Contribute
Register

Mac OS X Compatibility for the Clevo W670SZQ (System76 Kudu Professional)

Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
It's been a while since I've worked with a hackint0sh, I've been pretty throughly ensconsed within my ubuntu system. But there are limitations, so I was wondering if anyone would be able to put together a newb(ish) set of instructions on how to load mavericks on the Kudu Pro. I'm sure many people would be appreciative and would love to boot between ubuntu and osx rather than dual boot with windows. From this post it seems more involved than say an HP ProBook install.

thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
1,865
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
It's actually not bad at all. But I'm actually selling this on ebay at the moment, but I'll write a guide!
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I would love a guide, I have a kudu pro and though I like ubuntu enough, I think I'd be over the moon to run osx on it. I like its spacious screen, full sized keyboard, etc., and could never afford to shell out the same amount for a apple machine. I also like the removable battery and ability to get at the insides which apple really limits.

I appreciate any time and effort you could put into this!!!
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
93
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron i7348/Clover
CPU
i7 5500u
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 @ 1920x1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello, Koalaman...

Were you able to get the card reader on this Clevo notebook working?

I have another Clevo notebook with the same card reader and am having a hard time finding a kext that works.

Would appreciate any help.

Thanks!
 
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
95
Motherboard
Bangho Max 1524 (Clover)
CPU
i7-3632qm/HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000/1366x768
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
hi
i'm interested too in clevo models

i own a Bangho (which is a argentinean assembled clevo) mine is similar to W550EU, with hm76 express chipset
realtek 5289 card reader
via vt1802 HD audio codec
hd4000 graphics

i have graphics working and sound with dsdt edited and applehda patched but i can't get sound in hdmi output, anyone resolved this?

thanks

bye
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
hi
i'm interested too in clevo models

i own a Bangho (which is a argentinean assembled clevo) mine is similar to W550EU, with hm76 express chipset
realtek 5289 card reader
via vt1802 HD audio codec
hd4000 graphics

i have graphics working and sound with dsdt edited and applehda patched but i can't get sound in hdmi output, anyone resolved this?

thanks

bye
For HDMI audio, you need patched framebuffer (in your case, AppleIntelFramebufferCapri) and DSDT patches to inject hda-gfx="onboard-1" on HDEF and IGPU objects.

This is the one we use on the ProBook:
Code:
perl -pi -e 's|\x04\x00\x00\x81.{107}\x04\x00\x66\x01.{108}|\x08\x00\x00\x06\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x02\x00\x11\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x66\x01\x01\x02\x04\x02\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x00\x01\x00\x00\x00\x40\x10\x07\x00\x00\x10\x07\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x05\x03\x00\x00\x02\x00\x00\x00\x30\x02\x00\x00\x02\x05\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x07\x04\x00\x00\x03\x04\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x81\x00\x00\x00\x04\x06\x00\x00\x00\x08\x00\x00\x06\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x02\x00\x11\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00|' AppleIntelFramebufferCapri
 
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
95
Motherboard
Bangho Max 1524 (Clover)
CPU
i7-3632qm/HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000/1366x768
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
and how can i apply this patch?

or i just have to find de appleintelframebuffercapri for via vt1802?

i dont understand what is the code you posted for?

sorry and thank you very much
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
and how can i apply this patch?

or i just have to find de appleintelframebuffercapri for via vt1802?

i dont understand what is the code you posted for?

sorry and thank you very much
You could patch it as such:
Code:
mkdir ~/Desktop/Backups
cp -R /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext ~/Desktop/Backups
mkdir ~/Desktop/Patched
cp -R /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext ~/Desktop/Patched
cd ~/Desktop/Patched/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext/Contents/MacOS
perl -pi -e 's|\x04\x00\x00\x81.{107}\x04\x00\x66\x01.{108}|\x08\x00\x00\x06\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x02\x00\x11\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x66\x01\x01\x02\x04\x02\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x00\x01\x00\x00\x00\x40\x10\x07\x00\x00\x10\x07\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x05\x03\x00\x00\x02\x00\x00\x00\x30\x02\x00\x00\x02\x05\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x07\x04\x00\x00\x03\x04\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x81\x00\x00\x00\x04\x06\x00\x00\x00\x08\x00\x00\x06\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x02\x00\x11\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00|' AppleIntelFramebufferCapri
Now you have a patched version of the kext in ~/Desktop/Patched and a backup of the original in ~/Desktop/Backups. Install the patched one via Kext Wizard, repair permissions & rebuild cache, reboot.

Don't forget about the DSDT patches (although maybe you already have them).
 
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
95
Motherboard
Bangho Max 1524 (Clover)
CPU
i7-3632qm/HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000/1366x768
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
You could patch it as such:
Code:
mkdir ~/Desktop/Backups
cp -R /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext ~/Desktop/Backups
mkdir ~/Desktop/Patched
cp -R /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext ~/Desktop/Patched
cd ~/Desktop/Patched/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext/Contents/MacOS
perl -pi -e 's|\x04\x00\x00\x81.{107}\x04\x00\x66\x01.{108}|\x08\x00\x00\x06\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x02\x00\x11\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x66\x01\x01\x02\x04\x02\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x00\x01\x00\x00\x00\x40\x10\x07\x00\x00\x10\x07\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x05\x03\x00\x00\x02\x00\x00\x00\x30\x02\x00\x00\x02\x05\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x07\x04\x00\x00\x03\x04\x00\x00\x00\x04\x00\x00\x81\x00\x00\x00\x04\x06\x00\x00\x00\x08\x00\x00\x06\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x02\x00\x11\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00|' AppleIntelFramebufferCapri
Now you have a patched version of the kext in ~/Desktop/Patched and a backup of the original in ~/Desktop/Backups. Install the patched one via Kext Wizard, repair permissions & rebuild cache, reboot.

Don't forget about the DSDT patches (although maybe you already have them).
Done
i can test it in a couple of hours

my dsdt does not have IGPU device inserted and no IGPU rename patch applied, should i do that?

i tryed in dsdt duplicate but it unchained a lot of errors

i'll tell you later if it works

thank you
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Done
i can test it in a couple of hours

my dsdt does not have IGPU device inserted and no IGPU rename patch applied, should i do that?

i tryed in dsdt duplicate but it unchained a lot of errors

i'll tell you later if it works

thank you
You will need to inject hda-gfx in both IGPU and HDEF. You could inject on GFX0, but of course, it is better to rename GFX0 to IGPU for better power management.

See here: https://github.com/RehabMan/Laptop-DSDT-Patch

The patch you use depends on your (unspecified) laptop screen resolution.
 
Top