Contribute
Register

Mac Pro 6,1 System Definition Working !!!

Joined
Nov 10, 2011
Messages
364
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UD5
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Have 10.9.2

This worked for me with 10.9.2 installed on the X79 UD5



Used below settings in smbios.plist:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Copyright</key>
<string>SMBios by 7ender @ InMac.org Created with Champlist.app</string>
<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MP61.88Z.0116.B04.1312061508</string>
<key>SMboardproduct</key>
<string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
<key>SMcputype</key>
<string>1281</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>MacPro</string>
<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string>4400</string>
<key>SMmemtype</key>
<string>DDR3</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro6,1</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string>XXXXXXXXXXX</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Get the new mac pro pic included and everything.

Cheers!!

-G
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
154
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
CPU
i7-3930k 3.8ghz
Graphics
Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
It helps enable power management for x79 c60x boards. for other sockets i'm not sure.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MP61.88Z.0116.B04.1312061508</string>
<key>SMboardproduct</key>
<string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>Mac Pro</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro6,1</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string>xxxxxx</string>
<key>SMoemcputype</key>
<string>2561</string>
<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string>3800</string>
</dict>
</plist>
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
148
Motherboard
Asus X299 A 32Gb Ram
CPU
i9 -7920X
Graphics
ATI RX 580 Sapphire Pulse
Mac
iMac
I had updated to a 6,1 Definition once before, but i noticed my system started to lockup with regards to graphics. this was on 10.9.1, also i have the notorious 560Ti fermi, running the fix patch. there was a special 10.9.1 update that came specifically for the late 2013 mac pro that i remember cause this issue after using that update,

i wonder if u encountered any such issuse now with 10.9.2, and when u say enabling power management, are u referring to the sleep and wake fuctions? or cpu specific?

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
154
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
CPU
i7-3930k 3.8ghz
Graphics
Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had updated to a 6,1 Definition once before, but i noticed my system started to lockup with regards to graphics. this was on 10.9.1, also i have the notorious 560Ti fermi, running the fix patch. there was a special 10.9.1 update that came specifically for the late 2013 mac pro that i remember cause this issue after using that update,

i wonder if u encountered any such issuse now with 10.9.2, and when u say enabling power management, are u referring to the sleep and wake fuctions? or cpu specific?

Thanks
I had the same problem on 10.9.1 running system def 6,1 but I never did the specific 2013 update for the mac pro. I had problems where flash, quicktime, java were freezing on me.
On 10.9.2 all issues have been resolved for me.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
148
Motherboard
Asus X299 A 32Gb Ram
CPU
i9 -7920X
Graphics
ATI RX 580 Sapphire Pulse
Mac
iMac
I had the same problem on 10.9.1 running system def 6,1 but I never did the specific 2013 update for the mac pro. I had problems where flash, quicktime, java were freezing on me.
On 10.9.2 all issues have been resolved for me.

Thanks farcry84, yes i just updated to 6,1 seems to be working fine :) but couldn't boot with generate states =no and drop ssdt = yes do u have those flags while booting?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
154
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
CPU
i7-3930k 3.8ghz
Graphics
Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
<key>DSDT</key>
<string>/Extra/DSDT.aml</string>
<key>Default Partition</key>
<string>hd(0,2)</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000 nvda_drv=1</string>
<key>SSDT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>SystemType</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>iHack</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>

i'm also using a generated ssdt for power management. piker alpha has the file on his site. so far i'm getting 12,22,27,32,33,34,35,36,37,38 for my multipliers. while not perfect its a start.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
It helps enable power management for x79 c60x boards. for other sockets i'm not sure.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MP61.88Z.0116.B04.1312061508</string>
<key>SMboardproduct</key>
<string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>Mac Pro</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro6,1</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string>xxxxxx</string>
<key>SMoemcputype</key>
<string>2561</string>
<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string>3800</string>
</dict>
</plist>
Have you removed nullcpupowermanagement.kext? I installed that when I ran multibeast, and my CPU jumps back and forth between 1.2Ghz and 3.5 Ghz. If I remove nullcpupowermanagement.kext will speedstepping work? Everything seems to be working fine as far as sleep/wake/audio/ethernet with my system.

Here is my org.chameleon.boot.plist:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
	<string>No</string>
	<key>IGPEnabler</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>mach_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
        <string>npci=0x3000 PCIRootUID=1</string>
	<key>Legacy Logo</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
        <key>Instant Menu</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>GenerateCStates</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>GeneratePStates</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>UseKernelCache</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>Graphics Mode</key>
        <string>"1920x1080x32"</string>
</dict>
</plist>
and my smbios.plist:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>SMfamily</key>
	<string>MacPro</string>
	<key>SMproductname</key>
	<string>MacPro6,1</string>
	<key>SMboardproduct</key>
	<string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
        <key>SMcputype</key>
        <string>1281</string>
	<key>SMserial</key>
	<string>XXXXXXXXXXXX</string>
	<key>SMbiosversion</key>
	<string>MultiBeast.tonymacx86.com</string>
</dict>
</plist>
running System definition 6,1 with GA-X79-UP4, 3930k @ 3.5 Ghz, OS 10.9.2, EVGA GTX 770 2Gb. Is there anything I should add or change to these to optimize my system? Also, how do I get the CPU to run at 3.8Ghz?

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
154
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
CPU
i7-3930k 3.8ghz
Graphics
Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-help/127574-guide-asus-x79-os-x-controlled-speedstep.html

check out shilohhs guide to getting PM working. and yes I did remove nullcpupowermanagement.kext
although some other sites i was reading were saying that Gigabyte boards might be stuck for some reason at x12 and x32. can always post on shilohhs thread and he might be able to assist you farther. can always google: DMG Officially Updated For Power Management and follow the link there. good info on that site for x79 systems
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-help/127574-guide-asus-x79-os-x-controlled-speedstep.html

check out shilohhs guide to getting PM working. and yes I did remove nullcpupowermanagement.kext
although some other sites i was reading were saying that Gigabyte boards might be stuck for some reason at x12 and x32. can always post on shilohhs thread and he might be able to assist you farther. can always google: DMG Officially Updated For Power Management and follow the link there. good info on that site for x79 systems
Thanks! I'll check that guide out!
 
Top