Contribute
Register

Mac Pro replacement with higher performance than actual Mac Pro

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there,
I'm Daniel, and I'm totally new to this Mac building thing. I hope to find a way to build a computer running macOS (Sierra at the moment) that's more capable for rendering gigapixel panorama images and virtual tours than my current Mac Pro (Xeon 6-core 3.5GHz with 64GB RAM and AMD Fire Pro D700 6144MB) is.
However, when I use the Buyer's guide and choose the highest-performance components listed there, I end up with something that only has a few Mhz more per core, but also only 6 cores and only 64GB of RAM, which costs more than the Mac Pro would give me back if I sell it now. I hoped for something like 12 cores, 128GB RAM and a bit cheaper... Not possible?
However, maybe it doesn't make sense to compare the bare numbers and the configuration I chose would be already much more capable than my Mac Pro? I don't know, I am not into those low-level performance measures of computer hardware.
The software I use makes full use of the CPU cores and should also be able to use the GPU for rendering.
On my Mac Pro, rendering of a really large panorama image can take an entire day or so. I hoped that I can bring down rendering times significantly in some way.

Also, is the same hardware more performant with Windows than with macOS, when it comes to such RAM-intensive tasks? I often have problems with the 64GB of my Mac Pro being not enough and macOS stops programs because the system is running out of RAM. Panorama photographers using Windows and the same software (Kolor Autopano Giga / Panotour Pro) report that they don't have such problems with 64GB of RAM. Swapping seems to work better under Windows.

Thanks for any good advice! I am kinda clueless currently, not sure at all, if it makes sense to replace that Mac Pro and if yes, with what. ;-)

Daniel