Contribute
Register

macOS Native CPU/IGPU Power Management

Joined
Mar 13, 2011
Messages
154
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-U1E Clover
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey all,

I generated some SSDT's with the help of Toleda that were confirmed to enable Power Management in 10.10. Just wondering should I generate new versions for Mac OS Catalina

I have the x86plugin loaded but I'm getting kernel panics when I boot the system.


Withdrawn, fixed my Wifi solved the boot issue
 

Attachments

  • error1.txt
    4.8 KB · Views: 87
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
34
Motherboard
GigaByte Z370 Gaming 7 Rev 1.0, F14
CPU
Intel i7 8700K
Graphics
MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello, nice post I got a i7 4790k, Asus hero vii, gtx 760 native supported but cant seem to make pm work properly any help.
 

Attachments

  • iMac no ssdt.ioreg
    7.1 MB · Views: 74
  • Screenshot 2020-08-10 at 00.00.28.png
    Screenshot 2020-08-10 at 00.00.28.png
    55.6 KB · Views: 102
  • config.plist
    8.3 KB · Views: 95
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte B360N WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I 've been having my Hack for around 10 months now, and was using a Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro motherboard with an i9-9900K.

I wanted to switch to an ITX form factor and was not interested in overclocking so I switched the motherboard with a Gigabyte B360N WIFI. I re-did the whole EFI using the Dortania guide (kept iMac19,1 SMBIOS but with different Serial / MLB / ROM / UUID but set according to the guides.

The weird issue is that although with the previous motherboard, the CPU was hitting turbo frequencies when requested, now it doesn't.

Any idea what I could be doing wrong?

Steps taken:

  • Disabled CGF Lock on B360N Wifi (I had it disabled on the Aorus as well) and set the related quirks to NO on config.plist
  • Flashed F15a (latest UEFI Bios FW version), no change, flashed back F13, no change.
  • Tried setting Turbo Boost to Enabled instead of Auto on the UEFI Bios, no change.

This is the GeekBench 5 Score on MacOS (quite low since on my previous motherboard I scored Single 1263, Multi 8717:

Screenshot 2020-09-03 at 9.59.39 AM.png

This is what Intel Power Gadget shows (doing random stuff on the Hack):

Screenshot 2020-09-03 at 8.02.51 AM.png
And this is what is shows when I run Tests -> Maximum Frequency:

Screenshot 2020-09-03 at 8.05.20 AM.png

On windows it is way better:

Geekbench on Windows (Higher than MacOS but not as high as with the previous motherboard on MacOS):

Geekbench-Windows.PNG

Intel Power Gadget and CPUID HWMonitor before Geekbench:

BeforeI-PG.PNGBefore.PNG

Intel Power Gadget and CPUID HWMonitor while I was running the Geekbench Test

While-IPG.PNGwhile.PNG
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Acer Swift 3 SF314-56
CPU
Intel i3 8145U
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Hi everyone I need your help with CPU power management. As you can see in screenshot, there is no x86platformplugin. How can I fix it ?

My Device: Acer Swift 3. Intel i3 8145U. UHD 620. And I use Macbookpro 15,2 SMBIOS
 

Attachments

  • F96D14CE-F92A-49ED-BED7-11B4712EF490.png
    F96D14CE-F92A-49ED-BED7-11B4712EF490.png
    89.4 KB · Views: 85
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
185
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus z390 Elite
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi everyone I need your help with CPU power management. As you can see in screenshot, there is no x86platformplugin. How can I fix it ?

My Device: Acer Swift 3. Intel i3 8145U. UHD 620. And I use Macbookpro 15,2 SMBIOS
Need more info. Clover? Opencore? OS Version? EFI Folder. etc.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP ZBOOK 17 G6
CPU
E-2286M
Graphics
rtx4000
Hello Guys,
does this guide work for Mobile intel Xenon Coffee lake E2286M processor?
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,528
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I stumbled upon some very interesting PluginType=0 behavior by accident - see here. Has anyone else observed this? I get better Geekbench 5 multi-core benchmarks with PluginType=0 than with PluginType=1 and my CPU low multiplier states are lower.
 
Last edited:
Top