Contribute
Register

macOS 10.12.6 Update

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,283
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello
How did you get such results in geekbench? I'm on 7700k have like 5900 and 20+k

Me either!!! 7700K I get 5900 and 20+k

Overclocks and RAM speeds can greatly influence Geekbench results.

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 7.32.17 AM.png
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Designare ATX
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530 + RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have an issue, this is my first update (from 10.12.3). I've only done a time machine backup.

I'm running a hack with the 17,1 system defined.

I installed the update via combo, and i'm stuck on the apple loading screen (approx 75% of loading), even on safe mode
I certainly missed something before updating. I'll post a thread in the Sierra Support Section.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
ASUS z270g
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
gtx1070
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Overclocks and RAM speeds can greatly influence Geekbench results.

View attachment 268366
My overclocked to 4800, but I'm not sure that macos use it? Do I need extra setup? Like SSDT or other patches
Also could you share your RAM base speed? Should I even overclock it, if it just 2133?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,283
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have an issue, this is my first update (from 10.12.3). I've only done a time machine backup.

I'm running a hack with the 17,1 system defined.

I installed the update via combo, and i'm stuck on the apple loading screen (approx 75% of loading), even on safe mode
I certainly missed something before updating. I'll post a thread in the Sierra Support Section.

I suggest booting in to verbose mode and taking a picture of where it stops so others will have a better idea of what your issue is.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,283
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My overclocked to 4800, but I'm not sure that macos use it? Do I need extra setup? Like SSDT or other patches
Also could you share your RAM base speed? Should I even overclock it, if it just 2133?

I think my example is a bit to the extreme side... I have my i7-7700K running at 5.1GHz and RAM at 3467MHz.

macOS will use the CPU at whatever you clock it to.

I honestly don't know how much real world difference RAM speeds make. Keep in mind that benchmarks are just benchmarks...

Anyway, we are straying off topic...
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
57
Motherboard
GA-H270N-WIFI
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
Intel HD 630 / GEFORCE 1050ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Updated without issue - removed the fake IDs for the the processor and updated the ID for the Intel 630HD graphics.
Also changed the Mac system ID to 18,1

When I booted into the updated OS, the NVIDIA driver asked to update. All is smooth now...
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
234
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master F11e
CPU
i9-9900K OC @5 GHz
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse AMD Radeon RX 5700XT 8GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To get xcpm working on Haswell-E and X99 boards, use:

Code:
Old:

Find: 83c3c483 fb22    Replace: 83c3c183 fb22    xcpm_bootstrap © Pike R. Alpha

New:

Find: 8d43c483 f822    Replace: 8d43c183 f822    xcpm bootstrap  derived from Pike R. Alpha's Ivy Bridge patch

This gave me my power management back after the 10.12.6 update!
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
2
Updated with combo update. My first Hackintosh ever, built three days ago (I forced 10.12.5 due to waiting for new NVMe patch).
Updated today, was really easy - thanks a lot for everybodys work!
Screen_Shot_2017-07-24_at_21_21_58.png
Screen_Shot_2017-07-24_at_21_27_58.png
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte UD5 Wifi X99 & Designare Z390
CPU
i7-5820K & i9-9900KS
Graphics
GTX 1070 & AMD RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To get xcpm working on Haswell-E and X99 boards, use:

Code:
Old:

Find: 83c3c483 fb22    Replace: 83c3c183 fb22    xcpm_bootstrap © Pike R. Alpha

New:

Find: 8d43c483 f822    Replace: 8d43c183 f822    xcpm bootstrap  derived from Pike R. Alpha's Ivy Bridge patch

This gave me my power management back after the 10.12.6 update!

Thanks a bunch Jasperlevi!! :thumbup: :clap: Just changed it as you stated in your post and it works indeed like a charm!
 
Top