Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
306
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Desgnare EX
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
W5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Only 0x67B0 should've worked, the other one has never been in the drivers. Can you verify that the device ID spoof is actually working (System Profiler -> Graphics)?


That's what every unsupported GPU will do.

Hi,

So in 10.12.1 I was using FB= Baladi which is 0x67B1 but I needed to edit 8000kext and 4000kext to put 0x67b11002.

Detail link is here. I just followed his link and it worked. See #4 in this link. http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/315027-amd-r9-390-framebuffer-issue-on-1012-sierra/

However, It is not working after 10.12.2. I tried to use the same instruction. It boot with only HD 530. But system shows R9 390 in the graphic section as PCI-e. But only connected HD 530.

I am very sorry about my English and no idea about framebuffers. I am just followed other's great creation.


Thank you!
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Different, this is using 4100kext Modification, the 460 fix is flashing the video card bios which is more risky if you don't have a backup plan or experience doing it. I looked at that and they were mentioning that the new crimson/relive drivers may cause problems for that 460 fix.

Compute Units vs Shaders ... sometime the terminology gets mixed up, so I wanted to be sure this was not the same firmware changes just applied in different places. That article does have a link to fixing the new Windows based crimson / relive drivers if it creeps up. There is a way in Clover to test the bios before flashing ...

Code:
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>LoadVBios</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>

along with putting the bios in the EFI/Clover/Rom folder with a name such as 1002_67ef.rom. Clover picks it up and runs it.

This has been working for me on my beta test drive. (Two days after I ordered my card, Gigabyte released a bios update. Since I use macOS and various shades of Linux, there are few reliable fool-proof options for flashing the bios -- the older dos based flashers do not support Polaris cards - ehh oh well. This bios update has been working well and giving me a few frames per second over the stock bios used on my main drive.) My biggest concern though is that this shader fix might push past the 75 watt limit the PCIe slot has -- the circuit board traces may be just fine with 75 watts, but not 77 or 79 that continually using the shader fix may require. While this could be countered by slightly lowering the clock speed or voltage, that requires a utility like GPU-Z -- which does not run under wine on macOS or Linux.

Mork is reporting further along this thread that the R9 fury fix is working on his 460 card so that might squeeze out some more performance.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
190
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII HERO
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My biggest concern though is that this shader fix might push past the 75 watt limit the PCIe slot has -- the circuit board traces may be just fine with 75 watts, but not 77 or 79 that continually using the shader fix may require.

That worries me to and probably won't take the chance.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
working here also for a Sapphire RX460 Nitro 4GB card. Just applied the first two fixes, cause this card use ELLESMERE instead of BUFFIN. Lexmark value b4: 7109 and after: 8027 - so this exactly a 12% performance gain. CU's expanded from 16 up to 36.

PS. patched AMDRadeonX4100.kext from SIERRA 10.12.3 beta1

How did you get this to work? The RX 460 cards have 14 compute units not 16 (from what I gather, there may be 16 units on the card with two turned off.). I applied the edits, but there was no change, before the edit I had 14 units and after the edit I had 14 units with roughly the same various benchmark scores. I am wondering if the changes only apply if there were 16 usable units from the start.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
153
Motherboard
ASRock X299 CREATOR
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
RX6900XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So here we have the patches for use within CLOVERs config.plist:

First this one to get the two kext load into cache for CLOVER to apply patches (so you can leave original Kexts untouched):

<key>ForceKextsToLoad</key>
<array>
<string>\System\Library\Extensions\AMDRadeonX4100.kext</string>
<string>\System\Library\Extensions\AMD9500Controller.kext</string>
</array>

After this the four real KEXT-patches (paste into "KextsToPatch" section):

