Contribute
Register

macOS Big Sur Does NOT Boot with iMac14,2 System Definition

Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,870
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, I'm a little puzzled. Looking at EveryMac.Com, the spec for iMac19,2 shows "Core i3" 3.6 21.5-Inch Aluminum (Retina 4K, 2019/Coffee Lake) features a 14-nm "Coffee Lake" 3.6 GHz Intel "Core i3" processor (I3-8100). Using Clover Config, the iMac19,2 shows iMac (21.5 inch, Retina 4K, 2019) | Intel Core i7-8700, at 3.20 Ghz. Looking at iMac19,1 on both sites shows an Intel Core i9-9900K @ 3.6 Ghz. If Everymac is correct, then the 19,2 might be the best fit for the i3 chip. Am I correct, and can I use this selection in Clover Config?
Most all the system definitions I listed would work just fine with your system. However, the closest matching one would be the mac mini 8,1 because you are running IGPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I can't go to safe mode so,
I can't disable SIP so,
I can't change my model identifier from 14.1 so,
I can't upgrade to Big Sur so,
I won't be able to sleep tonight!!

I have tried all reason methods to go to safe mode, but nothing works. I must has rebooted 100+ times trying. My specifics: Gigabyte Z370 HD3P, i7-8700K, RX 580, OS 10.15.7, clover R5119.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
ga-z270x-ud5
CPU
i3-7350k
Graphics
rx570
I can't go to safe mode so,
I can't disable SIP so,
I can't change my model identifier from 14.1 so,
I can't upgrade to Big Sur so,
I won't be able to sleep tonight!!

I have tried all reason methods to go to safe mode, but nothing works. I must has rebooted 100+ times trying. My specifics: Gigabyte Z370 HD3P, i7-8700K, RX 580, OS 10.15.7, clover R5119.
You can't use clover configurator and change CsrActiveConfigs under RtVariables to 67 to disable SIP?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
translate please
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
x58 extreme
CPU
intel
Graphics
Intel 15 6500
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys, I'm running the latest Catalina and I have a dual monitor setup using an Nvidia GT-650 graphics card on a Sandy Bridge 2600K on a Gigabyte Z68X board. No other system definition besides 14,2 works with my dual monitor setup.

I've tried the following;

15,1
17,1
19,1
5,1
6,1
13,1
13,2
8,2

If you guys work with dual monitor setups and have a suggestion, I would greatly appreciate it.
Also, I guess this is a clue I need to upgrade my system. lol.
I can help you out with the dual monitor issue. I've got no issues with that on many installs and configs..

Currently, on this laptop, which is a Dell E6430, I'm running a native Intel HD Graphics 4000, i5-3320M (IvyBridge 2.5 GHZ). I have at the moment on this clean install of Catalina 10.15.7 which I just did a couple hours ago. It started off with 2048 MB VRAM .The most I've had it up to are 3072 MB VRAM. But I didn't really notice much of a difference though performance wise.

Anyhow, this is my first post so I assume I can send you screenshots. Basically, your problem is going to be in your configuration plist settings under your Device Properties/Add/PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0). You're going to want to adjust your AAPL,ig-platform-id and add a few other framebuffer settings in there that will most likley solve your problem.

Post a screenshot of your config.plist and your EFI Folder. I can either tell you whats wrong, or I can just make you an EFI Folder on the spot with the adjustments that will correct the issues which I'm pretty sure that your having. I'll respond in the same day and get this solved. I know first hand what its like dealing with these endless issues, and I know other people have too had to deal with a lot more than me .

Anyhow, I got some wisdom from all that, and I'll be glad to help anyone that may need or use my help as we all learn from each other to begin with.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-01-10 at 11.06.26 pm.png
    Screenshot 2021-01-10 at 11.06.26 pm.png
    259.3 KB · Views: 59
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
65
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can help you out with the dual monitor issue. I've got no issues with that on many installs and configs..

Currently, on this laptop, which is a Dell E6430, I'm running a native Intel HD Graphics 4000, i5-3320M (IvyBridge 2.5 GHZ). I have at the moment on this clean install of Catalina 10.15.7 which I just did a couple hours ago. It started off with 2048 MB VRAM .The most I've had it up to are 3072 MB VRAM. But I didn't really notice much of a difference though performance wise.

Anyhow, this is my first post so I assume I can send you screenshots. Basically, your problem is going to be in your configuration plist settings under your Device Properties/Add/PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0). You're going to want to adjust your AAPL,ig-platform-id and add a few other framebuffer settings in there that will most likley solve your problem.

Post a screenshot of your config.plist and your EFI Folder. I can either tell you whats wrong, or I can just make you an EFI Folder on the spot with the adjustments that will correct the issues which I'm pretty sure that your having. I'll respond in the same day and get this solved. I know first hand what its like dealing with these endless issues, and I know other people have too had to deal with a lot more than me .

Anyhow, I got some wisdom from all that, and I'll be glad to help anyone that may need or use my help as we all learn from each other to begin with.
Thank you, my friend. I'll give it a try and I'll report back accordingly.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
148
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You can use that or use the Haswell based iMac SMBIOS of 15,1. It's a perfect match for your i5-4690K CPU. Then your CPU power mgt. will be much easier to implement. See post #2 of this thread.
Can you elaborate on why CPU power management would be easier to implement with iMac 15,1 for a Haswell CPU?

I'm currently using iMac 14,2 with my 4770K build, and I'm trying to determine which system definition to use to upgrade to Big Sur. What are the risks of using a newer system definition (e.g., iMac 17,1 or 18,3) or the benefits of sticking with a Haswell model like iMac 15,1?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,566
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Can you elaborate on why CPU power management would be easier to implement with iMac 15,1 for a Haswell CPU?
15,1 iMacs used a Haswell CPU. That's what macOS expects to regulate with that SMBIOS. Not Ivy Bridge or Skylake or Kabylake. You can use 17,1 or 18,3 but I see no advantage in doing that.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
225
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH - Opencore
CPU
I7-3770K OC 4.5
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Seeking advice for what SMBIOS to use on an Z77 Ivy Bridge test bed. Currently on Mojave as main OS having skipped Catalina completely. Will upgrade Cover Mojave to Opencore Catalina once I get my head around it.

Using dual monitor set up on (currently) R9 280 but contemplating purchasing a second hand RX580. Never planning on using on board graphics except for decoding if required.

Have had success installing Big Sur using with Opencore 0.6.5 with SMBIOS 15.1 on 11.2.1 but having some DRM video playback issues. No power management organized yet. Note Overclocked to 4.5 Ghz

Planning on making an Opencore 0.6.7 dummy USB stick to test, upgrading to 11.2.3, and then playing with various SMBIOS.

Thoughts on SMBIOS' to get stable, power managed, overclocked Z77 to work best?
 
Last edited:
Top