Contribute
Register

Let's talk about Broadwell's uknown(?) GPU hang/KP issue...

Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
911
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android
As requested by RehabMan, I'm making this thread so we can hopefully find a solution about a strange Broadwell graphics issue.
So, I have an HP laptop (full specs in profile), which seems it will never have it's graphics working under OS X/macOS. Before you reply to this thread, no, it's not the typical DVMT pre-allocated memory issue that you will find on all laptops since Broadwell. This problem only exists on some laptops and I can't figure out what's causing it. So, if you happen to have one of these "weird" Broadwell laptops, you will face a strange hang and sometimes, KP, if you try to inject the graphics with a valid ig-platform-id. If you remove the kext that provides acceleration, AppleIntelBDWGraphics.kext, NOT AppleIntelBDWGraphicsFramebuffer.kext, then your laptop will boot fine with correct display detection, VRAM info, backlight control etc...
Here I have some links about the same issue found on several laptops:

http://forum.osxlatitude.com/index.php?/topic/9547-intel-hd-5500-lenovo-ideapad-305/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/msi-gs60-2qe-ghost-pro-hd5600-qe-ci-7mb-problem-10-11-3.188626/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/solved-msi-ge62-with-i7-5700hq-cpu-and-hd5600-graphic-card-no-qi-ce.189728/

http://forum.osxlatitude.com/index.php?/topic/9384-hd5500-only-4mb-in-el-capitan-10116/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/lenovo-g51-70-i3-5005u-and-hd5500.228588/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/igpu-scheduler-throttle-cap-100ms-stuck.229635/

And here are my own:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/321918-intel-hd-graphics-5500-a-very-strange-issue/?hl=+hd++5500#entry2470136

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/strange-kernel-panic-after-injecting-hd-5500.212197/

I attach my CLOVER folder and some verbose pictures showing three different KP's and a "hang". As you can see, it doesn't always throw a KP, sometimes it's just a hang on the [IGPU] messages. In other words, the KP/hang varies.

Notes:
1. I don't really have to remove AppleIntelBDWGraphics.kext to boot. I can just boot in safe mode to eliminate the kext from loading.
2. I have tested all DVMT pre-allocated and DVMT-size options.

I hope I describe the problem clearly.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
As requested by RehabMan, I'm making this thread so we can hopefully find a solution about a strange Broadwell graphics issue.
So, I have an HP laptop (full specs in profile), which seems it will never have it's graphics working under OS X/macOS. Before you reply to this thread, no, it's not the typical DVMT pre-allocated memory issue that you will find on all laptops since Broadwell. This problem only exists on some laptops and I can't figure out what's causing it. So, if you happen to have one of these "weird" Broadwell laptops, you will face a strange hang and sometimes, KP, if you try to inject the graphics with a valid ig-platform-id. If you remove the kext that provides acceleration, AppleIntelBDWGraphics.kext, NOT AppleIntelBDWGraphicsFramebuffer.kext, then your laptop will boot fine with correct display detection, VRAM info, backlight control etc...
Here I have some links about the same issue found on several laptops:

http://forum.osxlatitude.com/index.php?/topic/9547-intel-hd-5500-lenovo-ideapad-305/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/msi-gs60-2qe-ghost-pro-hd5600-qe-ci-7mb-problem-10-11-3.188626/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/solved-msi-ge62-with-i7-5700hq-cpu-and-hd5600-graphic-card-no-qi-ce.189728/

http://forum.osxlatitude.com/index.php?/topic/9384-hd5500-only-4mb-in-el-capitan-10116/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/lenovo-g51-70-i3-5005u-and-hd5500.228588/

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/igpu-scheduler-throttle-cap-100ms-stuck.229635/

And here are my own:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/321918-intel-hd-graphics-5500-a-very-strange-issue/?hl=+hd++5500#entry2470136

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/strange-kernel-panic-after-injecting-hd-5500.212197/

I attach my CLOVER folder and some verbose pictures showing three different KP's and a "hang". As you can see, it doesn't always throw a KP, sometimes it's just a hang on the [IGPU] messages. In other words, the KP/hang varies.

Notes:
1. I don't really have to remove AppleIntelBDWGraphics.kext to boot. I can just boot in safe mode to eliminate the kext from loading.
2. I have tested all DVMT pre-allocated and DVMT-size options.

I hope I describe the problem clearly.
The KP seems to be random. Therefore the backtrace data not useful as a way to track down the cause.

Looks like memory corruption.
Are you running patched BIOS (to set DVMT-prealloc/other IGPU settings)?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
911
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android
The KP seems to be random. Therefore the backtrace data not useful as a way to track down the cause.

Looks like memory corruption.
Are you running patched BIOS (to set DVMT-prealloc/other IGPU settings)?
I replaced the memory as I told you in another post. I had a single 8GB RAM stick. I bought another one, tried both slots, each stick in both slots, still nothing. So I don't think it's a memory issue either. My BIOS is the original factory one. I had version F.09, upgraded to F.13 and now F.30 and the problem remains the same. On my BIOS, you can access the advanced settings by holding A after pressing F10. What about the other people having the same problem? (See links). I have a bad feeling that this only happends on the i3 5005U.
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I replaced the memory as I told you in another post. I had a single 8GB RAM stick. I bought another one, tried both slots, each stick in both slots, still nothing. So I don't think it's a memory issue either. My BIOS is the original factory one. I had version F.09, upgraded to F.13 and now F.30 and the problem remains the same. On my BIOS, you can access the advanced settings by holding A after pressing F10. What about the other people having the same problem? (See links). I have a bad feeling that this only happends on the i3 5005U.
I think memory issue related to memory map/ DVMT settings /etc.
Have you tried setting BIOS to default (then patching as necessary for DVMT-prealloc 32mb?)
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
911
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android
I think memory issue related to memory map/ DVMT settings /etc.
Have you tried setting BIOS to default (then patching as necessary for DVMT-prealloc 32mb?)
Yes. That's actually the first thing I tried before messing around with BIOS settings. Still hangs/KPs...
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes. That's actually the first thing I tried before messing around with BIOS settings. Still hangs/KPs...
Try again. Don't forget to re-extract/re-patch ACPI (or... probably best to NOT use patched ACPI during this kind of testing).

And you should also try Clover legacy.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
911
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android
Try again. Don't forget to re-extract/re-patch ACPI (or... probably best to NOT use patched ACPI during this kind of testing).

And you should also try Clover legacy.
With legacy, do I still need OsxAptioFixDrv?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
With legacy, do I still need OsxAptioFixDrv?
Legacy uses efi drivers loaded from drivers64 (instead of drivers64UEFI).
OsxAptioFix* are not options in the legacy Clover installer because they are fixes specific to Clover UEFI.
So... answer is: no.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
911
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android
Legacy uses efi drivers loaded from drivers64 (instead of drivers64UEFI).
OsxAptioFix* are not options in the legacy Clover installer because they are fixes specific to Clover UEFI.
So... answer is: no.
OK. Just tried Clover legacy. Still hangs.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK. Just tried Clover legacy. Still hangs.
Attach "Problem Reporting" files booting Clover legacy (I will verify you actually booted legacy...)
 
Top