Contribute
Register

[LIST] CPU Upgrades!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
457
Motherboard
gigabyte x299x designare 10g
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 8 GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is a list of cpu's you can upgrade to. It's great if your tired of that old slow cpu & if you have a price range :confused:

Here is a great link that gives you a run down
This is the socket type in the probook 4530s :arrow: Socket G2 (rPGA988B)

Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM (2.20 GHz, 6 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM (2.00 GHz, 6 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i7-2620M (2.70 GHz, 4 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i5-2540M (2.60 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i5-2520M (2.50 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i5-2450M (2.50 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i5-2430M (2.40 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i5-2410M (2.30 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i3-2370M (2.40 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i3-2350M (2.30 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i3-2330M (2.20 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Core™ i3-2310M (2.10 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Pentium® B960 (2.20 GHz, 2 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Celeron® B840 (1.90 GHz, 2 MB L3 cache)
Intel® Celeron® B810 (1.60 GHz, 2 MB L3 cache)
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
DQ77KB
CPU
i7-3770s
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I havent heard of anyone using the 2670QM yet... i run the 2630QM and works fine though.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2011
Messages
1,455
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI F4
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
BigDonkey said:
Last three processors don't use supported GPU HD3000.

Here's another list for reference, including OEM embedded Sandy Bridge processors:

i3 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_In ... itecture_2

i5 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_In ... itecture_2

i7 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_In ... itecture_2

Yes, they are using Intel HD Graphics, which is more or less Intel HD 2000 (unsupported). Maybe they can be used as a CPU only, but without any supported graphics (and currently the only supported for this laptop series is HD 3000) there's no point to use them (at least to use them with OSX).
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2012
Messages
213
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
so is the gpu built into the processor or is it on the board? Eg., can I buy a 4430s with a celeron b810, then buy an i5 and it will support osx? Or do I need to buy a laptop that came with an i5 initially?
 
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
99
Motherboard
Lenovo Ideapad Flex 15 (Clover)
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7- 4500U/Haswell-ULT
Graphics
Intel HD4400 (Integrated) 1920x1080
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
thank you for this post it makes upgrading easier
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2012
Messages
213
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
solidslash said:
willpower101 said:
so is the gpu built into the processor or is it on the board? Eg., can I buy a 4430s with a celeron b810, then buy an i5 and it will support osx? Or do I need to buy a laptop that came with an i5 initially?

No, the gpu is a part of the cpu. You need to get a laptop with at least i3.

^ that sentence contradicts itself given the context (replying to me).

If the gpu is part of the cpu. Then it seems I can upgrade the b810 to a compatible cpu and it will be compatible. I'm going to go ahead and try. This 4430s I found is 200 bucks. Add in a $60 i3 and that's super cheap.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
1,137
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530s
CPU
i5-2410m
Graphics
HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
willpower101 said:
solidslash said:
willpower101 said:
so is the gpu built into the processor or is it on the board? Eg., can I buy a 4430s with a celeron b810, then buy an i5 and it will support osx? Or do I need to buy a laptop that came with an i5 initially?

No, the gpu is a part of the cpu. You need to get a laptop with at least i3.

^ that sentence contradicts itself given the context (replying to me).

If the gpu is part of the cpu. Then it seems I can upgrade the b810 to a compatible cpu and it will be compatible. I'm going to go ahead and try. This 4430s I found is 200 bucks. Add in a $60 i3 and that's super cheap.

The statement is correct, the GPU is part of the new CPU'S In theory if you can combine that laptop and processor you will have a working probook with hd3000
 
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
99
Motherboard
Lenovo Ideapad Flex 15 (Clover)
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7- 4500U/Haswell-ULT
Graphics
Intel HD4400 (Integrated) 1920x1080
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Please be advised all those who attempt to upgrade their processor, appararently not using processors from HP directly will yield you undesired results and they very well be unsupported.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top