Contribute
Register

Lion on GA-X79-UD5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-EX58-UD5
CPU
i7 970
Graphics
GV-R587SO-1GD
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have successfully installed LION on Gigabyte X79-UD5 (Bios: F8). :D

Configuration:
CPU: i7 3820 LGA 2011
RAM: Kingston 1333 2GBX2
MB: Gigabyte GA-X79-UD5 (BIOS: F8)
VGA: Gigabye GV-R587SO-1GD (ATI HD5870 1GB)

System:
Boot Loader: Cimera 1.7.0
Extra: FakeSMC.kext and NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
smbios.plist: iMac12,1
boot.plist: npci=0x3000 <--- This is a Must
DSDT: null

Compatibility:
Chip Set: Unknown AHCI Standard Controller (OK)
LAN / Intel 85279: need AppleIntelE1000e.kext (OK)
Audio / ALC898: need VoodooHDA.2.7.2-10.6 (OK from green jack)
USB 2.0: Work out of box (OK)
VGA: Work out of box with QE/CI (OK)
1394 / VIA6308P: X
USB 3.0 / Preco: X

Hope in short future there is a patched DSDT to remove NullCPUPowerManagement.kext.
IMG_0008.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0008.jpg
    IMG_0008.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 2,271
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
2600K
Graphics
XFX HD6870
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for sharing :)
Any news about PowerManagement?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Lion
CPU
Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme
Graphics
Ati 5770
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Please help us a minimal DSDT for this motherbord
GA-X79 UD 5 bios ver. F8
Any one can do this?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
232
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS
CPU
E5-2697 V3
Graphics
GTX 760
Do you get an instant reboot when you don't use NulLCPUPowerMangagement.kext?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Lion
CPU
Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme
Graphics
Ati 5770
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I can try this i will remove NulLCPUPowerMangagement and let you know the result .
thanks for your tip!
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Lion
CPU
Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme
Graphics
Ati 5770
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes i test it with no NullCpu kext and it restart in loop
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
272
Motherboard
MacPro 5,1
CPU
X5660
Graphics
Radeon 280X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Same here, instant reboot...
I've managed to extract the DSDT fom my F9 bios.
Did some general fixes to it, and compiled it with 0 errors/0 warnings / 310 Optimalisations.
Basicly, I'm able to start without LegacyRTC, EvOReboot, ... (say the EasyBeast kexts)

Now on the Powermanagement side... I'm still a virgin... :p So still need the NullCPUPM.
Audio is also a big "?", because I can't find anything on the Realtec 898.

Ethernet uses the AppleIntelE1000 kext, but thinking to try the SmallTree drivers (as they also use IntelPro chips).

Hope some more experienced people join this thread.
 

Attachments

  • GA-X79-UD5_F9_patched.aml
    31.8 KB · Views: 335
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Lion
CPU
Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme
Graphics
Ati 5770
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks i am going to try your dsdt and keep update this topic
Hope someone there will send us help!
Cheers!
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Lion
CPU
Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme
Graphics
Ati 5770
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well what can i say i just install your DSDT and it works great :cool:
i can shut down my computer :lol:
amazing job !!! well done :headbang:
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
272
Motherboard
MacPro 5,1
CPU
X5660
Graphics
Radeon 280X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's wonderfull, but still a lot to do. :p
I'm not sure where to go from here... to get native CPUPM. o_O
I'm reading a lot about SSDT's for now.
Perhaps I need to ask for help @ Taruga for the audio...

Has anybody had success getting the USB3 to work?

Also on a sidenote: I've put my ATI 6870 in for testing, because the Quadro4000 for Mac is a pain in the ass with this board. Default it loads UEFI compatible ROMs; so every time when I reset the bios, no display... because it tries to load the Mac EFI BIOS from the video card. You don't have this with regular PC cards.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top