Contribute
Register

List of Confirmed Radeon HD 7xxx Series (10.8.3+)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Messages
14
Motherboard
Asus RoG Maximus VI Gene
CPU
Intel i5 4670k
Graphics
Sapphire R9 290
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
are you saying that it always runs at full speed? I know that sounds like a retarded question, perhaps it is, but I did not realize if thats the case. this would mean that the fans would be 100%, 100% of the time power is on... ? w/ pro tools that would be a serious issue - unusable

Oh no, no, that's definitely not what I mean :)
In normal operation on the Mac this card is very quiet, and the card fans are very low. In fact well below 20%, but in my case - it's still far louder than any other component of my machine. I've got the new Corsair RM series power supply - that thing doesn't even bother to kick in with its fan, the CPU is watercooled with an H80i, and the fans are whisper quiet... and then there is the R9

Here is a Tom's Hardware test of what the different cards sound like on full load (includes your chosen Toxic), just watch the videos:
http://www.tomshardware.de/amd-radeon-r9-280x-roundup-test,testberichte-241401-6.html

Don't be fooled into thinking that they will sound like this all the time, or at all in your particular machine, this is a lab test. Nonetheless all things being relative, here you can compare under the same circumstances different cards. Personally I think that HIS and Asus are closely followed by MSI (before BIOS update) or Club3D.

The load on the card is how much demand for the processing there is, if the card has to go high, it will also get very hot very quickly. I'd say at around 70Celsius you'll be hitting 40% of the card fan speed, which is already pretty loud, at 80 degrees it would probably go to 50%, and you don't really want your card to go above 85, so there would be an exponential increase of speed above that temperature and with that, noise.
 

ATB

Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
488
Motherboard
4930K + G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB
CPU
same as above
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX770 4GB 04G-P4-3774-KR
sweet link - ty

Youre right Toxic is loud, on the other hand HIS R9 280X IceQ X2 Turbo is quiet at full load... nice
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 760 + HD 4000
Hi.I have problems getting XFX 7850 to work with more than 2 displays in Mavericks(official release),I have used 3 monitors on 10.8.3 without a problem connected to the 7850 and 1 connected to the iGPU-Intel HD4000 (total of 4 displays).Now in Mavericks I can run 7850 as primary during the installation and after the installation with no problems ,but with only 2 displays,if I connect 3 displays my PC freeze and I have to restart it.I just edited 2 kexts and install them with Kextbeast ,as I did in 10.8.3.,but in 10.8.3 I connected there 3 displays without problems.If I use GraphicsEnabler=Yes , I get Memory allocation error..My problem is I want to connect all of my displays to the 7850 without my PC freezing.If there is a solution I will be very grateful.Thank you and have a nice day.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
GA X58-UD3R, 12GB DDR3
CPU
i7 920 @ 3.15
Graphics
2x Sapphire 7950 CF
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Everything working but very sluggish performance with my amd Radeon 7950...please help me resolve the choppy performance

I have the same problem. Performance is very poor with two Sapphire 7950s in crossfire. QE/CI seem fine but Luxmark and Unigine are shocking.

Did you get anywhere with your 7950?

I am running GE=yes and AtiConfig=Hamachi.

Gareth
 

Attachments

  • Unigine.jpg
    Unigine.jpg
    73.6 KB · Views: 141
  • LuxMark_v2.1beta2.jpg
    LuxMark_v2.1beta2.jpg
    37.8 KB · Views: 152
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
34
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Radeom Tahiti LE 7870 in Mavericks?

Can anyone with the powercolor Tahiti 7870 card listed on the first page confirm that it works in Mavericks? If so, does it lose performance after sleep, as some others do?

It's finally time to upgrade from the intel 4000, and that seems to be the best bang/buck out there even now.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UD4H
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X Ghz Ed.
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi!

Sorry, if this is a stupid question, but couldn't find the answer...

Running a Sapphire 7970 Ghz Ed., Ga-z77x-Ud4h.

Now clean install of 10.9.

Getting the boot 0 gibberish.

My plan is now - after forum research - to install Chameleon on an little partition as a bootloader.

My concern is that i have run Multibeast 6.0 already what installed Chimera on the system.

Do i have to uninstall Chimera somehow before i do this Chameleon trick?

Just worried to break down the running system.

Thanks for help!
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
332
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 F10
CPU
i5 2500K
Graphics
Sapphire 7950 3GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi!

Sorry, if this is a stupid question, but couldn't find the answer...

Running a Sapphire 7970 Ghz Ed., Ga-z77x-Ud4h.

Now clean install of 10.9.

Getting the boot 0 gibberish.

My plan is now - after forum research - to install Chameleon on an little partition as a bootloader.

My concern is that i have run Multibeast 6.0 already what installed Chimera on the system.

Do i have to uninstall Chimera somehow before i do this Chameleon trick?

Just worried to break down the running system.

Thanks for help!
Try running Chameleon Wizard first, under the Install Method choose what is most similar to your build whether it's one hdd or multiple hdds. See if that works.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UD4H
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X Ghz Ed.
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thx! I created a 1 GB (the smallest possible) FAT-partition, ran Chameleon Wiz 4.2.3 and used boot0hfs.

and actually the gibberish is gone!!

But i wonder, do i really need the FAT-Partition? The Chamel. Wiz showed as Target Partition the bigger HFS.

So far, the Sapphire HD 7970 Ghz is running....

EDIT:

the App Store is not working anymore :cry:
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
332
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 F10
CPU
i5 2500K
Graphics
Sapphire 7950 3GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thx! I created a 1 GB (the smallest possible) FAT-partition, ran Chameleon Wiz 4.2.3 and used boot0hfs.

and actually the gibberish is gone!!

But i wonder, do i really need the FAT-Partition? The Chamel. Wiz showed as Target Partition the bigger HFS.

So far, the Sapphire HD 7970 Ghz is running....

EDIT:

the App Store is not working anymore :cry:
Yeah, I don't think the partition is necessary.

Check your boot.plist and see if this is there:

Code:
[COLOR=#3B3128][FONT=Arial]<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#3B3128][FONT=Arial]<string>Yes</string>
[/FONT][/COLOR]
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UD4H
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X Ghz Ed.
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Actually, it seems to be necessary! I deleted the partition and I got the Boot0 gibberish again!

Repartitioned again and *zap* booting without error! Whatever....

App store is up and working again, didn't change anything. Whatever... ;-)

Thanks for help!

Need to run some tests now to check the performance. The GPU is just acknowledged as HD 7xxx 3072 MB

Is there a way to let Mavericks fully acknowledge the "HD 7970"?

Cheers!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top