Contribute
Register

macOS High Sierra Public Beta 5 is Now Available

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,475
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Core i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
The macOS High Sierra 10.13 Public Beta 5 is now available. Apple wants as many users as possible to test macOS High Sierra to provide constructive feedback before the official release later this fall. To participate in the free Public Beta, you must enroll in the Apple Beta Software Program using your Apple ID.

Enroll in the Free Apple Beta Software Program
https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/welcome

This site will allow discussion of this software and its installation for those who have enrolled. Users can post for support in the following areas: High Sierra Desktop Support, High Sierra Desktop Guides, High Sierra Laptop Support and High Sierra Laptop Guides.

If you're installing the Public Beta, let us know how it goes!

Related:
macOS High Sierra Public Beta 4 is Now Available
macOS High Sierra Public Beta 3 is Now Available
macOS High Sierra Public Beta 2 is Now Available
macOS High Sierra Public Beta is Now Available
How to Create a macOS High Sierra Public Beta Installation USB
Introducing the macOS High Sierra Critter!
High Sierra Desktop Support
High Sierra Desktop Guides
High Sierra Laptop Support
High Sierra Laptop Guides
Apple Reveals macOS High Sierra at WWDC - Available Fall 2017
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
RX 580, GTX 1070
Hmm.. "An error occured while updating firmware" what's this?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,444
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
This beta probably has a Mac/iMac/MacBook firmware update(s). You should be able to proceed after getting this error.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2015
Messages
113
CPU
i5 6600
Graphics
Nvdia 1060
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Still waiting for nvida, perhaps I'll try it on my laptop though?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
RX 580, GTX 1070
This beta probably has a Mac/iMac/MacBook firmware update(s). You should be able to proceed after getting this error.
Can't get around it, I only get "can't be installed on this computer" and a restart option.. guess I'll have to change smbios? Using 15.1 now..
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,444
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Try the install again.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
RX 580, GTX 1070
Try the install again.
Tried a couple of times now starting the installation from inside Sierra choosing another disk witch has worked with the previous versions of the beta.. creating an USB installer now, hope that will work better.

Edit: I'm stumped.. tried all I can think of, latest apfs.efi, updated fakesmc, changed Bios Version/date in config.plist and I still get stuck on "An error occurred while updating firmware". Guess I'll just wait and see if anyone else runs into the same issue :p
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
29
Motherboard
Asus X99-Deluxe-II
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
1080
Tried a couple of times now starting the installation from inside Sierra choosing another disk witch has worked with the previous versions of the beta.. creating an USB installer now, hope that will work better.

Edit: I'm stumped.. tried all I can think of, latest apfs.efi, updated fakesmc, changed Bios Version/date in config.plist and I still get stuck on "An error occurred while updating firmware". Guess I'll just wait and see if anyone else runs into the same issue :p
I updated to Clover 4173 and can install now without firmware error, using 6,1 in smbios, there is a newer firmware in 4173 that works.
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
3,980
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I updated to Clover 4173 and can install now without firmware error, using 6,1 in smbios, there is a newer firmware in 4173 that works.
I also, had to update clover, my pentium was getting flagged after update, changed to clover 4152 form 4114 and boom I was in. Struggled for a couple of hours trying every boot argument and ACPI setting available. If anyone is having issues update clover and use your old config.plist and kext folders, it took 2 minutes to fix problem.

I was under pressure, I just picked up a Radeon Vega 64 video card and wanted the latest drivers from High Sierra. It brought native Audio via HDMI and Displayport to the card. Only fix needed is the name, its AMD RX xxx, but thats an easy fix.

P.S. If you still have trouble check your main partition for EFI Backup folder. Remove old version of clover and config.plist if anything is changed. If you choose RC scripts when installing new clover if you run it twice it will reload your backup EFI folder. Just be sure to check that your config.plists match.
 
Last edited:
Top