Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra Does NOT Boot with MacPro3,1 MacPro4,1 System Definitions

Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
65
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K OC 4.6GHz
Graphics
GTX 660 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Update: I have changed my system definition from iM 14,1 to iM 10,1 while using my MP 3,1 serials and values.

I have problems in sleep in Sierra. Sleep works fine but the screen garbles up and glitches when I wake. It turns up that it clones my monitor (I only have one monitor) and landing up as an extended display after I wake. I fixed this up by mirroring my display. I posted some screenshots.
I had this "monitor cloning" problem on El Capitan starting with Clover v3751, revert back to v3726 and problem disapear, so i suspect a Clover problem on Sierra too...
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
Z370 Asus Rog Maximus X Hero
CPU
Core i7 8700K (OC to 5GHz)
Graphics
EVGA GTX970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was already on iMac14,2 - confirmed in System Report - but it won't let me download - I get the standard "This version of macOS 10.12 cannot be installed on this computer." dialog.

Any suggestions would be very welcome :)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
40
Motherboard
MSI MS-7372 v1.0
CPU
Core 2 Duo E8400
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce 730 2GB GDDR5
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had this "monitor cloning" problem on El Capitan starting with Clover v3751, revert back to v3726 and problem disapear, so i suspect a Clover problem on Sierra too...
Followed your advice. Sleep works now without the "monitor cloning" issue.

Just one last issue, kextd waiting IOHDACodecFunction keeps appearing every boot.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asrock H61M-DGS
CPU
Intel i3-3240
Graphics
AMD HIS Radeon 7770
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a Q6600 with a Gigabyte mobo configured as iMac 8.1 and can says "Can't complete your purchase, it can't be installed in this computer" Now I'm running El Capitan 10.11.6
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UD5
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I had this "monitor cloning" problem on El Capitan starting with Clover v3751, revert back to v3726 and problem disapear, so i suspect a Clover problem on Sierra too...
Hey, that solved it for me too. That's a weird problem. Is this a Clover bug or bad config? Are the Clover guys aware of this?

EDIT: Handily, this also fixed a jerky mouse pointer problem - every 4 or 5 seconds the mouse pointer would freeze for maybe 60 ms. Enough to notice, not enough to be a problem since input wasn't lost.
 
Last edited:

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,650
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 970
I have a Q6600 with a Gigabyte mobo configured as iMac 8.1 and can says "Can't complete your purchase, it can't be installed in this computer" Now I'm running El Capitan 10.11.6
MacOS Sierra supports only CPUs with SSE4 support.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
65
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K OC 4.6GHz
Graphics
GTX 660 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hey, that solved it for me too. That's a weird problem. Is this a Clover bug or bad config? Are the Clover guys aware of this?

EDIT: Handily, this also fixed a jerky mouse pointer problem - every 4 or 5 seconds the mouse pointer would freeze for maybe 60 ms. Enough to notice, not enough to be a problem since input wasn't lost.
I don't know if the Clover guys are aware of this, but usually i'm updating Clover with "clover configurator" when an update appear without any problems.
But since v3751...Big problems on all my builds! (monitor cloning, no boot...) :(
I'm still on El capitan but looks like it's the same on Sierra...
Maybe we need to change something in config with v3751+...? i don't know

PS: i tried v3761...Same problems :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
I remember why I haven't switched from 5.1...I just updated to 14.2 and everything appeared ok, but some of my software won't see my second GPU anymore. Shows up and looks correct in the system information. Maybe 14.2 on Sierra will work better than 14.2 on Yosemite? Or just give it a go from 5.1?

It will allow me to download Sierra from the App Store on 5.1
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
30
Motherboard
Asus P9X79pro
CPU
i7-3820
Graphics
Geforce GTX 960 2Gb
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
It is mentioned to use Multibeast 9.0 to change System Definition.
Where Multibeast 9.0 can be obtained ? I went to the downloads page and the highest version available is 8.2.3
Please help !
Thanks
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,533
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
It is mentioned to use Multibeast 9.0 to change System Definition.
Where Multibeast 9.0 can be obtained ? I went to the downloads page and the highest version available is 8.2.3
Please help !
Thanks
MultiBeast 9 is still being built - should be out soon.
 
Top