LG UltraFine 5K Build

Discussion in 'General Hardware Discussion' started by nickv2002, Nov 21, 2016.

  1. janmansilver

    janmansilver

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Apr 19, 2017 at 1:24 PM #91
    janmansilver

    janmansilver

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Hi so your 5k monitor also works with a single displayport stream coming from your Nvidia card into the dp input and then output though the thunderbolt cable? I was considering the alpine ridge card as it can handle dual 1.2 streams, as I thought this was necessary for getting the 5k resolution on the Ultrafine monitor?
     
  2. anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 19, 2017 at 11:21 PM #92
    anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi, janmansilver.
    Yes, I connected the output from the video card Nvidia to the input of the DP connector of the motherboard via the DP-cable 1.3.
    Then from the motherboard's connector through a single thunderbolt, I connected the LG UltraFine.
    But since DP-cabel 1.3 has a screen resolution limit of 3840x2160 @ 60Hz, the monitor is also limited by this resolution.
    I assume that if I replace my DP-cable 1.3 with version 1.4 and put another video card, for example Nvidia GTX 1060, then I can get a resolution of 5K.
    P.S. I order cable dp 1.4 here and when it comes to me, I can answer more accurately.

    I do not know, but I think that 5K resolution can be obtained in the way that I described above.
     
  3. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 20, 2017 at 8:39 AM #93
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @anatoliy.kant: I don't think this will work. DisplayPort 1.3 is sufficient for 5K resolution through a single cable, the problem is that TB3 just doesn't support DP1.3, it can only drive a 5K screen by combining two DP1.2 streams. The mainboard would need to convert the DP1.3 stream into two DP1.2 streams, but I don't think that it's able to do so.
     
  4. janmansilver

    janmansilver

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Apr 20, 2017 at 10:31 AM #94
    janmansilver

    janmansilver

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Hi my thoughts: Thunderbolt 3 only supports DP 1.2, so it requires dual DP outs from the graphics and dual DP inputs in order to combine these to two split 1.2 DP streams. So I've purchased the alpine ridge card from Gigabyte, and will report back.

    Actually having two 1.2 DP streams is actually a good idea as this in the only way to support 30bit color at 5k, because DP 1.3 and 1.4 only supports 24bit at 5k.
     
  5. anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 21, 2017 at 12:46 AM #95
    anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Fl0r!an:
    Maybe you're right.
    But in any case, I already order this cable and as soon as it comes I will be able to refute or deny your words.

    Yes you are right. This is really so.

     

    Attached Files:

    • Снимок экрана 2017-04-21 в 2.45.09.png  (117.9 KB, 152 views)
    • Снимок экрана 2017-04-21 в 2.44.58.png  (191.1 KB, 145 views)
  6. VisualStim

    VisualStim

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Apr 21, 2017 at 5:01 AM #96
    VisualStim

    VisualStim

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Never mind, I found it

     
  7. jsfullr

    jsfullr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 23, 2017 at 3:27 AM #97
    jsfullr

    jsfullr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Has anyone been able to get the 5K display to work correctly at full 5k resolution in any configuration in Sierra?

    This adapter looks like it could be the key I just don't have an Ultrafine to test with

    StarTech.com Thunderbolt 3 to Dual DisplayPort Adapter – 4K 60Hz – Windows Only Compatible – USB C Adapter – DP Adapter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ANR4CYE/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
     
  8. Wolfie81

    Wolfie81

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    509
    Mobo:
    Wolfies BeQuiet
    CPU:
    6700k + Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 780 Classified x2
    Mac:
    iMac
    Apr 23, 2017 at 6:02 AM #98
    Wolfie81

    Wolfie81

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    509
    Mobo:
    Wolfies BeQuiet
    CPU:
    6700k + Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 780 Classified x2
    Mac:
    iMac
    That won't work, as its TB3 to Displayport. You want it the other way around
     
  9. jsfullr

    jsfullr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 23, 2017 at 3:25 PM #99
    jsfullr

    jsfullr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ahh I see, that's unfortunate
     

Share This Page