macOS 10.13.5 Update

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by tonymacx86, Jun 1, 2018.

  1. NickElsey

    NickElsey

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 9:11 AM #231
    NickElsey

    NickElsey

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No issues with the 10.13.5 update on this build. Installed from App Store OK and updated Nvidia drivers.
     
  2. YoshiyukiAsakura

    YoshiyukiAsakura

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Z370M-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    I5 8400
    Graphics:
    UHD630
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Jun 14, 2018 at 11:13 AM #232
    YoshiyukiAsakura

    YoshiyukiAsakura

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Z370M-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    I5 8400
    Graphics:
    UHD630
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    a single click in AppStore and successfully updated without any issues.

    i see you guys talking about apfs.efi file, i did nothing to it and for now my machine is running well, should i concern about apfs.efi?
     
  3. verdazil

    verdazil

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 750 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 14, 2018 at 11:21 AM #233
    verdazil

    verdazil

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 750 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Who spoke? @Jibooom88 ?? He was wrong. You can use the old version of apfs.efi, you do not need to change anything.
     
  4. smintel

    smintel

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Sandybridge i7-2600 3.40Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Jun 14, 2018 at 5:30 PM #234
    smintel

    smintel

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Sandybridge i7-2600 3.40Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    had to patch AppleAHCIPort.kext after upgrading as my second hard drive was not mounting
     
  5. neblogas

    neblogas

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    Asus
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 960 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:54 PM #235
    neblogas

    neblogas

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    Asus
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 960 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Not updating. Neither through AppStore neither through Combo Update. PC is just rebooting.
     
  6. blassley

    blassley

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z170-E
    CPU:
    core i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:55 PM #236
    blassley

    blassley

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z170-E
    CPU:
    core i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    it will reboot to the clover screen, you have to choose "install MacOS from "your HDD" this is because even on a real Mac the Mac reboots to the installer, hacks just do it a little differently and sometimes it can "reboot" more then once, just keep choosing "install MacOS" until that is gone then choose your "HDD"
     
  7. Superbogey

    Superbogey

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming-K7
    CPU:
    Core i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 3MB
    Jun 14, 2018 at 10:43 PM #237
    Superbogey

    Superbogey

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming-K7
    CPU:
    Core i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 3MB
    You might want to rethink that statement. Apple doesn't list changes to the apfs.efi so it's a good practice to replace your current file with the latest release whenever there's any kind of system update to keep from having any unnecessary headaches with your system. How to update APFS.EFI.
     
  8. verdazil

    verdazil

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 750 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 15, 2018 at 4:29 AM #238
    verdazil

    verdazil

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 750 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    @Superbogey , you understand that the macOS does not use the driver /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI/apfs.efi ? This driver is needed by Clover and is used only at the earliest stage of boot.
    Of course, you can always use the latest version, if you do not value your time.
     
  9. YoshiyukiAsakura

    YoshiyukiAsakura

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Z370M-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    I5 8400
    Graphics:
    UHD630
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Jun 15, 2018 at 4:47 AM #239
    YoshiyukiAsakura

    YoshiyukiAsakura

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Z370M-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    I5 8400
    Graphics:
    UHD630
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    yes, i saw it on page 1, happy to know i was doing right.
     
    Superbogey likes this.
  10. Superbogey

    Superbogey

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming-K7
    CPU:
    Core i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 3MB
    Jun 15, 2018 at 5:55 AM #240
    Superbogey

    Superbogey

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming-K7
    CPU:
    Core i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 3MB
    I understand quite a bit that you don't seem to, kid. Like how having an incorrect APFS.efi = Clover's inability to recognize the boot drive. What were you saying about valuing time?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice