Contribute
Register

macOS 10.13.4 Security Update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
76
Motherboard
MSI Z170A PRO
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
doing the update, downloaded from the App Store, the first reboot the system hangs with the sign ban and boot with -v out "error allocating ....." as attached files.
how do I fix?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3278.jpg
    IMG_3278.jpg
    61.3 KB · Views: 175
  • IMG_3277.jpg
    IMG_3277.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 158

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,183
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
doing the update, downloaded from the App Store, the first reboot the system hangs with the sign ban and boot with -v out "error allocating ....." as attached files.
how do I fix?
still not a help thread......
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,959
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Updated from the App Store for the Z370 Prime P, then system rebooted into installer. Installation was very smooth both for the update and for the Nvidia drivers. Sound drivers working okay too. Only concern was that when we tried to process very large files with Photoshop CC, the system crashed. Bear in mind this was before I updated to the latest Nvidiagraphicsfixup and Lilu. It seems stable now, will post if anything occurs.

Also a note for those who've experienced crashing on the Z370 Prime boards - you may need to move the RAM to Slots A1 and B1 instead of A2 and B2 in the manual, and then set them in Clover as Slot 0 and Slot 2.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H F9F
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GT 740
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Flawless and smooth, same as my MacBook Pro, updgrade
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASRock Z370 Extreme 4
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The update worked smoothly:
  1. update apfs.efi before installing the OS update
  2. install the update, the computer automatically rebooted from a temporary "Install Disk", then rebooted a couple more times
  3. once booted from the updated system with the default Mac NVIDIA driver,
    • the video driver update notification will open automatically
    • install the new NVIDIA driver automatically
  4. reboot to properly working OS
Caveats:
  1. my audio driver (1220) was working in 10.13.4 but probably just by chance, because I had no outputs after the update
    • I had to move Lilu.kext AND AppleALC.kext into /EFI/EFI/Clover/kexts/Other/ (moved from /L/E)
  2. Clover config.plist already had SIP disabled, I didn't touch this setting, CsrActiceConfig = 0x67
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
Asus Z370 Maximus Hero X
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone been able to get display port working? Vega rx56. I have tried with lilu & whatevergreen kexts. Nothing. Only hdmi works.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,814
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone been able to get display port working? Vega rx56. I have tried with lilu & whatevergreen kexts. Nothing. Only hdmi works.
This is being discussed in the Graphics forum section. I have a RX 580 and can only drive a monitor with DVI and HDMI as DP doesn't work once booted onto the Desktop. Hopefully, this will be fixed in 10.13.5 or sooner.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASrock Z270M Pro4
CPU
Intel i7-7700K
Graphics
AMD Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX580 4GB
This is being discussed in the Graphics forum section. I have a RX 580 and can only drive a monitor with DVI and HDMI as DP doesn't work once booted onto the Desktop. Hopefully, this will be fixed in 10.13.5 or sooner.

I had no DP output with the latest update until I changed system ID from 18,2 to 14,2 - seems so far no ill effects from this and did re-enable DP outputs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top