Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2H
CPU
i5-3330
Graphics
RX 480
I can't get any difference with patches on Clover. Do you apply the reboot without caches and after normal (twice)?
thanks.

I just noticed improvement on Luxmark benchmark, not Unigine.

If you've changed the kexts, you'll must repair permissions and rebuild kext cache. I use Kext Wizard app for this.

Type on terminal(may take a few minutes):
Code:
sudo rm -r /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && kextcache -u /

This will remove old caches and rebuild them.

Patching kexts with Clover is better, because it'll probably survive future macOS updates and you'll not have to worry after this.

Btw, did not reboot without caches. I wish you luck!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So the situation is the following right now:
I updated Clover to the latest build. Now it recognizes FakeID and etc but it hangs while booting. The display which is connected by HDMI turns off, the one with DVI-D freezes. Same thing happens with only one of them connected. When the screen goes off, the GPU fan speed goes up to 100% for 1 second.
(The all CU unlocker patches are not even in the boot.plist right now)
Please help me :)

If you are using the latest Clover, you may be working at cross purposes ... in that the newer Clover versions have a lot of the info so that you do not have to declare it as a fake version.

But for the moment, can you get to the EFI and main partition of your drive? On the main partition along with System and Applications, etc. you probably have a folder called ---> EFI-Backups

Inside of this you will find copies of each version of Clover you have installed along with all the necessary stuff. Decide which version you had that was working, open your EFI partition and copy (boot file and EFI folder) to the same places on your EFI partition. Reboot and you would be back to where you started when it was working. BEFORE you start make sure you are familiar with where everything is. Take a couple of looks (it is easy to do, but getting in a nervous hurry has consequences).

I do not know that you need the FixDisplay_0100 key or the FBName key any longer with all of the recent Clover changes and the latest Ellesmere patching, but Gigamaxx and the others can give you a better idea about that.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
94
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
ASUS ROG NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB OC
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
A few of us on other threads were wondering about the need of a helper card. We concluded that its probably a connector definition problem and were trying to find the Ellesmere or the Baffin personality. While Ellesmere is not supported, but we should have found Baffin in AMD9500Controller.kext since RX460 is supported and have been using that for RX480. AMDRadeon4100X.kext does show "Baffin" as a string, but the connectors are not defined anywhere. Are we wrong about something or looking in the wrong kexts?

The thread where this was discussed is this:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-using-fakesmckext.203994/page-2#post-1394871
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2013
Messages
175
Motherboard
Z170 Asus Hero VIII
CPU
i7 6700K @47 1.29V
Graphics
AMD 390X Asus Strix
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I just noticed improvement on Luxmark benchmark, not Unigine.

If you've changed the kexts, you'll must repair permissions and rebuild kext cache. I use Kext Wizard app for this.

Type on terminal(may take a few minutes):
Code:
sudo rm -r /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && kextcache -u /

This will remove old caches and rebuild them.

Patching kexts with Clover is better, because it'll probably survive future macOS updates and you'll not have to worry after this.

Btw, did not reboot without caches. I wish you luck!

Thank you! Works the terminal commands.

- Luxmark 3.1 Open CL: 16100 (before 13500)
- Unigine Heaven Extreme setting - slightly less (111 Fps vs 120Fps)
- Bruce X Test: exactly the same as before: 19 Seg.
- Cinebench OpenGL: 139 fps The same as before.
- Davinci Resolve 15% faster (same last video I have exported)
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
151
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Trying to get a Sapphire RX480 working:

I can get things working if I edit AMDRadeonX4100.kext. However if I try any Clover trickery it doesn't work.

I'm suspicious because even my FakeID doesn't seem to work; system profiler still shows 0x67df even if I set FakeID->ATI to 0x67EF1002 Doesn't work with or without inject ati.

Is there some other settings that have to be twiddled in clover for device id spoofing to work? I'm using latest clover (3961)
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
94
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
ASUS ROG NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB OC
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Trying to get a Sapphire RX480 working:

I can get things working if I edit AMDRadeonX4100.kext. However if I try any Clover trickery it doesn't work.

