Contribute
Register

macOS Monterey is Now Available From the Mac App Store

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,605
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you're already running RC2 (21A599) the update will not show as there is nothing different being offered in the official release apart from all the hype and expectations. :)
Not so in my experience.
I'm running 21A559 on three separate machines and all were offered and are currently downloading Monterey.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
154
Motherboard
GA Z97M-D3H
CPU
i3-4370
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My apologies for what might be a dumb question but I saw on the previous page: First version of macOS without NVIDIA graphics support

If I have an NVIDIA card, it won't work? (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2 GB)
NVIDIA card will not work anymore (as of beta 6, I think). I've been using GTX 760 and just found out yesterday.
So I've gone to ebay and overpaid for a used radeon gpu (a risky move, I know).
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2021
Messages
43
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Gaming X
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
RX 580
I usually do a fresh install with new OS's, but feeling lazy about re-installing everything this time around.

I am running OpenCore 074, is it safe to just run the software update from Big Sur 11.6? (I do have 11.6 backed up).
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
163
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4700
CPU
i7-3740QM
Graphics
M4000
I usually do a fresh install with new OS's, but feeling lazy about re-installing everything this time around.

I am running OpenCore 074, is it safe to just run the software update from Big Sur 11.6? (I do have 11.6 backed up).
yeah, updating through system preference is fine
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,598
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not so in my experience.
I'm running 21A559 on three separate machines and all were offered and are currently downloading Monterey.
That is indeed strange, my experience is also shared by quite a few. I have never experience an update/upgrade not showing up automatically. The only explanation I can imagine is, the update is not pushed as yet to these parts. I will continue to monitor the situation although I am although I am already running 21A599 albeit RC2.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
Z370 Aorus Gaming 5, F15b
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
Radeon RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
mon.png


Clean install Monterey, Open Core 0.7.5 flawless
 
Top