Contribute
Register

Lion on Acer Aspire V3-771G

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-DS3H
CPU
i5 3400
Graphics
ATI 6700
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've been running OSX on my desktop for about 2 years. I've been running Lion on my desktop without any issues now for about 6 months and can't wait for Mountain Lion. I recently bought an Acer Aspire V3-771G and would love to run Lion (and hopefully Mountain Lion when it comes out). Here are the specs for the laptop

Intel i7 3610QM
HD4000 Graphics
NVDIA GT650M
6GB Memory
750GB HD

I have had great success with all the great guides and support forums on this site, however, this laptop is a bit of a challenge. From what I have read, there is no native support on Lion for the HD4000 or the Ivy Bridge, but did come across the Ivy Bridge guide here but no success.

I've created the USB (32GB) boot drive as per the Unibeast guide. I've also applied Bridgehelper 5.0 as per the Ivy bridge guide. The first problem I ran into was that I could not get the USB drive to get past the initial boot screen. Using the -v flag reviled that it was hanging on the NVDIA graphics card. This was solved by using the GraphicsEnabler=no & PCIRootUID=0 flags.

After getting past the first issue, I ran into a second issue. The loader start, but would hang at "Still waiting for root device" the message would appear several times. I was able to get past this point by adding the cpus=1 flag.

This is what the entire boot flag looks like:

GraphicsEnabler=no cpus=1 PCIRootUID=0 -v

I am now at a roadblock where it hangs at "DSMOS has arrived" well, it actually gets past this point and it spews out the following line:

AtherosL1cEthernet: Ethernet address e9:32:f5:ac:df:99

This is where it hangs. I've let it sit for about an hour but doesn't get past this point.

I did some reading on the forums and someone suggested recreating the USB boot drive. I did recreate it (using another USB drive) followed the procedures but still arrived at the same road block! :banghead:

See the attached screenshot

One thing that I see that causes concern is this line:

WARNING: IOPlatformPluginUtil : getCPUIDInfo: this is an unknown CPU model 0x3a

Could this be causing my issues? If so, anyone have any suggestions?

I am not too concerned about the GT 650M video card, it uses the NVIDIA Optimus which from what I understand it is different from the auto switching technology Apple uses in there laptops. If I can just get OSX loaded and working with the HD4000, I'll be happy. I really don't care if the wireless works because I will buy a USB WIFI card that works.

Thanks in advance!
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-07-04 at 7.58.31 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-07-04 at 7.58.31 PM.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 1,867
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Eurocom Panther 3.0
CPU
i7 980
Graphics
485M GTX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iBook
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think it's your CPU...Apple often locks out Intel CPU flavors they don't use.

Ivy Bridge is such a recent addition to the lineup of actual Mac's that you'll need a kernel enabled for it. That kernel is about two weeks old, coming from the new models at WWDC 2012. It wasn't included in 'vanilla flavored' Mac OS X 10.7.4.

TonyMac has a BridgeHelper 5.0 package that can or might do the trick, bringing in the kernel and some helper KEXTs from the just-released MacBook Air / MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) models. That should get you booting, if you install it on another device, on say a USB HD and then clone it over with Disk Utility. You could also prepare a say 8GB/16GB USB Flash with the Lion Installer on it, then try applying the BridgeHelper to that.

http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2012/06/bridgehelper-50-native-ivy-bridge.html

It won't fully enable the Intel HD4000 though, yet, it will bring it up without 3D Acceleration (QE/CI) but with proper resolution, etc.

I would think, since some of the MacBook Air/MacBook Pro 13-inch models use only HD4000, there might be a chance we'll see QE/CI at some future point. It's very early still. At least we're not in the pickle Intel HD 5700 users are, with a chip that is similar to ones used in Macs, but in a different arrangement...that has made supporting those much harder.

I'll be trying my laptop (I think we're the exact same model of Acer Aspire) on Lion shortly, if I learn anything additional it will be posted here.

EDIT: Since you've already applied the IvyBridge to your install disc, take a diffrent approach. Try installing Lion onto the install USB stick as a full-blown Lion install (which you can then just Carbon Copy Cloner, whatever, over to the actual desired install disk). The Lion Install DVD, and anything derived from it, stashes kernels in odd places like root system DMG files and may not have been properly helped by the BridgeHelper package.

My Apologies for not reading your initial post more closely!
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey,

I'm using the same notebook but with slightly different specs:

Acer Aspire V3-771:

Intel Core i5 3210M @ 2.5 GHz
8GB DDR3 Memory
GeForce GT 650M with 2GB DDR3 Memory


I tried many different combinations of boot flags but I wasn't able to boot into the installation DVD like you.
I hope that someone will be able to fix this problem in near future :)

I think we can just wait now.... :beachball:

Bye,
Milka2009
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Eurocom Panther 3.0
CPU
i7 980
Graphics
485M GTX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iBook
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Update, some progress made

<--->

EDIT: It now boots up. It was all my fault...I had tried cloning the first time to a partition that was too small, then tried again to a larger partition, neglecting to re-erase attempt number one.

