Contribute
Register

Lost my USB boot drive. Audio and video is broken

Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Formula
CPU
Intel i5-4670K
Graphics
Gainward GTX 770 2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi everyone.

I had to use my USB boot drive for Mavericks for something else, so I thought I'd copy the thing to my hard-drive and paste it back. This broke my boot drive. So I installed High Sierra on the boot-drive using Clover and UniBeast as prescribed on this website, and although I can noiw still boot into Mavericks, the audio is gone and the resolution and video is broken as well (I can't change the reolution to much else than the lowest setting).

I tried reinstalling the kexts I used on my initial installation of Mavericks back in 2014 but this proved unsuccesful.

So I suppose Mavericks is installed on my hard-drive but reinstalling the kexts did not work.

Any suggestions? I'd prefer to keep my Mavericks OS without having to move to a new system.


EDIT: It's worth noting that the version of OS X I use is 10.9.3
 
Last edited:

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
22,158
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Each time that you update Clover a copy of your entire /EFI folder is saved to the system disk in /EFI-Backups, you may be able to restore a backup from there.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
15,175
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I tried reinstalling the kexts I used on my initial installation of Mavericks back in 2014 but this proved unsuccesful.
Did you use Chimera or the Clover bootloader when you installed Mavericks ?
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Formula
CPU
Intel i5-4670K
Graphics
Gainward GTX 770 2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you use Chimera or the Clover bootloader when you installed Mavericks ?
I must've used Chimera. I used the installation guide for Mavericks on this forum for reference.

I'll look into the EFI-Backups thing


EDIT: Looking at the "About This Mac" window, I configured it to show I had a Mac Pro, but now it shows I have an iMac (with a Tiger wallpaper on it) and the Graphics shows I have an NVIDIA Chip Model 5 MB instead of the GTX770 which is installed in the computer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Formula
CPU
Intel i5-4670K
Graphics
Gainward GTX 770 2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Mavericks button in Clover says "Boot into OS X from macOS" ...

Why can't I fix my Mavericks OS if I can boot into it? What is going on here?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
15,175
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Why can't I fix my Mavericks OS if I can boot into it? What is going on here?
Try running Multibeast for Mavericks and make the same selections as you did initially for the Mavericks install. It's perfectly fine to keep using Chimera as the bootloader for Mavericks. I still do on an older Sandy Bridge desktop that boots legacy. It's 100% stable and reliable.
 
Last edited:
Top