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Change_#_of_RX4x0_CUs-(C)_by_okrasit_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>SLgCAAAAAQAAAEiJQ1THQ3wIAAAA</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>SLgEAAAAAQAAAEiJQ1THQ3wSAAAA</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Remove_CU_limit_of_RX4x0-(C)_by_okrasit_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>D0LIiYuAAAAARIizmQAAAESIcyA=</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>kJCQiYuAAAAARIizmQAAAESIcyA=</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Change_init_from_BAFFIN_to_ELLESMERE-(C)_by_Fl0r!an_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>6EmF/v++SAEAAEyJ9w==</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>6EbkAAC+SAEAAEyJ9w==</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>PP_DisablePowerContainment=1</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
<true/>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMD9500Controller</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>PGtleT5QUF9EaXNhYmxlUG93ZXJDb250YWlubWVudDwva2V5PjxpbnRlZ2VyPjA8L2ludGVnZXI+</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>PGtleT5QUF9EaXNhYmxlUG93ZXJDb250YWlubWVudDwva2V5PjxpbnRlZ2VyPjE8L2ludGVnZXI+</data>
</dict>

Note: apply this one (Change_init_from_BAFFIN_to_ELLESMERE-(C)_by_Fl0r!an_2016) only, if you have RX470 or RX480, cause these card use ELLESMERE instead of BUFFIN. If you have RX460, this patch is NOT needed.

After you apply the patch for the first time, you may have to restart twice, cause info.plist patches could only be applied after the kext is in kernels cache. info.plist patches CAN'T be applied "on the fly". For more details consult CLOVER WIKI here.

After inserting the above code into your config.plist, it should look something like this:
Bildschirmfoto_2016_12_17_um_03_34_01.png

Item 7 "Disabled = YES" cause i use Sapphire RX460 Nitro <--- which is BAFFIN not ELLESMERE - so i don't need this patch, you may switch this part to "NO" if you have RX470/RX480 gpu
 
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,570
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
So here we have the patches for use within CLOVERs config.plist:

First this one to get the two kext load into cache for CLOVER to aply patches:

<key>ForceKextsToLoad</key>
<array>
<string>\System\Library\Extensions\AMDRadeonX4100.kext</string>
<string>\System\Library\Extensions\AMD9500Controller.kext</string>
</array>

After this the four real KEXT-patches:

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Change_#_of_RX4x0_CUs-(C)_by_okrasit_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>SLgCAAAAAQAAAEiJQ1THQ3wIAAAA</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>SLgEAAAAAQAAAEiJQ1THQ3wSAAAA</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Remove_CU_limit_of_RX4x0-(C)_by_okrasit_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>D0LIiYuAAAAARIizmQAAAESIcyA=</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>kJCQiYuAAAAARIizmQAAAESIcyA=</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Change_init_from_BUFFIN_to_ELLESMERE-(C)_by_Fl0r!an_2016</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>6EmF/v++SAEAAEyJ9w==</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMDRadeonX4100</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>6EbkAAC+SAEAAEyJ9w==</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>PP_DisablePowerContainment=1</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
<true/>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AMD9500Controller</string>
<key>Find</key>
<string>&lt;key&gt;PP_DisablePowerContainment&lt;/key&gt;&lt;integer&gt;0&lt;/integer&gt;</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<string>&lt;key&gt;PP_DisablePowerContainment&lt;/key&gt;&lt;integer&gt;1&lt;/integer&gt;</string>
</dict>

Note: aply this one (Change_init_from_BUFFIN_to_ELLESMERE-(C)_by_Fl0r!an_2016) only, if you have RX470 or RX480, cause these card use ELLESMERE instead of BUFFIN. If you have RX460, this patch is NOT needed.

Thanks, only one question about this edit?
Is the correct name Buffin or Baffin? Typo?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So here we have the patches for use within CLOVERs config.plist:

First this one to get the two kext load into cache for CLOVER to apply patches (so you can leave original Kexts untouched):

....

That did the trick! I now have 36 compute units. Thank you.

Next question, what does the PP_DisablePowerContainment part do?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
1,364
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
might be a good idea to make a config.plist and upload it
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. Other
Still in 10.12.1. Should i upgrade to 10.12.2 or 10.12.3 public beta 1? Any performance or other improvement for RX480?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top