need this patch, you may switch this part to "NO" if you have RX470/RX480 gpu
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI Z87-G43
CPU
Intel i5-4690K@4,3 Ghz
Graphics
AMD Radeon Rx470 4GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know how to get 470 to work, but the only thing you could do with 4100 kext is add your device id to it (mine 67DF1002) and change it with yours, but really i don't know if 4100 kext work with 470 cards.
My device id is the same by the way. So there is three device id's in IOPCIMatch section, just edit one of them to 67DF? Is there any more thing to do like fixing permissions?
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,568
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I don't know how to get 470 to work, but the only thing you could do with 4100 kext is add your device id to it (mine 67DF1002) and change it with yours, but really i don't know if 4100 kext work with 470 cards.

Absolutely works if the card is compatible? Search "Enabling RX 4XX cards in Sierra" here on this forum to get the 4100kext solution. It takes me less than a few minutes to apply the fix and reboot, after updates but it is the quickest way to get your card working.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you for your answer. I do know what bios and igpu primary setting is, I just wanted to know that is it mandatory to get it work? Gigamaxx haven't mentioned it for example.

Yup, mandatory so far. The Clover folks like so many others are working on how to be able to use the new cards as the main screen during boot-up, but for now, it is not an option.

I think if you go back far enough, you will find that Gigamaxx and others have mentioned needing to do so but lately the problems have been more towards isolated problems than for overall start from scratch problems. IIRC, not all of the ID numbers are okay to swap for your ID, scroll back some pages, to see what the latest information is.

But here is one overall idea:

Make sure the hardware (BIOS) is set up, for now IGPU or IGD or ... IS needed.
Depending on the card you need to set up Clover differently, with still some possible kext editing. Fix permissions, update caches as needed.

It sounds like juanjullian is volunteering :) maybe the moderators can assist in that direction.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI Z87-G43
CPU
Intel i5-4690K@4,3 Ghz
Graphics
AMD Radeon Rx470 4GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yup, mandatory so far. The Clover folks like so many others are working on how to be able to use the new cards as the main screen during boot-up, but for now, it is not an option.

I think if you go back far enough, you will find that Gigamaxx and others have mentioned needing to do so but lately the problems have been more towards isolated problems than for overall start from scratch problems. IIRC, not all of the ID numbers are okay to swap for your ID, scroll back some pages, to see what the latest information is.

But here is one overall idea:

Make sure the hardware (BIOS) is set up, for now IGPU or IGD or ... IS needed.
Depending on the card you need to set up Clover differently, with still some possible kext editing. Fix permissions, update caches as needed.

It sounds like juanjullian is volunteering :) maybe the moderators can assist in that direction.
I modified the first device id like in the video in X4100 kext.
But nothing, it boots without blackscreen with igp disabled. No hardware acceleration. Should I set fakeID too?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I modified the first device id like in the video in X4100 kext.
But nothing, it boots without blackscreen with igp disabled. No hardware acceleration. Should I set fakeID too?

Okay, it sounds like you can access your machine again. Good!

But from here I will be of little help to you because I do not have your card, mine is different. One of the others with a similar setup hopefully will be able to guide you. But to help them they will most likely need to know what version of Clover you are running, how your config.plist is setup --- your serial numbers are not needed but the SMBIOS definitions as well as the various types of patches will be needed. Also, any kind of DDST or SSDT edits you have for video/audio patching -- one of these can turn the IGD card on when it should be turned off in the Clover settings, but not completely disabled in the BIOS settings. Also which version of the RX 470 card are you using? Asus, Gigabyte, MSI, or ???
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI Z87-G43
CPU
Intel i5-4690K@4,3 Ghz
Graphics
AMD Radeon Rx470 4GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay, it sounds like you can access your machine again. Good!

But from here I will be of little help to you because I do not have your card, mine is different. One of the others with a similar setup hopefully will be able to guide you. But to help them they will most likely need to know what version of Clover you are running, how your config.plist is setup --- your serial numbers are not needed but the SMBIOS definitions as well as the various types of patches will be needed. Also, any kind of DDST or SSDT edits you have for video/audio patching -- one of these can turn the IGD card on when it should be turned off in the Clover settings, but not completely disabled in the BIOS settings. Also which version of the RX 470 card are you using? Asus, Gigabyte, MSI, or ???
I can access my machine anytime, in the worst scenario with my Unibeast key. Where can I find config.plist? I know boot.plist is on the EFI paritition in clover folder. I don't know what ddst and ssdt is, I just installed multibeast (I assume the multibeast-made things have been mostly overwritten when I deleted Clover and installed the latest Clover)
In an earlier post, I have written my Clover build.
I have XFX 470 4GB BE.
One more thing: In my last post I mentioned that these modifications doesn't make any sense, my OS boots like if they weren't in boot.plist. The only thing that made any sense (and just after installing latest clover) is FakeID with InjectATI. As I have already mentioned, with that, the displays went off during boot and didn't came back.
Update:
Ok i have realized the plist file in clover folder is the config.plist. I attached it.
Update 2:
I can't set igp multi monitor when igp is enabled.
Also i installed only alc892 from multibeast (NOT anything else, only that) and now I have the same error like when I used Fakeid: during boot the gpu fans spin up for a moment and both screen goes off. Why did the alc installation affect anything else?
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.3 KB · Views: 212
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI Z87-G43
CPU
Intel i5-4690K@4,3 Ghz
Graphics
AMD Radeon Rx470 4GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can access my machine anytime, in the worst scenario with my Unibeast key. Where can I find config.plist? I know boot.plist is on the EFI paritition in clover folder. I don't know what ddst and ssdt is, I just installed multibeast (I assume the multibeast-made things have been mostly overwritten when I deleted Clover and installed the latest Clover)
In an earlier post, I have written my Clover build.
I have XFX 470 4GB BE.
One more thing: In my last post I mentioned that these modifications doesn't make any sense, my OS boots like if they weren't in boot.plist. The only thing that made any sense (and just after installing latest clover) is FakeID with InjectATI. As I have already mentioned, with that, the displays went off during boot and didn't came back.
Update:
Ok i have realized the plist file in clover folder is the config.plist. I attached it.
Update 2:
I can't set igp multi monitor when igp is enabled.
Also i installed only alc892 from multibeast (NOT anything else, only that) and now I have the same error like when I used Fakeid: during boot the gpu fans spin up for a moment and both screen goes off. Why did the alc installation affect anything else?
Success.
Hardware acceleration is working with igp enabled. But only recognizes 16cu of 32. Despite Mork's patches are in config.plist. Luxmark score 10803
Also I can't make my ALC892 audio working. I installed multibeast selecting only alc892 but it doesn't made anything.
When multibeast was installed first, it was working.
Update:
Audio is working.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
1,364
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
the patch is for 16to36 cu not sure will work for rx470
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top