Contribute
Register

macOS 10.15.5 Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,687
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
so that's not happening for me ... it keeps selecting by default boot os from Catalina (I named my drive that)

Try changing the default boot volume in config.plist.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-D3H-Clover
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 570, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Finally was able to update. When I selected update from System Preferences/software update or via a downloaded updated .dmg, I could never get an Install Volume to show in Clover. Followed this post - click here, was able to get the install volume to show in Clover. All is good. Took 25 minutes and 2 reboots, clover found the right volumes to select during reboots.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
69
Motherboard
MSI Z370m Mortar; ASUS Zenbook Pro UX535LI
CPU
i5-9600k; i7-10750H
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Anyone got this update to work with i5-9600k and iGPU (UHD 630)? It broke mine which works fine from 10.14.x to 10.15.4. It boots but loses signal to display which goes to sleep when the boot switches from VGA to graphics. Same thing happens just trying to boot with a full MacOS 10.15.5 USB installer so nothing wrong with my OS installation. Have tried multiple platform id (and no platform id) and multiple SMBIOS but no luck. Using latest Clover, WEG, LILU and ALC.

Update:
Partial Fix: Looks like the port handling for 0x3E9B007 is broken in 10.15.5 for Coffee Lake iGPU (at least the 9th generation). Choosing 0x3E9B000 instead resulted in the HDMI port working at least but not the DP or DVI ports. The other ports don't even light up in Hackintool when connected. So framebuffer patching by trial and error is required to make all video ports work. The latter would be board dependent.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING (WI-FI AC)
CPU
i7-8700K OC'd @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi.
I have just solved problem similar to @gvkt
After updating from 10.15.4 to 10.15.5 it booted but lost signal to display (DP port RX580).
I enabled WhateverGreen.kext (which was disabled earlier, because it crashed with the "Black Screen Patch Vega 56/64, RX580" on 10.15.4) and booted successfully.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-Z370N WIFI
CPU
i5-8600k
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. iMac
Yeah i have my system drive as Machintosh HD since thats what apple calls theirs by default. I might try manually booting into the preboot volume then the filevault volume and see if it does the update otherwise ill just manually download the update when its released as a file.
any progress? I'm facing the same issue. Manually booting into the preboot volume does not help.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390 UD
CPU
i5 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
RX 580
Try changing the default boot volume in config.plist.

my default volume is correct ... not sure why it does not auto select the right volume when you initiate the update ... it reboots and keeps going back to my default volume
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 MASTER
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
any progress? I'm facing the same issue. Manually booting into the preboot volume does not help.
Hey, buddy! In the end I had to download the latest boot image of Catalina being 10.15.5, then use the latest version of UniBeast to make a new bootable USB and do a clean install,
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
81
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm updating from 10.15.2 with combo update file.

After first restarting, I pressed F3 to show all partitions and select macOs ... - Data install
but computer will be rebooted!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top