macOS High Sierra Public Beta 5 is Now Available

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by tonymacx86, Aug 15, 2017.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,386
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 15, 2017 at 5:32 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,386
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [​IMG]
    The macOS High Sierra 10.13 Public Beta 5 is now available. Apple wants as many users as possible to test macOS High Sierra to provide constructive feedback before the official release later this fall. To participate in the free Public Beta, you must enroll in the Apple Beta Software Program using your Apple ID.

    Enroll in the Free Apple Beta Software Program
    https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/welcome

    This site will allow discussion of this software and its installation for those who have enrolled. Users can post for support in the following areas: High Sierra Desktop Support, High Sierra Desktop Guides, High Sierra Laptop Support and High Sierra Laptop Guides.

    If you're installing the Public Beta, let us know how it goes!

    Related:
    macOS High Sierra Public Beta 4 is Now Available
    macOS High Sierra Public Beta 3 is Now Available
    macOS High Sierra Public Beta 2 is Now Available
    macOS High Sierra Public Beta is Now Available
    How to Create a macOS High Sierra Public Beta Installation USB
    Introducing the macOS High Sierra Critter!
    High Sierra Desktop Support
    High Sierra Desktop Guides
    High Sierra Laptop Support
    High Sierra Laptop Guides
    Apple Reveals macOS High Sierra at WWDC - Available Fall 2017
     
    JCMunsonII and VioletDragon like this.
  2. Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Aug 15, 2017 at 6:04 PM #2
    Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Hmm.. "An error occured while updating firmware" what's this?
     
  3. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 15, 2017 at 6:06 PM #3
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This beta probably has a Mac/iMac/MacBook firmware update(s). You should be able to proceed after getting this error.
     
    VioletDragon likes this.
  4. kylebourne

    kylebourne

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    Nvdia 1060
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 15, 2017 at 6:17 PM #4
    kylebourne

    kylebourne

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    Nvdia 1060
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Still waiting for nvida, perhaps I'll try it on my laptop though?
     
  5. Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Aug 15, 2017 at 6:18 PM #5
    Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Can't get around it, I only get "can't be installed on this computer" and a restart option.. guess I'll have to change smbios? Using 15.1 now..
     
  6. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 15, 2017 at 6:51 PM #6
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Try the install again.
     
  7. Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Aug 15, 2017 at 7:09 PM #7
    Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Tried a couple of times now starting the installation from inside Sierra choosing another disk witch has worked with the previous versions of the beta.. creating an USB installer now, hope that will work better.

    Edit: I'm stumped.. tried all I can think of, latest apfs.efi, updated fakesmc, changed Bios Version/date in config.plist and I still get stuck on "An error occurred while updating firmware". Guess I'll just wait and see if anyone else runs into the same issue :p
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017
  8. duckgrossberg

    duckgrossberg

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-Deluxe-II
    CPU:
    i7-6950X
    Graphics:
    1080
    Aug 15, 2017 at 10:24 PM #8
    duckgrossberg

    duckgrossberg

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-Deluxe-II
    CPU:
    i7-6950X
    Graphics:
    1080
    I updated to Clover 4173 and can install now without firmware error, using 6,1 in smbios, there is a newer firmware in 4173 that works.
     
    Lundli, zlei and Gigamaxx like this.
  9. Gigamaxx

    Gigamaxx

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,945
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 480
    Mac:
    iMac
    Aug 15, 2017 at 10:50 PM #9
    Gigamaxx

    Gigamaxx

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,945
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 480
    Mac:
    iMac
    I also, had to update clover, my pentium was getting flagged after update, changed to clover 4152 form 4114 and boom I was in. Struggled for a couple of hours trying every boot argument and ACPI setting available. If anyone is having issues update clover and use your old config.plist and kext folders, it took 2 minutes to fix problem.

    I was under pressure, I just picked up a Radeon Vega 64 video card and wanted the latest drivers from High Sierra. It brought native Audio via HDMI and Displayport to the card. Only fix needed is the name, its AMD RX xxx, but thats an easy fix.

    P.S. If you still have trouble check your main partition for EFI Backup folder. Remove old version of clover and config.plist if anything is changed. If you choose RC scripts when installing new clover if you run it twice it will reload your backup EFI folder. Just be sure to check that your config.plists match.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017
  10. AnAppleADay

    AnAppleADay

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GA Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    Dual Vega Frontier Edition
    Aug 16, 2017 at 4:20 AM #10
    AnAppleADay

    AnAppleADay

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GA Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    Dual Vega Frontier Edition
    No trouble, but I applied clover 4173 first.

    Screen Shot 2017-08-15 at 10.10.55 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-08-15 at 10.16.45 PM.png
     
    Gigamaxx likes this.

Share This Page