Contribute
Register

macOS 10.12.6 Update

Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
103
Motherboard
ASRock H97M-ITX/AC
CPU
i3-4170
Graphics
HD4400
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
So, in preparing to update my 9 series machine from El Capitan to Sierra I wanted to clone my hard drive. However the machine will not recognize the USB 3 external drive despite having done so before (I have previously created a clone of the Mac drive). This led me to investigate the issue a little and I discovered that I appear only to have USB 2 ports on the XHCI controller and that I have the GenericUSBXHCI.kext installed. I suspect that this is not the correct configuration for my motherboard (ASRock H97M ITX) and that I should really be using the FakePCIID and FakePCIID_XHCIMux kexts together with the patch to increase the number of ports.

So my question is this - should I work on modifying the configuration of the USB ports or should I simply do the update to Sierra and then worry about the USB port configuration. If I update to Sierra would it just be a case of then using Multibeast to install the Series 9 kext and the increased number of ports followed by port identification and excluding those not required? If I need to fix USB prior to upgrading can I do that by running MultiBeast to install the correct kexts as well as changing the definition to 14,1.

Appreciate feedback on how best to proceed.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Plus
  4. Portable
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Updated i5 6400, GA-Z170X wifi, 16 gig ram, Nvidia 670. No issues. All audio survived.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8460p MacOs Sierra 10.12.1
CPU
i5 2.5ghz 12GB ram
Graphics
HD 3000 1600x900
Hello,

I updated my hackintosh from Sierra 10.12.4 to 10.12.6 and it became very slow...

thanks
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,284
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Upgrade from 10.12.5 to 10.12.6 went well. I did update my AppleALC and Lilu, set the graphics driver to OSX, installed, reboot, installed new nVidia drivers, reboot, done.

Pretty easy. And, easy on a X99 motherboard, too! (thanks to Giacomoleopardo and KGP!)

Add: I did use the 10.12.6 Combo update (I always use the Combo updates).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Z97MX-gaming 5
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Did anyone else get the issue of the main display being detected as a TV after the update? It still works in the correct resolution with no issues, it's just erroneously detected as a TV somehow. Didn't act like that on 10.12.3
 
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
17
Motherboard
Asus Strix Z270F
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700K (5GHz OC)
Graphics
Asus Strix GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I accidentally updated before checking this thread and was faced with a kernel panic because the update installed a new IONVMeFamily.kext and it couldn't read my boot drive (960 Evo). Per this thread, I used my backup install and deleted that kext from /S/L/E and it booted up fine, with the exception of the graphics driver. After logging in, i got a prompt to update the driver. Now everything is working perfectly:

View media item 189276View media item 189275
Just one question: do I need to update HackrNVMeFamily to the latest version? it seems to work fine with the last version... Unless there are other issues that i'm not aware of.

Edit: audio through VoodooHDA is working without issue after update
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,782
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
Just one question: do I need to update HackrNVMeFamily to the latest version? it seems to work fine with the last version... Unless there are other issues that i'm not aware of...
Yes, and, if you used a spoofing SSDT as RehabMan recommends, you wouldn't have this update problem.
 
Top