Contribute
Register

macOS Big Sur Does NOT Boot with iMac14,2 System Definition

Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So if I change my 14,2 configuration to something else, will I have to update my Serial Number too? I seem to remember having to do this in the past and it was rather unpleasant. Also with my processor I am not sure what to change my configuration too. Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,867
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So if I change my 14,2 configuration to something else, will I have to update my Serial Number too? I seem to remember having to do this in the past and it was rather unpleasant. Also with my processor I am not sure what to change my configuration too. Any suggestions?

Yes, you will have to update your Serial number, other than having to reauthorize software it is not terrible but I do not have a huge amount of software to worry about. 15,1 looks to use a 4th gen CPU.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,782
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So if I change my 14,2 configuration to something else, will I have to update my Serial Number too? I seem to remember having to do this in the past and it was rather unpleasant. Also with my processor I am not sure what to change my configuration too. Any suggestions?
Logout of iCloud and the Apple Mac App Store. Then, see this Post for the easy way to change your System Definition. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That is all fine and well, but when I do this won't I loose my keychain. Is there a way to avoid that?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,512
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
That is all fine and well, but when I do this won't I loose my keychain. Is there a way to avoid that?
Backup your Keychain first to have a second copy.
  • Keychains are usually located in the Keychains folder in the Library folder in your home folder. To locate these files, press and hold the Option key and choose Go > Library, then open the Keychains folder.
  • Select the keychains you want, then press and hold the Option key and drag the selected keychains into another folder to copy them to the folder.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay, that is good to know. So to restore it after I change my profile, do I just do a keychain import, or do I just overwrite the new keychain file?
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
65
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys, I'm running the latest Catalina and I have a dual monitor setup using an Nvidia GT-650 graphics card on a Sandy Bridge 2600K on a Gigabyte Z68X board. No other system definition besides 14,2 works with my dual monitor setup.

I've tried the following;

15,1
17,1
19,1
5,1
6,1
13,1
13,2
8,2

If you guys work with dual monitor setups and have a suggestion, I would greatly appreciate it.
Also, I guess this is a clue I need to upgrade my system. lol.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,512
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If you guys work with dual monitor setups and have a suggestion, I would greatly appreciate it.
Also, I guess this is a clue I need to upgrade my system. lol.
Nothing wrong with staying on Catalina a couple of years and avoiding Big Sur for now. Then build new when you need to upgrade from Catalina. Big Sur is a transitional OS from Intel x86 to Apple Silicon ARM RISC and it's still not ready for everyday use in my opinion.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
1,275
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK so macOS Big Sur Public Beta is now out, and we just wanted to clarify things a bit regarding system definitions. For years we here at tonymacx86.com have used iMac14,2 as the suggested system definition in MultiBeast- it was a basic trouble free universal default. Starting with macOS Big Sur, Apple has decided to drop support for iMac14,2 systems.

In order to test your system definition, navigate to the upper left corner and choose About This Mac. A window will open showing the booted system definition. If this shows iMac (Late 2013) you will need to change your system definition before installing macOS Big Sur. In fact, you will not be able to download macOS Big Sur until you change it.

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 11.05.34 AM.png

This is a pain for real 2013 iMacs, as they now have to trick the OS into supporting their platform. However for CustoMacs running Clover, changing your system definition is very simple.

1. Get the latest version of MultiBeast for Catalina
2. Choose Customise > System Definitions > iMac > iMac19,1
3. Choose Build > Install
4. Reboot system

Please note, OpenCore bootloader has a separate method for adding system definition. You may use a text editor such as ProperTree on config.plist or an app such as OpenCore Configurator.

Hope this helps!
:geek::ugeek::mrgreen:
This is a great bit of info. Thank you Tony. Will an older Z77/87/170 Custom Mac run with these later system definitions?
 
Top