macOS 10.12.1 Update

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by tonymacx86, Oct 24, 2016.

  1. airfighter

    airfighter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4440
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Nvidia GTX760
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 14, 2016 at 9:53 AM #311
    airfighter

    airfighter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4440
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Nvidia GTX760
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Just updated to 10.12.1 from App Store.

    Ask me to update the Nvidia Web drivers. Did it...everything runs fine!
     
  2. dualpol

    dualpol

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Nov 15, 2016 at 9:33 PM #312
    dualpol

    dualpol

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Updated via app store. Booted, installed nvidia web drivers, rebooted. Now, video cuts out at the login screen. I can see everything load up until then, but then nothing. I can remotely log in via SSH and VNC and see that everything's working, but nothing on my monitor! The NVIDIA drivers are updated, installed, and loading as far as I can tell. Help!

    Update: Switched my smbios profile from mac pro 6,2 to iMac 14,1 and that solved the problem with the NVIDIA web driver.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
  3. bilbo123

    bilbo123

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Nov 16, 2016 at 6:32 AM #313
    bilbo123

    bilbo123

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    The reason that it now works is because of AppleGraphicsControl.kext in S/L/E. Your mac pro 6,2 was not listed at all but
    iMac 14,1 was by default in kext. So others like myself whose BoardID is not listed have to edit this kext and add our BoardID(iMac etc) so we won't get a black screen when booting into Sierra.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
  4. irish_man

    irish_man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    MSI G41M-P33 Combo
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5450 @3.00Ghz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1536 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 16, 2016 at 6:58 PM #314
    irish_man

    irish_man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    MSI G41M-P33 Combo
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5450 @3.00Ghz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1536 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ok, I'm a bit confused. When i check AppStore for updates there are no any.
    Now we all running macOS 10.12.1 (16B2555) but what about this update???
    Can we install it?? Have anyone installed it yet? I download it but haven't installed it yet.
    I guess its a Touch Bar support update. You guys will know better.
    macOS 10.12.1 (Build 16B2657)
     
  5. bilbo123

    bilbo123

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Nov 17, 2016 at 12:14 AM #315
    bilbo123

    bilbo123

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Yes and Yes. But do a backup first just in case. Nvidia has updated their drivers for 16B2657.
    Once you update you can then go to https://github.com/bikkelbroeders/TouchBarDemoApp/releases and try out Touch Bar
    on your Mac.
     
    irish_man likes this.
  6. Twa

    Twa

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-PLUS
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K 3.5GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 O.C
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 19, 2016 at 10:59 AM #316
    Twa

    Twa

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-PLUS
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K 3.5GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 O.C
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I just update from Build 16B2555 to 16B2657 today, no problem, one thing change i see is password tab in Safari Setting
     
  7. movingincirc

    movingincirc

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Nov 22, 2016 at 5:11 PM #317
    movingincirc

    movingincirc

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    I tried updating to 10.12.1, but installation got stuck for 4 hours and I decided to reboot. now it's kernel panicking on boot. anyone know how to repair the installation?
     
  8. Andrea123456

    Andrea123456

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Asus Z87 Deluxe
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7870
    Nov 22, 2016 at 7:01 PM #318
    Andrea123456

    Andrea123456

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Asus Z87 Deluxe
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7870
    Updated my Asus Z87 Deluxe with i7 4770K. Everything ok instead of sound, i used MultiBeast and everything is working. Thank you very much.
     
  9. gurucc

    gurucc

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Nov 23, 2016 at 4:46 AM #319
    gurucc

    gurucc

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Hi All,

    I Upgraded yesterday and after fixing the wifi issues as mentioned on Page 15, everything seemed to be working properly until this morning when I started getting 'Disk not ejected properly' messages on a regular basis for all of my USB connected disks (4x external drives) - help!
    I have a Gigabyte g1. Sniper M5:
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4482#ov

    And am not really sure where to start troubleshooting! - any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. fannar182

    fannar182

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170 Designare
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700 4.0GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS Strix GEFORCE® GTX 980
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 14, 2016 at 10:53 AM #320
    fannar182

    fannar182

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170 Designare
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700 4.0GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS Strix GEFORCE® GTX 980
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I got everything working in 10.12.1.. Thunderbolt, Wifi, Graphic card but the one thing that isn't working are the USB 3 ports at the back. Could you guys help me solving that problem so I can connect my external drives where I store all of my work projects?
     

Share This Page