Contribute
Register

macOS 10.13.6 Update

Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To be honest, I'd advise against option B. I had the apfs.efi removed and ApfsDriverLoader-64.efi isntalled on 10.13.5, and it just worked fine. However, during the update to 10.13.6, after the second reboot Clover just simply stopped working. Apparently the ApfsDriverLoader-64.efi was unable to locate the apfs.efi on the system drive (maybe it was temporary unavailable or relocated during the update process), so the system could not boot. To add insult to injury, I was unable to boot using a Vanilla Clover on a USB drive unless i disabled the system drive (disabling the SATA drive in BIOS) completely, since it was also loading the ApfsDriverLoader from the system drive's EFI partition (even though it was not installed on the USB drive itself). As a last resort, I had to boot a Ubuntu using USB, mount the system drive EFI partition, remove the ApfsDiverLoader and reinstall the apfs.efi manually, so then I could boot and finish the installation.

So I'd say it is much safer to have the apfs.efi among the drivers instead of relying on ApfsDriverLoader to do the job.

I had no problem updating with apfsdriverloader to 10.13.6
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
37
Motherboard
Asus Z97M
CPU
Intel i7-4790K
Graphics
nVidia GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had no problem updating with apfsdriverloader to 10.13.6
I'm glad. Probably this was an issue with the specific Clover version I used or was caused by some other factor? Next time I'll try again. Surely though if this was a widespread problem, others would be reporting it by now.
 

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,741
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
just updated through the appstore whitout problems. but i have some questions.

Is the usb port limit patch needed if i have made a custom ssdt ?

another question: i own a gigabyte rx560 4gb oc from Gigabyte. is it possible to use this card without lilu and whatevergreen ?...
with lilu and whatevergreen it is working great. with the displayport and hdmi active.

without these kexts i got a blackscreen. thanks in advance.
Same card here, at first the card functioned without and then after 13.5 it did not. My situation also needed to have CSM enabled in BIOS plus CSMVideoDxe-64 in Drivers64UEFI
 
Last edited:

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,741
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did the update, from start to finish was 11 minutes. Unfortunately, I now have the pink screen with the RX560. I removed the card and no more pink screen. I thought my troubles were over when I dumped the Nvidia card :( Anyone out there know of a solution? And no sound.

Sound is back, removed Lilu and WhateverGreen, still pink screen.

Tried RadeoDeInit, still pink
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
17
Motherboard
Z390 Extreme4
CPU
i5-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just updated via Appstore. Went almost smooth. Display went black after 2-3 auto reboots. Had to check "Use Web Driver" in clover options. Maybe just disabling web drivers beforehand would have solved this problem. Audio drivers work fine after another 1-2 (manual) restarts. Updated Nvidia drivers working like before. Clover is up to date (4586).
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
239
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Just confirming before I update that if I install latest Clover that I DO NOT need to copy over the new apfs file like I did on the .1,.2, etc., releases, correct? Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
174
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630, RTX 2080 Super
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just confirming before I update that if I install latest Clover that I DO NOT need to copy over the new apfs file like I did on the .1,.2, etc., releases, correct? Thanks.

Correct. Just make sure you have ApfsDriverLoader and AptioMemoryFix in EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI and none of the other aptio fixes. There has been some issues with Clover 4586 so make sure you check what drivers you have there.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
239
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I do not have ApfsDriverLoader or AptioMemoryFix in EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI. Where do I get those files from so I can put them in there? Also, what are the "other aptio fixes"? I have apfs.efi in there... Thanks for your help.
 
Top