Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra Does NOT Boot with MacPro3,1 MacPro4,1 System Definitions

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,239
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
14,1 for on-board graphics. 14,2 for discrete graphics. That's the general rule. But, IIRC, 14,2 will work with any system.

Use MultiBeast to change your SysDef by just selecting the iMac14,2 SysDef.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
130
Motherboard
Asus WS x299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
macOS Sierra is already here!!! :D

Downloading...

Is there a installation tutorial for Z77X-UD5H?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
166
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. PowerBook
  8. SE
  9. SE/30
If you decide on an in-place upgrade "like on a normal mac" then make sure that you have FakeSMC.kext in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other.

A few days ago, running 10.11, I tried preparing for the upgrade by moving everything from /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11 (I think I had FakeSMC, NullCPUPowerManagement, Realtek, and Ethernet) into /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other, but then it hung on reboot.

If I only move FakeSMC into Other, then will I have problems with 10.12? Should I make a new 10.12 folder and copy the other kexts into it?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
26,074
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I only move FakeSMC into Other, then will I have problems with 10.12?
I cannot predict the future.

Should I make a new 10.12 folder and copy the other kexts into it?
I choose to delete all of the 10.* folders in /kexts leaving just /kexts/Other and place only FakeSMC.kext and my network kext there.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2016
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3V rev 1.1
CPU
Core i3 3220
Graphics
ATI 6670 1gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Could i just stay on 13,1?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
166
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. PowerBook
  8. SE
  9. SE/30
I choose to delete all of the 10.* folders in /kexts leaving just /kexts/Other and place only FakeSMC.kext and my network kext there.

Be careful with this approach, though; I thought kexts/10.11 and kexts/Other would be treated the same (as long as I'm running 10.11), but obviously they're not, as witnessed from my hang-on-boot after I moved everything from the former to the latter.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@SquishyTia

You said: Just a reminder: If you're on a Hackie with a using the MacPro3,1 sysdef, you need to change to iMac14,2 (unless you have no dedicated GPU card installed, in which case, iMac14,1 will be better).

what does the iMac 14.1 profile make it more appropriate if using a dedicated GPU card over the 14,2 definition?

iMac14,1 is a special case for systems that have no PCIe slots to add in dedicated GPUs. It's mainly for compatibility with those types of systems (say, NUCs and such). iMac14,2 will work for any system as Stork noted if you want to use it, since the iMac14,2 has integrated graphics built into the CPU that are simply not used since they had dedicated GPUs in those machines (the CPUs are Haswell with Intel HD4600 IGPs that are disabled).
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Messages
52
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-D3H Rev 1.1
CPU
i7-2600 K
Graphics
RX 550
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
ok thank you!
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2010
Messages
56
Motherboard
MSI Z77MA-S01
CPU
i7 2600K
Graphics
HD 7750
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Changed defs from 3,1 to 14,2 ; lost cpu management I reckon. CPU (i5 760) temp never goes above 40C even when using x264 on all 4 cores. Should be around 60C. CPU stays at 1.2GHz. Reverted to 11,3 or something, lost USB2 ports (but not my USB3 card), but got full speed from CPU again. Tried 13,x and same USB problem. So, now back to 14,2 and will see if I can get CPU running at full speed. Other than CPU issue, the update was quick and easy, lost sound but fixed easily.


Edit: Back to 11,1, didn't lose all USB2 ports it seems. CPU at full speed anyway.
 
Last edited:
Top