I'm suspicious because even my FakeID doesn't seem to work; system profiler still shows 0x67df even if I set FakeID->ATI to 0x67EF1002 Doesn't work with or without inject ati.

Is there some other settings that have to be twiddled in clover for device id spoofing to work? I'm using latest clover (3961)
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/enabling-amd-rx-4xx-cards-in-sierra.201364/page-28#post-1394013

One additional step is; after checking InfoPlistPatching, change the "Type/key" to DATA.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
151
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
More info for those having trouble. My issue was that the ATI device id spoofing didn't work, always showed up as 0x67DF1002 instead of what I'd set in FakeID section (0x67EF1002).

On my system getting the FakeID to work required 3 additional settings:


First in this section: ATI set to TRUE

Code:
<key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
                        <dict>
                                <key>ATI</key>
                                <true/>
                                <key>Firewire</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>HDA</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>HDMI</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>IDE</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>IntelGFX</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>LAN</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>LPC</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>NVidia</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>SATA</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>SmBUS</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>USB</key>
                                <false/>
                                <key>WIFI</key>
                                <false/>
                        </dict>


General fixes:

Code:
                        <key>Fixes</key>
                        <dict>
                                <key>AddDTGP_0001</key>
                                <true/>
                                <key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
                                <true/>
                        </dict>

Without all three of these FakeID did not properly apply for me. From digging through Clover docs and some debug output the issue is that due to a combination of my hardware there were some entries in my DSDT that required removal before Clover can properly setup FakeID injection.

If you're having issues getting the FakeID to actually take, try some combination of these options.

Edit: inject ATI also has to be off; if I turn it on FakeID no longer shows up
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
51
Motherboard
Rampage VI Apex
CPU
i9 7920x
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately my plan to put a 460 in my case did not work out due to half tower case and room between pcie slot 4 and my PS. Tried the other pcie slots and of coarse it caused conflict with my 1070 in pcie 16x slot so i'm back to my igpu.
hahaha, i encountered this problem as well, so i build my super compact atx case which cost me only about 80 dollar :D
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI Z87-G43
CPU
Intel i5-4690K@4,3 Ghz
Graphics
AMD Radeon Rx470 4GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you are using the latest Clover, you may be working at cross purposes ... in that the newer Clover versions have a lot of the info so that you do not have to declare it as a fake version.

But for the moment, can you get to the EFI and main partition of your drive? On the main partition along with System and Applications, etc. you probably have a folder called ---> EFI-Backups

Inside of this you will find copies of each version of Clover you have installed along with all the necessary stuff. Decide which version you had that was working, open your EFI partition and copy (boot file and EFI folder) to the same places on your EFI partition. Reboot and you would be back to where you started when it was working. BEFORE you start make sure you are familiar with where everything is. Take a couple of looks (it is easy to do, but getting in a nervous hurry has consequences).

I do not know that you need the FixDisplay_0100 key or the FBName key any longer with all of the recent Clover changes and the latest Ellesmere patching, but Gigamaxx and the others can give you a better idea about that.
I can get into the OS anytime with my unibeast usb. I updated clover jut because the FakeID won't apply. So in my opinion, I don't think I have to revert to older Clover. In the last few posts somebody mentioned that his clover doesn't apply the FakeID either. (Just like mine with the older version) What clover version do you have? It seems like that different clover versions have different behaviour.
One more question: now I am talking about id spoofing. I (thought) I have to make this working first and then the CU unlock. I did it right or the CU unlock patches have the FakeID (equivalent) patches integrated?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2013
Messages
17
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Don't inject ATI, inject Intel. Inject ATI=false, Intel=true.

thank you @Gigamaxx your reply...
but same problem...

single sapphire rx480 (pcie0 slot) -> it works well. without booting problem and graphic acceleration.
clover config.plist setting : faked = none, inject ati = false, inject intel = true
and s/l/e andradeonx4100.kext add 0x67DF1002

same setting
dual sapphire rx480 (pcie0, pcie1 slot) don't booting -> apple logo progress bar load half and freezing
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top