Contribute
Register

macOS Native CPU/IGPU Power Management

Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus STRIX Z370-F
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti
But why does the Intel Gadget only show 2 or 3 different frequencies? It only bounces between 1300 and 4100, nothing in between...

??
I trust both
I wrote that because they show two different things, AppleIntelInfo says that it's working and Intel Gadget shows only a couple of frequencies in the log (attached in my report files).
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,458
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
But why does the Intel Gadget only show 2 or 3 different frequencies?
The graph shows all frequencies hit, the table shows ridiculously variable intervals; reduce the interval to get more meaningful measurements
AppleIntelInfo says that it's working
Shows what P states were hit at least once, not sufficient to conclude PM is working
Intel Gadget shows only a couple of frequencies in the log
See above
IPG/Frequency shows CPU PM working
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
86
Motherboard
MSI B360m Mortar Titanium
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Wrong mac model
See Post #1/Settings
Fix config.plist
Restart
See Post #1/IV. Problem Reporting; attach all requested files
Hmm, so i need to use iMac 18, definition...Could u please explain in few words why? iMac18 comes with Kaby Lake, but my cpu is Coffee Lake...i always been told to choose smbios definiton which is as close as possible to my original hardware. Especially since iMac 19,2 comes exactly with i7-8700

Thank you for your help.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 13 7359
CPU
i5 6200U
Graphics
HD 520
Hmm, so i need to use iMac 18, definition...Could u please explain in few words why? iMac18 comes with Kaby Lake, but my cpu is Coffee Lake...i always been told to choose smbios definiton which is as close as possible to my original hardware. Especially since iMac 19,2 comes exactly with i7-8700

Thank you for your help.
Are you using 18.3 or 19.2 System definition?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2018
Messages
112
Motherboard
Asus Z390-A Prime
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630 / RX 560
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello.

I have the following case:
1. I have a newly installed Mojave 10.14.4 on Asus Z390A-Prime, i5-8400 and RX560.
2. I set PluginType=true inside the config.plist.
3. Check into IOReg, x86PlatformPlugin is loaded under PRO0@0 (it is not CPU0@0 as the guide stated).
4. I ran Hackintool to patch my framebuffer, creating a Headless system using 18,3 system definition.
5. After resetting the system, x86PlatformPlugin no longer loaded (search cannot find any x86PlatformPlugin).
6. Disable the PluginType=true and enable again, but no difference (x86PlatformPlugin still not loaded).

I didn't have a chance yet to run the AppleIntelInfo before and after, but I do the following test using Cinebench and Intel Power Gadget with the following result:
1. System idle then run Cinebench.
Screen Shot 2019-06-25 at 23.22.39.png


2. Finish Cinebench then system idle
413085


3. System idle then running Cinebench again
413086


I attach Problem Reporting files, even though without the requested problem reporting files, hopefully somebody is willing to look at my case and give advise about what is going on and how to enable the CPU PM?

Thank you.
 

Attachments

Top