Contribute
Register

Lion Installer Hanging on 4530s

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
22
CPU
Intel Core i3-7100U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello all,

I apologize if I am overlooking something silly, but I have yet to be able to get the Lion installer to load on my 4530s. I previously owned one and sold it, but missed it so badly that I purchased another used one on to hackintosh.

I have reset the BIOS to default settings and updated it from F.40 to F.41, and have tried several different boot flags to try and reach the installer, but have been unsuccessful so far.

The boot flags I have tried are:
-v
-x
-f
GraphicsEnabler=no (even though the HD3000 should be supported natively?)
PCIRootUID=1


The attached screenshot shows where the installer hangs. (MAC Framework successfully initialized using 16384 buffer headers and 10240 cluster ID buffer headers) At least according to what I can see, it doesn't look like there are any errors/failure messages on the screen, and I don't remember having any trouble at all getting OS X to install on my previous ProBook 4530s. Again, I apologize if I am overlooking something silly; I appreciate everyone's help!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20131030_120436.jpg
    IMG_20131030_120436.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 221

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello all,

I apologize if I am overlooking something silly, but I have yet to be able to get the Lion installer to load on my 4530s. I previously owned one and sold it, but missed it so badly that I purchased another used one on to hackintosh.

I have reset the BIOS to default settings and updated it from F.40 to F.41, and have tried several different boot flags to try and reach the installer, but have been unsuccessful so far.

The boot flags I have tried are:
-v
-x
-f
GraphicsEnabler=no (even though the HD3000 should be supported natively?)
PCIRootUID=1


The attached screenshot shows where the installer hangs. (MAC Framework successfully initialized using 16384 buffer headers and 10240 cluster ID buffer headers) At least according to what I can see, it doesn't look like there are any errors/failure messages on the screen, and I don't remember having any trouble at all getting OS X to install on my previous ProBook 4530s. Again, I apologize if I am overlooking something silly; I appreciate everyone's help!

What CPU is in this 4530s?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It is a Core i3 2330M.

Does this laptop have Radeon? If so, remember to disable it in BIOS. Also, I assume this laptop has the standard screen (1366x768).

Note: It is not necessary to use any boot flags with the 4530s.

Make sure you used the latest Unibeast to create your USB...
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
22
CPU
Intel Core i3-7100U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Does this laptop have Radeon? If so, remember to disable it in BIOS. Also, I assume this laptop has the standard screen (1366x768).

Note: It is not necessary to use any boot flags with the 4530s.

Make sure you used the latest Unibeast to create your USB...

The computer does not have Radeon and it does have the standard screen. I didn't think I had to use any boot flags on my last 4530s, but figured it was worth a try to get into the installer. If I recall correctly, the last 4530s had a 2310M processor, not a 2330M though. If I boot with no flags, it just sits on the apple screen with the spinning progress wheel until I manually power it off.

I believe I used the latest version of Unibeast to create the USB, but I will re-create it when I get home from work just to be safe.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The computer does not have Radeon and it does have the standard screen. I didn't think I had to use any boot flags on my last 4530s, but figured it was worth a try to get into the installer. If I recall correctly, the last 4530s had a 2310M processor, not a 2330M though. If I boot with no flags, it just sits on the apple screen with the spinning progress wheel until I manually power it off.

I believe I used the latest version of Unibeast to create the USB, but I will re-create it when I get home from work just to be safe.

Hopefully you didn't end up with a 4530s with a ES or QS CPU.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
22
CPU
Intel Core i3-7100U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hopefully you didn't end up with a 4530s with a ES or QS CPU.

I am attaching another picture I took of the System Information from the BIOS. It shows a Core i3 2330M, but is it possible for that to display wrong for any reason, like if the previous owner put a different processor in it? Or did HP release some ProBooks with ES and QS CPUs? That would be frustrating if that's the case...

Just for craps and giggles, I downgraded the RAM from the 16 GB I had in it to the 4 GB that it came with, and it still hangs at the same point on bootup.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20131030_164422.jpg
    IMG_20131030_164422.jpg
    989.5 KB · Views: 264

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am attaching another picture I took of the System Information from the BIOS. It shows a Core i3 2330M, but is it possible for that to display wrong for any reason, like if the previous owner put a different processor in it? Or did HP release some ProBooks with ES and QS CPUs? That would be frustrating if that's the case...

I don't think it would show there. The only way to verify would be physical inspection, or perhaps in CPU-Z on Windows.

HP did not release ProBooks with ES/QS chips, but some people upgrade their machine from Celeron's with ES/QS chips from ebay. Works for Windows but not for OS X.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
22
CPU
Intel Core i3-7100U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I don't think it would show there. The only way to verify would be physical inspection, or perhaps in CPU-Z on Windows.

HP did not release ProBooks with ES/QS chips, but some people upgrade their machine from Celeron's with ES/QS chips from ebay. Works for Windows but not for OS X.

According to the CPU-Z screenshot that is attached, it is, in fact a Core i3 2330M processor.

Any other suggestions?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
According to the CPU-Z screenshot that is attached, it is, in fact a Core i3 2330M processor.

Any other suggestions?

No QS or ES designations?

Try plugging in an external monitor. It has to be something to do with the screen... Or a bad USB installer...

And that screen in post #1... that is when booting the Unibeast USB?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top