Thus I had created two partitions with the same, or at least ambiguous, UUIDs which was confusing the boot-by-UUID algorithm in OS X royally. Now both Mountain lion and Lion boot up nice and fast, although I'm still working on QE/CI...enabling it blacks out the screen, as many other Intel HD 4000-on-laptop people seem to be noticing. I always have believed that triggering a different error is better than not making a change, so here goes for more tinkering!

<--->

Hi gents,

Here's where I am with my Aspire V3.

I was able to get Lion 10.7.4 onto the HD, by a slightly roundabout method.

I used a disk-cloning Linux called Clonezilla to clone my freshly installed, not-yet-booted Lion Partition off my MacBook Pro into a file, then carried that file over on a flash drive and re-expanded it. Being something of a Linux nut I did this all by command line but it could just as easily be done in GUI with for example "Clonezilla Live" off (Clonezilla live), which is a great tool for Windows/Mac OS X/Linux OS backup.

So yeah, certainly not the most straighforward method. Reliable, though.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-DS3H
CPU
i5 3400
Graphics
ATI 6700
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone had luck with this laptop? I am able to get Mountain Lion installed following the Unbeast method, but after the install I can only get it to boot when using the -x flag. This brings it into single boot mode and the mouse doesn't work. I fumbled my way through doing multibeast without using a mouse, and was able successfully run it. After applying Multibeast, all I get is kernel panics when it reboots.

Does anyone have any specific kexts I should be using with this laptop? Any help is really appreciated! Need this laptop for school which is starting soon. :(

I will try again all this weekend to see if I can get it going, I'll share my successes and failures.

If you got it to work, let me know how you did it, if not, how far did you get?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Eurocom Panther 3.0
CPU
i7 980
Graphics
485M GTX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iBook
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone had luck with this laptop? I am able to get Mountain Lion installed following the Unbeast method, but after the install I can only get it to boot when using the -x flag. This brings it into single boot mode and the mouse doesn't work. I fumbled my way through doing multibeast without using a mouse, and was able successfully run it. After applying Multibeast, all I get is kernel panics when it reboots.

Does anyone have any specific kexts I should be using with this laptop? Any help is really appreciated! Need this laptop for school which is starting soon. :(

I will try again all this weekend to see if I can get it going, I'll share my successes and failures.

If you got it to work, let me know how you did it, if not, how far did you get?

Thanks!

jsalzer,

I sympathize! I went through college on OSX86. I'll see what I can do to at least post what I know tonight, and you can make your own call.

What I know you'll need to get started:

*EITHER a "Real Mac" or another Hack that can install Mountain Lion or Lion, whichever you're gunning for..
*OR a way to implant a Lion kernel that already understands Ivy Bridge onto a Install USB
*OR a way to build a Mountain Lion Install USB that has all the needed KEXTs (basically at least FakeSMC and NullCPUPowerManagement).
(Another machine wouldn't hurt, I often carried over my downloaded EFI strings, Chameleon/Chimera pkgs, etc. on a USB drive.)

My state of the Acer Aspire V3:

I've successfully booted both Mountain Lion (10.8.0) and Lion (10.7.4+BridgeHelper5.0.0) on this unit. I got Mountain Lion to do QE/CI pretty well (Lion also but it was shakier there, truth be told). I had to edit a couple Info.plist files in IntelCapriFrambuffer.kext and IntelHD4000FrameBuffer.kext (to ensure the MEIDevice wouldn't take over too soon and to fix IOGraphicsFamily and IONDRVSupport dependencies that weren't jiving)

In Mountain Lion there were every-other-line white streaks down the stretched display. Vertical was fine, I could see top to bottom. Horizontal was off, the right hand side was in cyberspace somewhere.

All other behaviors were normal. I had sound, LAN with AtherosL1CEthernet.kext.

If I booted with graphics KEXTs moved into a folder to the side, I could function quite well un-accelerated. I could get full resolution by dropping in a EFI string that merged the NVIDIA and the Intel graphics, somehow that brings up the right resolution, and even some partial QE (not 3D, but it 'seems smoother'.

With the Mountain Lion and Intel HD 4000, I could see maybe the upper right 2/3 of the display, run YouTube (in HD) off the Intel HD4000, etc. Somethings' bugged out on the EDID (even Linux sees a partial, corrupted one) or the driver can't understand how to reach 1600x900 right. It's one or the other. Tools like SwitchResX (I transferred my license to this unit, and started tinkering) help, but only adding about 15%.

I don't yet know if MacMan's very recent Chimera 1.11.1 might help, I've not tried it...but I will very shortly. A needs-to-be deleted KEXT is in my way.

A guide to how I got where I got will come later tonight (I'm US Timezone, I'll bang it out of my keyboard here shortly). Perhaps one of the other "ig-platform-id" values (I had success with several, combined with other new magic, brings the display up right. Time will tell.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
Acer Aspire V3-771G
CPU
Core-i5
Graphics
GeForce GT 630M 2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
If you try to install Lion os, it wont brick the laptop, right? As in, you can reinstall windows 7 on it?

