Contribute
Register

MacMan's Build: ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - i9-9900K - Vega 64 - Updated for 10.14.6 and NVRAM Support

Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-Pro Gaming
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
RX 570 8GB, UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Seriously I'm about to chuck this whole thing out the window. I picked this build because it looked like it would all run well, but I haven't even been able to install the OS yet!! I've been at this for DAYS! Anyone have any suggestions for the install freezing with two minutes left?

I did make a guide that's helped @SocialWorker and a few others.


Definitely don't want to create a Hackintosh with an impending deadline. It took me weeks to get mine just right especially with this mobo and Catalina. Do you have the Asus TUF motherboard that this thread is about? I noticed your profile says something else.

Note if you're in a pinch, if you use Unibeast/Clover suggested in the original post in this thread, Mojave will work fine after patching as suggested by MacMan. Make sure you use the Unibeast version that's compatible with Mojave and not the latest version.

You definitely want to put whatever bootloader you're using in verbose mode so you can see where it's freezing on install. The Apple logo with the progress bar isn't enough to know the issue. Most likely it's the iGPU issue if using Catalina or greater.

It should work just fine. I can give you my EFI (provided you are using the same mobo) to save time. However, it still might not work perfectly and that's why I suggest going through whole guide like SocialWorker did. If my EFI doesn't work, please go through guide. Someone said it took about 8 hours. My USB kext will most not likely work as it's configured for my situation. You should use Hackintool or the one suggested by OpenCore guide to configure your USB.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-Pro Gaming
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
RX 570 8GB, UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, can you drop EFI folder for big sur or other OS(please note version), i have same config

@sneale You can take a look too.

Notes:
  • Bootloader: OpenCore 0.6.1 (latest is currently 0.6.2)
  • I've removed my SMBios info like Serial number and stuff for confidentiality and so someone doesn't accidentally screw up my Apple Services. Put yours in or create new ones so you don't screw up iMessage/iCloud stuff.
  • Tested on macOS 10.15.6 (probably will work on x.x.7. I haven't installed it yet but should be fine).
  • When @SocialWorker posts his, he used my guide as a framework, but was able to tweak it for Big Sur.
  • USB configuration will be different. You should use one of the following tools and their related guides:
    • Hackintool
      • Way easier to use and helps you with other stuff. Pretty nifty tool. I use the custom USB kext from here.​
    • USBMap (Python command line tool).
      • I suspect this works slightly better than Hackintool with sleep, but it's harder to use.​
  • If you still have issues:
Let us know how it goes!
 

Attachments

  • EFI-DB-14 - Stable 10.15.6.zip
    2.6 MB · Views: 43
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-Pro Gaming
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
RX 570 8GB, UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I didn't mention the GPU because I didn't have the model at hand when I wrote that message. My computer has a Radeon RX 580 Series. Will read the link you posted to see what find there. thanks

Once you get a new storage unit or figure out the firmware issue, you'll probably run into the iGPU issue, but I think people who have a compatible dGPU which it sounds like you do, you might not run into the iGPU issue. If you do, you can probably just put in a fake ig-platform-id as suggested, and not bother with the rest of the framebuffer stuff. if you think you'll use your iGPU, you'll want to follow the whole guide. I'm curious if your install will work.

Let us know how it goes!
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
Asus Tuf Z390M GAMING PRO
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Hi @toocoolartyr,
Here it is my EFI, I hope that it helps you, follow the guide from @PhantomSlapESQ and his directions...
Good luck

PS: I forgot to remove my SMBiOS, but don't forget to use create a new one...
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    2.5 MB · Views: 40
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I can confirm that Catalina 10.15.7 is working nicely on this motherboard (ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING + i9-9900K) and the Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT NITRO+.

I installed the vanilla way and used @MacMan guide as reference, thank you MacMan.
Also got some valuable info from @PhantomSlapESQ about just installing dedicated graphics (5700) right away and BIOS settings to PEG.

My only problem is that the cursor is jittery when moving over links or adjusting windows size, there is slight jitter or frame skip of the cursor, but this seems to be an issue with all dedicated graphics card, also on real macs. Hopefully someone will find a fix.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-Pro Gaming
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
RX 570 8GB, UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can confirm that Catalina 10.15.7 is working nicely on this motherboard (ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING + i9-9900K) and the Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT NITRO+.

