Mac osx cannot be installed on this computer???

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Laptop Support' started by itnorfolk, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. itnorfolk

    itnorfolk

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Acer
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
    Oct 26, 2012 at 11:28 PM #1
    itnorfolk

    itnorfolk

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Acer
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
    Hey guys.

    ive installed using iboot 3.2 and snow leopard 10.6.2

    i had to type pcirootuid=1 to even get to the installer screen but then a popup came up saying mac osx cannot be installed on this computer....

    any ideas??
     
  2. Einsteiniac

    Einsteiniac

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-A
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GTX Titan X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 26, 2012 at 11:32 PM #2
    Einsteiniac

    Einsteiniac

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-A
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GTX Titan X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Where did you get the 10.6.2 installer from? If it came from a real mac as part of its install set it will only let you install on a Mac of that generation. Meaning your SMBIOS needs to reflect that machine.
     
  3. itnorfolk

    itnorfolk

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Acer
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
    Oct 26, 2012 at 11:47 PM #3
    itnorfolk

    itnorfolk

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Acer
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
  4. Einsteiniac

    Einsteiniac

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-A
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GTX Titan X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 26, 2012 at 11:55 PM #4
    Einsteiniac

    Einsteiniac

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-A
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GTX Titan X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes easiest way is with an app called chameleon wizard. Just create a SMBios of that exact iMac and have it save the file to the desktop. Then replace the smbios file that is on your flash installer and you should be fine. Now I am not sure if that will cause other side effects but its easy to try.
     
  5. itnorfolk

    itnorfolk

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Acer
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
    Oct 27, 2012 at 12:31 AM #5
    itnorfolk

    itnorfolk

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Acer
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
    Hey,

    I've had a look at the chameleon app, but cannot see how to use it.

    I only have access to either a windows 7 laptop, or an ipad 3.

    If I read correctly the wizard only runs on macs? Also any ideas how I would know the exact mac as the seller is based in the USA and has several for sale, is it as simple as selecting imac?

    the spec from the ebay advert is :

    Also, I'm using iboot 3.2 from a CD then once booted, removing the CD, replacing with OSX installer disc.... What a headache lol.... I need to do a bit more research and see if I can make iboot a usb stick then at least that would sort that out lol...

    I have a retail dvd (dmg) file that says it burns sucessfully but fails verification each time :(

    I always thought I was pretty clued up with IT but this stretches me lol :)
     
  6. Einsteiniac

    Einsteiniac

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-A
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GTX Titan X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 27, 2012 at 12:39 AM #6
    Einsteiniac

    Einsteiniac

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Mobo:
    Asus X99-A
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GTX Titan X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That set is form iMac 11,1

    You can also just look for a smbios from 11,1 iMac.
     

Share This Page