Contribute
Register

Mac OS Mavericks and Dell Inspiron 15R 5520

Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Messages
4
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey Guys,

I have searched the whole forum and have searched much of the internet. But I am still not sure if Mac OS Mavericks will work on my laptop or not.

I have the following rig.
CPU: http://prntscr.com/2d2u59
Motherboard: http://prntscr.com/2d2u8k
Graphic: http://prntscr.com/2d2ubo
HDD: 500 GB
Current OS: Windows 8.1


Time to market: September 2012
Motherboard Chipset: Intel HM67
CPU Series: Intel Core I5 3 3210M (Ivy Bridge)
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Hard Disk: 750GB 5400 Turn, SATA
Drive type: Built-in DVD (support DVD SuperMulti double burn)
Display: 15.6 inches 1366 x768 (16:9)
Graphics Chip: Intel HD Graphics 4000 and AMD Radeon HD 7670M
Audio Chip: Conexant High-Definition CX20561
Wired Network Adapters: Realtek RTL8139/810x Fast Ethernet Adapter
TouchPad: Elantech TouchPad V3
Multimedia Equipment: Integrated Camera



Please can you give me the links to some good tutorials based on this direction ?

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
20
Motherboard
LenovoZ500
CPU
i7-3632QM
Graphics
HD4000+GT635
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hey Guys,
[...]
CPU Series: Intel Core I5 3 3210M (Ivy Bridge)
[...]
Graphics Chip: Intel HD Graphics 4000 and AMD Radeon HD 7670M
Audio Chip: Conexant High-Definition CX20561
Wired Network Adapters: Realtek RTL8139/810x Fast Ethernet Adapter
TouchPad: Elantech TouchPad V3
Multimedia Equipment: Integrated Camera
[...]

CPU, for Power management, see here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/mavericks...nagement-sandy-bridge-ivy-bridge-laptops.html

Graphics: In Bios, disable the AMD. You have to force your PC to use the integrated one only. You shouldn't have problems with HD4000. Probably you will get it to work correctly using
Code:
IGPEnabler=Yes IGPlatformID=01660003

Audio: I don't think it would work OOB. After you have installed Mavericks and if audio is not working, search in the forum. A patched AppleHDA.kext solution is usually better than VoodooHDA.kext.

Ethernet: I don't know. Search in the forum if someone has the same card. Don't use the name, but search by vendor and device id and you will be sure to find someone with your card.

Touchpad: I don't know. Search... I had an Elantech Touchpad in the past and someone was working to a kext.

Camera: probably it is connected via USB, so it should work. But you will be sure only trying.

After that you have to think about:
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Messages
4
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
CPU, for Power management, see here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/mavericks...nagement-sandy-bridge-ivy-bridge-laptops.html

Graphics: In Bios, disable the AMD. You have to force your PC to use the integrated one only. You shouldn't have problems with HD4000. Probably you will get it to work correctly using
Code:
IGPEnabler=Yes IGPlatformID=01660003

Audio: I don't think it would work OOB. After you have installed Mavericks and if audio is not working, search in the forum. A patched AppleHDA.kext solution is usually better than VoodooHDA.kext.

Ethernet: I don't know. Search in the forum if someone has the same card. Don't use the name, but search by vendor and device id and you will be sure to find someone with your card.

Touchpad: I don't know. Search... I had an Elantech Touchpad in the past and someone was working to a kext.

Camera: probably it is connected via USB, so it should work. But you will be sure only trying.

After that you have to think about:


So WiFi won't work after Mavericks is installed on my system ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,169
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is complete survey of the my machine.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nmbc6dgix4urt2k/Report.txt

Thank You for your efforts guys ! :)

Your WiFi seems to be Intel. It is not supported by OS X. You will need to replace it.

- - - Updated - - -

Here is the picture of my network cards used on my laptop. And apologies for asking such a vague question before.

http://prntscr.com/2d35zi

Well, here it is BCM, not Intel. So who knows... Run DPCIManager once in OS X or run 'lspci -nn' in Linux to find out for sure.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5520
CPU
i7-3632QM
Graphics
HD 4000+HD 7670M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
can any one tell me how to config the ethernet connection
 
Top