Contribute
Register

macOS High Sierra is Now Available on the Mac App Store

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,736
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Question about drives - I have three - boot drive is EVO 250GB, I have an NVME that I use for recent photo editing (500GB) and a 1TB HDD. If I upgrade, what happens to the file system on each drive:AFS on the EVO and NVME, HDD unchanged or some other combination ?
Thanks!

You'd be better to stick with HFS+ than APFS.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Question about drives - I have three - boot drive is EVO 250GB, I have an NVME that I use for recent photo editing (500GB) and a 1TB HDD. If I upgrade, what happens to the file system on each drive:AFS on the EVO and NVME, HDD unchanged or some other combination ?
Thanks!

My experience:
Your boot drive will be converted to APFS unless you take steps to avoid it (guide already linked previously).
The rest will be left at HFS+J.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
162
Motherboard
Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
you just need to enable SIP when install the web driver, after you installed, do what ever you want to disable sip...

enable SIP add the settings to your config.plist.

Clover Configurator > Rt Variables > BooterConfig and CsrActiveConfig

Relevant user options for SIP are as follows:
csr-active-config 0x0 = SIP Enabled (Default)
csr-active-config 0x3 = SIP Partially Disabled (Loads unsigned kexts)
csr-active-config 0x67 = SIP Disabled completely

When I tried to enable SIP, my machine would just panic and reboot. Am I doing it incorrectly? I just changed the values in Clover.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
235
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H
CPU
E3-1241v3
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Testing is now underway- this post will be updated. Good luck, and let us know how it goes! Report your results here.

I had no trouble at all installing High Sierra on my simple EconoMac II with Intel HD 4600 graphics. Perfect the first time. On my PowerMac G5, however, I got the dreaded "The path /System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg appears to be missing or damaged" error. I tried everything including updating to the latest Clover, making sure my FAKESMC was the latest version, using the latest APFS.EFI, installing a different AppleAHCIPort.kest, and even created a USB installer to do the upgrade, but it always failed with the above error. Thanks to posts here and on InsanelyMac I was able to solve the problem. What finally worked was deleting all copies of NVRAM.PLIST (Toleda's advice) and resetting the SMBIOS with the latest version of Clover Configurator (Vinicius P. Miranda's insight). Even though I kept the same definition (14,2) it had been updated from a 2013 date to an 8/2017 date. Those two items made all the difference and the install then went perfectly. Whew!
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
165
Motherboard
GA-Z170-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX770
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
GA-170X-Gaming 3 Rev 1.0
CPU
Intel Core i5-6600K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 750Ti SC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The update to High Sierra went smoothly following the directions in https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/update-directly-to-macos-high-sierra.232707/. After update, I lost sound, so I followed the directions in @toleda's post https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/high-sierra-desktop-realtek-applehda-audio.226433/

and voila
Screenshot of System Information copy.png

And Hallelujah, the iBooks transparent video screen bug is finally fixed!

ibooks.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Running a super old Gigabyte EP45-UD3L here with GTX750. Most troublesome install to date I must say, but still amazed I can get a booted system with High Sierra after all these years of updates!

However, I managed to get booting system running only after a clean install. System drive is using APFS file system. Updating a cloned Sierra 10.12.6 install failed after multiple attempts.

Here's my main problem: Only one of my drives (a Samsung EVO SSD) is being recognized by the HS installer or HS in general. Of coarse, that recognized drive was not my main system drive that I intended to update to HS :rolleyes:

So far, I've followed all procedures & then some. apfs.efi is installed in /drivers64 (NOT /drivers64UEFI) since this is a non UEFI legacy board.
SATA AHCI mode is properly set in BIOS
Required kexts for booting this system include Fake SMC, NullCPUMgmt, and VoodooTSSync (for Xeon processor)

Perhaps a clover fix I'm unaware of will make my other drives (1 HFS+ SSD (Kingston) & 2 HFS+ HDDs) show up again?
Or do I need some sort of custom AppleAHCI.kext inject?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
114
Motherboard
Toshiba E45-B4200
CPU
i5-4210u Haswell
Graphics
hd4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
i can not download macOS 10.13 High Sierra from Apple Store ...... download only 14 mb .... how to do it

First need update 10.12.6

Then download 5.18gb
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170-D3H-f22f
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Updated from App Store no problems, GFX, audio, trim, and USB all working.
hey you have GA Z170 D3H MOBO. I have same mobo but how you manage F20 BIOS run macOS 10.12 or 10.13. in my case I have facing paic . than I force rollback F5 BIOS it's work fine. can you tell me how you install macOS on 10.12 or 10.13:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top