Contribute
Register

macOS 10.12.2 Update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA‑Z170XP‑SLI
CPU
i7‑6700K
Graphics
RX 460/560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Successful update from 10.12.0 to 10.12.2, (H170M,I5 6600, Intel 600p SSD, AMD RX460)
After patch nvme.kext 10.12.2, everything works!

View attachment 226302

Gosh I can't get my RX460 to work, did you download any driver? I am going to put a fresh copy of Sierra tonight.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i5 6600K
Graphics
AMD RX 480
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Got the RX 480 working again, full acceleration, Metal support and Safari/video are working as before.
To get it running I followed the same procedure as on 10.12/10.12.1: Edit /System/Library/Extensions/AMDRadeonX4100.kext to include "0x67DF0000" for the Baffin frame buffer, rebuild kextcache and reboot.
To have "AMD RX 480" instead of "AMD R9 xxx" reported in "About this Mac", one can edit /System/Library/Extensions/AMD9500Controller.kext/Contents/MacOS/AMD9500Controller using a hex editor, simply search for "R9 xxx" and replace it with "RX 480", takes effect after rebooting.

Unfortunately, if you had audio patched using MultiBeast and/or audio_cloverALC-120_v1.0d.command, you will have to do that again after rebuilding the kext cache.

EDIT: Somehow, RX 480 behaves slightly different now. Prior to the update and reenabling, I had to connect the display to iGPU and after login unplug it and replug it into the RX 480, otherwise it would hang at 90% of the boot up progress bar, unfortunately after replugging the display macOS would always detect 2 displays (with the non-existent one at 800x600), which was annoying because sometimes windows would open on the non-existing display meaning there was no way to interact with them.
However, now I can boot with the display connected to the RX 480 with black screen and graphics will come up once the login screen appears. So, slightly good news, I guess :)

______

Thanks, mate. This has been incredibly useful.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
Mini Deluxe GA-Z77N WiFi
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well... my Hackintosh auto downloaded and tried to update to 10.12.2 on restart. It encountered a kernel panic. I booted from my 10.12.1 backup and changed the system definition to iMac 14.2. I rebooted and the update installed. Audio no longer worked so I reinstalled drivers and set system def back to Mac 5.1 and all seems to be well.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
i5-4570 3.2GHz
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Updated using the Apple Store update. It took a surprisingly long time (15-20 minutes), but booted up like a champ. I didn't have to reinstall any kexts, re-enable TRIM, or anything.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,681
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well... my Hackintosh auto downloaded and tried to update to 10.12.2 on restart. It encountered a kernel panic. I booted from my 10.12.1 backup and changed the system definition to iMac 14.2. I rebooted and the update installed. Audio no longer worked so I reinstalled drivers and set system def back to Mac 5.1 and all seems to be well.

Use iMac 13,2 instead. Mac Pro 5,1 is incorrect for you're hardware so is iMac 14,2.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
Mini Deluxe GA-Z77N WiFi
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Use iMac 13,2 instead. Mac Pro 5,1 is incorrect for you're hardware so is iMac 14,2.

I failed to mention the reason I am using Mac Pro 5,1 so I can overclock the CPU.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,681
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I failed to mention the reason I am using Mac Pro 5,1 so I can overclock the CPU.

You can still overclock using iMac 13,2 by patching the SSDT. Overclocking with OS X, macOS is pointless anyway.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA‑Z170XP‑SLI
CPU
i7‑6700K
Graphics
RX 460/560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
so i finally got everything to work, but for some odd reason why system still shows the Intel HD350 as the main video card, also I have all kinds of wild glitches on the tabs. I could fix it in El Cap, but Sierra the ID code change didn't work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top