Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra Does NOT Boot with MacPro3,1 MacPro4,1 System Definitions

Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
OS X 10.9
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So my hackintosh is running Mavericks right now. Can I use the UniBeast for El Capitan to change the profile? Also, I am using a HD6870 for my graphics, I assume that is still supported. I do have a spare GTX 770 around as well.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,412
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So my hackintosh is running Mavericks right now. Can I use the UniBeast for El Capitan to change the profile?
If by 'profile' you mean system definition (SMBIOS) then you can easily change it with Clover Configurator.

Also, I am using a HD6870 for my graphics, I assume that is still supported.
The HD6870 will not wake from sleep in Sierra.

I do have a spare GTX 770 around as well.
The GTX 770 should work fine in Sierra.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,661
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
MultiBeast can be used to change the System Definition, not UniBeast. Use MultiBeast for Mavericks and just change the System Definition to iMac14,2.

Customize > System Definition > iMac > iMac14,2
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
MSI GeForce GTX 970 Twin Frozr V
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Apparently i hurried and installed Sierra without changing the definition. Long story short, i had to update to Sierra from Yosemite- got so many other stuff installed i did not want to do clean install, do i really have to?

Well i downloaded it on my laptop, made usb. Installed, everything going ok, but when i try to get to desktop via usb,to finish the installation setup and run multibeast(boot to osx from usb/sierra picture)- it just goes to installation again. Then i have the "boot to osx from ssd" same story and the last "installation from usb" that does as it should. Is the system definition here the road block?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
10.6.8
CPU
2.8Ghz Intel Core i7
Graphics
GeForce 9800 GTX
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hi,

Can anyone suggest what profile I should change to when upgrading to Sierra?

I have: Hack 1GA-X58-UD5 , i7, GTX 770, 6 Gb ram - defined as Mac Pro 3,1

and GA-X68-UD3, i7, GTX 770, 16 Gb ram -defined as Mac Pro 3,1

I did check out http://www.everymac.com but got a bit lost whether

Any help would be great.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
10.6.8
CPU
2.8Ghz Intel Core i7
Graphics
GeForce 9800 GTX
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hi, Thanks for the reply... The closest I could determine from the everymac.com list for my Hack 1 GA-X58-UD5 , i7, GTX 770, 6 Gb ram - was I guess Mac Pro 5,1 and Mac Pro 13,2 for my Hack 2 GA-X68-UD3, i7, GTX 770, 16 Gb ram. Do you have an idea where Multibeast changes the system definition? Does it change the entry in the Clover config plist? Do you suggest trying Mac Pro 5,1 for both? Thanks.
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
571
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, Thanks for the reply... The closest I could determine from the everymac.com list for my Hack 1 GA-X58-UD5 , i7, GTX 770, 6 Gb ram - was I guess Mac Pro 5,1 and Mac Pro 13,2 for my Hack 2 GA-X68-UD3, i7, GTX 770, 16 Gb ram. Do you have an idea where Multibeast changes the system definition? Does it change the entry in the Clover config plist? Do you suggest trying Mac Pro 5,1 for both? Thanks.

It changes it in the system definition tab, the second to last one on the right if im not mistaken. it defaults to 14,2 which is the recommended one, why are you using something different?
 
Top