Mac App Store access with NullEthernet.kext

Discussion in 'Network' started by RehabMan, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 23, 2014 at 9:46 PM #1
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you don't have working "built-in" Ethernet (or your computer has no Ethernet at all) and do not have a supported PCIe WiFi card, then chances are you're using USB WiFi for internet access. The problem, of course, is that you have no access to the Mac App Store in that scenario.

    On a whim, I created NullEthernet.kext to solve this problem. It is a "fake" Ethernet kext that will never actually work. That is, it will not ever provide network access, but it can be made to look "built-in" and solves the issue of Mac App Store access.

    For Source/README/download, see here: https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Null-Ethernet

    It is now confirmed working in at least two laptops where there is no Ethernet port, and the WiFi is unsupported (and not replaceable).

    Update 2014-01-23

    A new build is up. This version can be attached to a PCIe device as well as a fake ACPI device (as in the first version). This allows you to load the driver against an actual non-working PCIe device if that is your scenario. It also avoids a DSDT patch as all customization is done in an injector kext by modifying its Info.plist for your device. The injector/PCIe technique is not relevant in the scenario where you have no Ethernet device at all. For that case, you must use the fake ACPI device. See the README.md for details.

    Update 2016-12-16

    A new build is up. This version can be installed without any tweaks to ACPI, and even without a PCI device to attach to. Simply i install NullEthernetForce.kext along with NullEthernet.kext. Read the README for further details.

    NOT WORKING YET. REMOVED.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2016
  2. adriangb

    adriangb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    ASRock Z77E-ITX
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 3225
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 760 SC
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 24, 2014 at 2:39 AM #2
    adriangb

    adriangb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    ASRock Z77E-ITX
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 3225
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 760 SC
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Cool, would this work for a scenario where the Ethernet is unsupported but a native Airport card is installed?
     
  3. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 24, 2014 at 3:23 AM #3
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It will "work" in that scenario, but I don't think you need it in that case. I know there have been people to get MAS working with only a supported PCIe WiFi card. Could have been smbios related, however, as those cases were laptop hacks with MacBookAir smbios, and the MacBookAir does not have a Ethernet port either.

    You can always give it a try...
     
  4. adriangb

    adriangb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    ASRock Z77E-ITX
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 3225
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 760 SC
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 24, 2014 at 3:48 AM #4
    adriangb

    adriangb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    ASRock Z77E-ITX
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 3225
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 760 SC
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Yeah I think that's what I heard when I was looking into it, however I have a Desktop and would rather not use the MBA smbios. Right now my WiFi card stopped working for some reason, still trying to figure it out, when I have I'll give it a whirl.
     
  5. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 24, 2014 at 7:29 AM #5
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Uploaded a new build. Details are in post #1 and the README.md at github.
     
  6. spiritboy46

    spiritboy46

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    My_first_build
    CPU:
    intel core i5 4670k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 3gb FTW
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 26, 2014 at 1:59 PM #6
    spiritboy46

    spiritboy46

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    My_first_build
    CPU:
    intel core i5 4670k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 3gb FTW
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    hi I can access the mac app store and i also have working wifi etc. However the problem i am getting is that i am unable to download any programs from the app store. Is there any way to fix this problem. It says device could not be verified please contact support". Would this be the same problem? If not could you please point me in the right direction. Many Thanks. Ps im also a newbie and this is my first build.
     
  7. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 26, 2014 at 2:29 PM #7
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Make sure you create a random MAC address (see MAC method in DSDT patch). And also, have you generated a random serial # for your smbios?
     
  8. cascorro

    cascorro

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    AsRock H81M-HDS --> Intel i3-4130 Haswell
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    Asus Nvidia GT610
    Mar 3, 2014 at 5:25 PM #8
    cascorro

    cascorro

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    AsRock H81M-HDS --> Intel i3-4130 Haswell
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    Asus Nvidia GT610
    I got this...
    Last login: Mon Mar 3 16:43:51 on console
    Mac-Pro-de-Jose:~ josemanuel$ ifconfig
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
    inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
    inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
    nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    ether 10:fe:ed:15:90:1b
    inet6 fe80::12fe:edff:fe15:901b%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
    inet 192.168.1.132 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
    nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
    media: autoselect
    status: active
     
  9. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 3, 2014 at 6:09 PM #9
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146,140
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm not sure I understand the point of your post. That looks like output with a valid Ethernet driver working (NullEthernet will never provide an IP address that is not self-assigned...)
     
  10. cascorro

    cascorro

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    AsRock H81M-HDS --> Intel i3-4130 Haswell
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    Asus Nvidia GT610
    Mar 3, 2014 at 6:43 PM #10
    cascorro

    cascorro

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    AsRock H81M-HDS --> Intel i3-4130 Haswell
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    Asus Nvidia GT610

Share This Page