macOS High Sierra Public Beta 3 is Now Available

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by tonymacx86, Jul 26, 2017.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,392
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2017 at 3:29 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,392
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [​IMG]
    The macOS High Sierra 10.13 Public Beta 3 is now available. Apple wants as many users as possible to test macOS High Sierra to provide constructive feedback before the official release later this fall. To participate in the free Public Beta, you must enroll in the Apple Beta Software Program using your Apple ID.

    Enroll in the Free Apple Beta Software Program
    https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/welcome

    This site will allow discussion of this software and its installation for those who have enrolled. Users can post for support in the following areas: High Sierra Desktop Support, High Sierra Desktop Guides, High Sierra Laptop Support and High Sierra Laptop Guides.

    If you're installing the Public Beta, let us know how it goes!

    Related:
    macOS High Sierra Public Beta 2 is Now Available
    macOS High Sierra Public Beta is Now Available
    How to Create a macOS High Sierra Public Beta Installation USB
    Introducing the macOS High Sierra Critter!
    High Sierra Desktop Support
    High Sierra Desktop Guides
    High Sierra Laptop Support
    High Sierra Laptop Guides
    Apple Reveals macOS High Sierra at WWDC - Available Fall 2017
     
  2. Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Jul 26, 2017 at 4:47 PM #2
    Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    This was annoying to install.. had to download three times because it failed for some reason, then I had to reboot twice before it installed. Got a black screen without progress bar so I thought it failed again but then it booted to some install screen.

    In the end all is good. Now, if we only could get some Nvidia webdrivers...
     
  3. kylebourne

    kylebourne

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    Nvdia 1060
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2017 at 4:53 PM #3
    kylebourne

    kylebourne

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    Nvdia 1060
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm hoping for some web drivers as well, I'll update the minute they come out
     
  4. Sniki

    Sniki

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    656
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkPad L440
    CPU:
    Core i5-4300M/HM86
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600/1920x1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Jul 26, 2017 at 5:20 PM #4
    Sniki

    Sniki

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    656
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkPad L440
    CPU:
    Core i5-4300M/HM86
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600/1920x1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Can someone tell if the Performance has increased in this beta ?,
    i did watch some youtube videos that people posted the little changes over the public beta 2, they say the performance has increased by a lot where you can now use it as daily driver with a few small bugs which is expected,but the beta 2 for me has been worse than beta 1 in terms of performance for some reasons.
     
  5. rapproducer714

    rapproducer714

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    279
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s (UMA)-8GB RAM-(Clover) OS X 10.10.5 - OS X 10.11.1 -Win 7 Home Premium x64 (Legacy)
    CPU:
    Sandy Bridge Intel i7 2620M 2.7Ghz Turbo to 3.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (512MB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2017 at 6:19 PM #5
    rapproducer714

    rapproducer714

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    279
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s (UMA)-8GB RAM-(Clover) OS X 10.10.5 - OS X 10.11.1 -Win 7 Home Premium x64 (Legacy)
    CPU:
    Sandy Bridge Intel i7 2620M 2.7Ghz Turbo to 3.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (512MB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Did they ever add an option to remove mouse acceleration? Myself and a few of my friends wrote Apple and suggested a real way to disable it without using Terminal, but I doubt they added it. Trying to use a third party mouse in macOS or play any kind of shooter game with mouse acceleration is pure horrible. It blows my mind that they never added such a simple feature. Even if you use the Terminal to disable it, it still doesn't work right and then you can't really change the mouse sensitivity or it turns mouse accel' back on.
     
  6. kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,201
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2017 at 6:30 PM #6
    kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,201
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Everything up and running flawless.. :thumbup:

    Overview.png

    See my extended 10.13 High Sierra Desktop Guide for details.

    Clean install of macOS High Sierra PB3 (DP4), update from macOS Sierra 10.12.6 and update from macOS High Sierra PB2 (DP3).. Everything verified... no issues at all! My rig works perfectly stable and absolute flawless, with full XCPM, Audio, USB and EIST or Sleep/Wake support. 10.12.6 Web Driver workaround provides OpenGL and Metal support just for Kepler Graphics cards.
    Pascal and likely also Maxwell users have to live with proper screen resolution and basic video acceleration...

    :thumbdown Apparently there will be no Nvidia10.13 Web Driver in the near future :thumbdown

    I had an extended chat with the Nvidia hotline this afternoon. The answer was quite clear. There is an ongoing dispute between Apple and Nvidia concerning contracts, rights and marketing policies... Currently he was not able to say if there will be 10.13 macOS High Sierra web driver support at all.

    The 10.12 Pascal Driver Disaster reloaded under 10.13?

    We should asap write a follow-up petition to Nvidia officially asking for 10.13 Web Driver support.
     
    Subsystems, zlei and tonymacx86 like this.
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2017
  7. DrTom

    DrTom

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    208
    Mobo:
    PowerMac G5: GA-B75M-D3H; GA-B85M-D3H
    CPU:
    i3 3225; Xeon E3-1241V3; i5 3570; i3 4340
    Graphics:
    HD4000; HD 4600; GT 640; GT 740
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2017 at 6:31 PM #7
    DrTom

    DrTom

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    208
    Mobo:
    PowerMac G5: GA-B75M-D3H; GA-B85M-D3H
    CPU:
    i3 3225; Xeon E3-1241V3; i5 3570; i3 4340
    Graphics:
    HD4000; HD 4600; GT 640; GT 740
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The installation was painless here on EconoMac II, and everything seems to be working. :) It does identify itself as Developer Beta 4 but I don't care as long as betas keep coming my way. According to my benchmarks it isn't as fast as Sierra yet, but it is close, and perhaps 10% faster than the previous beta according to Novabench.
     
    m0reilly and tonymacx86 like this.
  8. kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,201
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2017 at 6:36 PM #8
    kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,201
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It seems that there will not be any Web Driver in the near future. :thumbdown

    I just had some extended chat with the Nvidia support hotline this afternoon. The answer was quite clear. There is an ongoing dispute between Apple and Nvidia concerning contracts, rights and marketing policies... Currently he was not able to say if there will be 10.13 macOS High Sierra web driver support at all.

    Kepler users (top be confirmed) are lucky with the 10.12.6 WebDriver workaround for 10.13. No OpenGL and Metal support for Pascal and Maxwell users with this workaround though! 10.12 Nvidia Pascal Web Driver disaster reloaded under 10.13 High Sierra?
     
    Subsystems likes this.
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2017
  9. m0reilly

    m0reilly

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Jul 26, 2017 at 6:57 PM #9
    m0reilly

    m0reilly

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    quickest/easiest update yet. first time I had a successful update on an apfs nvme boot drive.
     
  10. Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Jul 26, 2017 at 6:59 PM #10
    Lundli

    Lundli

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 Gaming pro carbon
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1070

    This workaround, does it involve copying something over from Sierra? Just asking because if I just change build number it throws a bunch of errors about not being compiled against the right headers..
     

Share This Page