I installed the vanilla way and used @MacMan guide as reference, thank you MacMan.
Also got some valuable info from @PhantomSlapESQ about just installing dedicated graphics (5700) right away and BIOS settings to PEG.

My only problem is that the cursor is jittery when moving over links or adjusting windows size, there is slight jitter or frame skip of the cursor, but this seems to be an issue with all dedicated graphics card, also on real macs. Hopefully someone will find a fix.

Glad my advice helped! I plan on getting a dGPU when prices go down a bit from all this COVID craziness. Let us know if you find a solution to the cursor being jittery.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 PRO Gaming
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
MSI Vega 56
@PhantomSlapESQ @SocialWorker Hey thanks for the recent posts and sharing of OC EFI's I've been on this HW build for over a year now and it's been very solid. I posted a bit earlier in the thread last year.

I updated to Big Sur last week which has gone smooth on OC 0.6.3. I have had a few panics but I have been tinkering with the shikigva value/setting to get my DRM to work so I assume it's my own fault.

Question for either of you.
I have an ATI Vega 56 discrete card and I've not been able to get the right config for hardware DRM to work. I have identical config.plist to you both except I have an additional Device entry in Device Properties for my discrete card. I added the shikigva with a value of 80/Number to the discrete card.
So far I've not needed any additional

I have the iGPU enabled in the BIOS and set to the default memory allocation.
System Type as iMac19,1

See screen shots below for my Device Props, First device is MoBo Audio, Second device is iGPU, Third device is my Vega56

Should I move the shikigva/80 setting to the iGPU Device Properties?

Screen Shot 2020-11-16 at 12.47.48 PM.png

Screen Shot 2020-11-16 at 12.47.56 PM.png

Screen Shot 2020-11-16 at 12.48.06 PM.png
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-Pro Gaming
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
RX 570 8GB, UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Should I move the shikigva/80 setting to the iGPU Device Properties?
Hey @MkVIGTI

I haven't added a discrete card yet though I planned to.

Quick answer to your question is you would not want to put the shikigva/80 with the iGPU if you're trying to get your dGPU to work since they are two distinct devices on your system.

**Edit:** You could try one and then the other as a troubleshooting measure. It looks like it has to be on the iGPU or dGPU. If you think you've correctly identified your dGPU, and put shikigva/80, I would delete that device and then try to put it under the iGPU and test.

My first few troubleshooting questions are:
  1. Have you tried to see the DRM content on a monitor plugged into your iGPU and did it work?
  2. What application are you having trouble with? For example, are you trying to show Netflix in Safari? *Note that the official guide to OpenCore states that the DRM Whatevergreen patches are unsupported in Big Sur.
  3. Have you properly identified the location of your dGPU? This will help you get the right PciRoot values for your dGPU which should be listed as a separate distinct device (as you have it above).
  4. Also, I wouldn't recommend using the GUI as the OpenCore guide says it could put funny stuff in there still. You should use ProperTree which is a little bit more customized for OpenCore or something like XCode.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-PRO GAMING
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well you all,
My motherboard seems to have died. It was running and then I got white screens. Tried to reboot and get a solid white (boot) Qled. I’ve worked through it with ASUS and they’re sending an RMA for me to file and send the MB in for repair. I’m contemplating just buying another MB and sending the other in for repair.
I would appreciate any thoughts on any approach at this point. They’re saying 7-10 days for repair, which leaves me with just my iPad in the mean time. :(
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 PRO Gaming
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
MSI Vega 56
Well you all,
My motherboard seems to have died. It was running and then I got white screens. Tried to reboot and get a solid white (boot) Qled. I’ve worked through it with ASUS and they’re sending an RMA for me to file and send the MB in for repair. I’m contemplating just buying another MB and sending the other in for repair.
I would appreciate any thoughts on any approach at this point. They’re saying 7-10 days for repair, which leaves me with just my iPad in the mean time. :(
I assume you tried removing the CMOS battery and using a jumper to reset the BIOS?
 
Top