I have a similar build of aspire, but core i-5, 500GB HDD, Nvidia GT630.

Aspire V3-771G
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Eurocom Panther 3.0
CPU
i7 980
Graphics
485M GTX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iBook
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you try to install Lion os, it wont brick the laptop, right? As in, you can reinstall windows 7 on it?

I have a similar build of aspire, but core i-5, 500GB HDD, Nvidia GT630.

Aspire V3-771G

It's as safe as any other non-Windows OS (although more road-tested ones like Linux/BSD have slightly better heat management)...but do burn restore the Acer discs before you start since you might have to repartition your drive!

Now...
As promised earlier, below is a synopsis of my reinstall method.

I used X-Flash from www.osx86.net (very similar to UniBeast, more barebones, you can bring your own extra KEXTs, DSDT, etc.) I took an 8 GB flash drive and made a Mountain Lion install stick.

I added the following to the X-Flash prepared drive; the same could be done to a UniBeast USB though!

1) My DSDT, I will post that soon, source code, since using someone else's compiled DSDT verbatim can be a bad move. Extract yours and compare. The bulk of my edits are at the top, adding objects to get it to compile...many or all of them are commented.
2) FakeSMC.kext, latest revision off of www.projectosx.com (crucial).
3) PS2 KEXTs for internal keyboard and trackpad...any flavor works here.
4) NullCPUPowerManagement.kext to beat the CPU lockup problems.
5) AtherosL1cEthernet.kext to have LAN right away. You'll have to add 0x10831969 to the PCIPrimaryMatch in the Info.plist for the card to work. The driver is fine...but our card needs added to its list.

Those will all be in Extra when you reboot, too, at least for X-Flash.

What I got is a basic 1024x768 desktop. Functional. Clean. Not quite the final product. You can use EFI strings or DSDT edits to implant 0x01660003 as the ig-platform-id to get started on Quartz Extreme. Fisrt, move all GeForce and NVDA anything KEXTs out of "System/Library/Extensions" (they have a role in the blank screen problems)... If all you need is full resolution, use 0x01660008.

Getting the EFI thing correct may lead to a screen scrambling problem as I desribed earlier, if it enables QE or it won't, if it fails to enable.

I'm going to post an attachment bundle tomorrow morning, they're not here on my Android tablet...

Keep plugging away...we can enable Acceleration...now we just need to unscramble the pixels!

--aez2007
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3
CPU
I7-970
Graphics
ATI 5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a similar build of aspire, but core i-5, 500GB HDD, Nvidia GT630.
Aspire V3-771G
I have the same laptop too i will definitely give a try to aez2007 method and report back.

aez2007 could you provide me any link/information of how to make my own dsdt file on widows?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Eurocom Panther 3.0
CPU
i7 980
Graphics
485M GTX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iBook
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the same laptop too i will definitely give a try to aez2007 method and report back.

aez2007 could you provide me any link/information of how to make my own dsdt file on widows?

Sorry, work's been crazy so I'm slow to get back to camp here...my status is much the same, stable and non-scrambled QE/CI is still the grail which I seek,but based on other models and their posts, it seems maybe the DSDT-DualLink thing that helped HD3000 and even GMAX3100 users of Intel Cards of previous generations may play a helpful role. I'm digging into it and will report back.

For what it's worth, about 95% of the time only GAME in Windows, not edit any code, so most of my Hackintosh 'first aid' happens in Debian Linux, Arch Linux or Fedora Linux. Anyway, my point is, I had to look up how to get a DSDT extracted in Windows. Here's Intel's tools for that...since they created ACPI and thus DSDT, these should work. They're the same codebase OS X and Linux draw from, just tuned for a different OS.

https://www.acpica.org/downloads/binary_tools.php

At that point, you basically just need a decent text editor or better yet, one that is DSDT-aware, like DSDTEditor, also found on www.osx86.net among many other OSX86 sites.

Attachment time!

*My "DSDT.dsl" in source code form, the full shebang of what I'm now running.
*A UNIX patchs-style "diff" which you can apply with "patch -p0 </path/to/patch1.patch"
USE GUIDE-->First, duplicate your decomplied dsdt.dsl (probably best to start with your extracted one and rename one human-readable text file to dsdt_working.dsl ). Furthermore, if your hardware varies, e.g. the i5, NV GF 630M version, this patch may not work un-edited, it may only guide your way. The UNIX patch utility expects an exact match.)

At the very least, the .patch file will show you, in a boiled down way, what I changed, making your own changes much easier to make. I had to add about 150 objects of various kinds to the global declarations (not uncommon at all, Windows OSes couldn't care, so neither do OEM hardware makers, about DSDT quality).

As soon as I get a bead on a useful EFI string, that'll be documented here too...

Happy Hackintoshing!
 

Attachments

  • dsdt_edits.zip
    86.9 KB · Views: 283
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top