Mac Pro 6,1 System Definition Working !!!

Discussion in 'Mavericks Desktop Guides' started by gabrieljsmith1, Mar 1, 2014.

  1. gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 1, 2014 at 4:14 AM #1
    gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Have 10.9.2

    This worked for me with 10.9.2 installed on the X79 UD5



    Used below settings in smbios.plist:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>Copyright</key>
    <string>SMBios by 7ender @ InMac.org Created with Champlist.app</string>
    <key>SMbiosvendor</key>
    <string>Apple Inc.</string>
    <key>SMbiosversion</key>
    <string>MP61.88Z.0116.B04.1312061508</string>
    <key>SMboardproduct</key>
    <string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
    <key>SMcputype</key>
    <string>1281</string>
    <key>SMfamily</key>
    <string>MacPro</string>
    <key>SMmaximalclock</key>
    <string>4400</string>
    <key>SMmemtype</key>
    <string>DDR3</string>
    <key>SMproductname</key>
    <string>MacPro6,1</string>
    <key>SMserial</key>
    <string>XXXXXXXXXXX</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>

    Get the new mac pro pic included and everything.

    Cheers!!

    -G
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2014-02-28 at 5.25.31 PM.png  (89.5 KB, 3,066 views)
  2. davidianis

    davidianis

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Mavericks 10.9.1
    CPU:
    i5-3570 4X 3.40GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 760 Twin Frozr Gaming 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 10, 2014 at 12:45 PM #2
    davidianis

    davidianis

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Mavericks 10.9.1
    CPU:
    i5-3570 4X 3.40GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 760 Twin Frozr Gaming 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    What are the advantages of this definition?
     
  3. farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 10, 2014 at 1:19 PM #3
    farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It helps enable power management for x79 c60x boards. for other sockets i'm not sure.

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>SMbiosvendor</key>
    <string>Apple Inc.</string>
    <key>SMbiosversion</key>
    <string>MP61.88Z.0116.B04.1312061508</string>
    <key>SMboardproduct</key>
    <string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
    <key>SMfamily</key>
    <string>Mac Pro</string>
    <key>SMproductname</key>
    <string>MacPro6,1</string>
    <key>SMserial</key>
    <string>xxxxxx</string>
    <key>SMoemcputype</key>
    <string>2561</string>
    <key>SMmaximalclock</key>
    <string>3800</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
     
  4. perfecto245

    perfecto245

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus X79 Pro 32Gb Ram
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 740
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mar 13, 2014 at 11:02 AM #4
    perfecto245

    perfecto245

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus X79 Pro 32Gb Ram
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 740
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    I had updated to a 6,1 Definition once before, but i noticed my system started to lockup with regards to graphics. this was on 10.9.1, also i have the notorious 560Ti fermi, running the fix patch. there was a special 10.9.1 update that came specifically for the late 2013 mac pro that i remember cause this issue after using that update,

    i wonder if u encountered any such issuse now with 10.9.2, and when u say enabling power management, are u referring to the sleep and wake fuctions? or cpu specific?

    Thanks
     
  5. farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 13, 2014 at 12:25 PM #5
    farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I had the same problem on 10.9.1 running system def 6,1 but I never did the specific 2013 update for the mac pro. I had problems where flash, quicktime, java were freezing on me.
    On 10.9.2 all issues have been resolved for me.
     
  6. perfecto245

    perfecto245

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus X79 Pro 32Gb Ram
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 740
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mar 13, 2014 at 2:43 PM #6
    perfecto245

    perfecto245

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus X79 Pro 32Gb Ram
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 740
    Mac:
    Mac Pro

    Thanks farcry84, yes i just updated to 6,1 seems to be working fine :) but couldn't boot with generate states =no and drop ssdt = yes do u have those flags while booting?
     
  7. farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 13, 2014 at 3:13 PM #7
    farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    <key>DSDT</key>
    <string>/Extra/DSDT.aml</string>
    <key>Default Partition</key>
    <string>hd(0,2)</string>
    <key>Kernel</key>
    <string>mach_kernel</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>npci=0x2000 nvda_drv=1</string>
    <key>SSDT</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>SystemType</key>
    <string>1</string>
    <key>Theme</key>
    <string>iHack</string>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <string>2</string>
    <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    <string>Yes</string>

    i'm also using a generated ssdt for power management. piker alpha has the file on his site. so far i'm getting 12,22,27,32,33,34,35,36,37,38 for my multipliers. while not perfect its a start.
     
  8. CouchKing

    CouchKing

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
    Mar 14, 2014 at 9:22 PM #8
    CouchKing

    CouchKing

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
    Have you removed nullcpupowermanagement.kext? I installed that when I ran multibeast, and my CPU jumps back and forth between 1.2Ghz and 3.5 Ghz. If I remove nullcpupowermanagement.kext will speedstepping work? Everything seems to be working fine as far as sleep/wake/audio/ethernet with my system.

    Here is my org.chameleon.boot.plist:

    Code (Text):
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
        <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
        <string>No</string>
        <key>IGPEnabler</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>Kernel</key>
        <string>mach_kernel</string>
        <key>Kernel Flags</key>
            <string>npci=0x3000 PCIRootUID=1</string>
        <key>Legacy Logo</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
            <key>Instant Menu</key>
            <string>Yes</string>
            <key>GenerateCStates</key>
            <string>Yes</string>
            <key>GeneratePStates</key>
            <string>Yes</string>
            <key>UseKernelCache</key>
            <string>Yes</string>
            <key>Graphics Mode</key>
            <string>"1920x1080x32"</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>


     
    and my smbios.plist:

    Code (Text):

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
        <key>SMfamily</key>
        <string>MacPro</string>
        <key>SMproductname</key>
        <string>MacPro6,1</string>
        <key>SMboardproduct</key>
        <string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
            <key>SMcputype</key>
            <string>1281</string>
        <key>SMserial</key>
        <string>XXXXXXXXXXXX</string>
        <key>SMbiosversion</key>
        <string>MultiBeast.tonymacx86.com</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>


     
    running System definition 6,1 with GA-X79-UP4, 3930k @ 3.5 Ghz, OS 10.9.2, EVGA GTX 770 2Gb. Is there anything I should add or change to these to optimize my system? Also, how do I get the CPU to run at 3.8Ghz?

    Thanks
     
  9. farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 14, 2014 at 10:02 PM #9
    farcry84

    farcry84

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV gene Bios 4802 OSX 10.10.5
    CPU:
    i7-3930k 3.8ghz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX 670 GC 2gb Heaven BM 979
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-help/127574-guide-asus-x79-os-x-controlled-speedstep.html

    check out shilohhs guide to getting PM working. and yes I did remove nullcpupowermanagement.kext
    although some other sites i was reading were saying that Gigabyte boards might be stuck for some reason at x12 and x32. can always post on shilohhs thread and he might be able to assist you farther. can always google: DMG Officially Updated For Power Management and follow the link there. good info on that site for x79 systems
     
  10. CouchKing

    CouchKing

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
    Mar 14, 2014 at 10:51 PM #10
    CouchKing

    CouchKing

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
    CPU:
    i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
    Thanks! I'll check that guide out!
     

Share This Page