Contribute
Register

Lenovo Z370, no display after loading bar on installer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
DH55HC
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
GTX 950 2GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
No details on screen resolution in your profile. Make sure it is added to your profile/signature.
Chipset is 6-series. Make sure that is reflected in your profile/signature.
Also, no information on Clover legacy vs. Clover UEFI...
Sorry again, I've added now. It's Clover Legacy, it's the one recommended for 6-series right? Thanks!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I created the USB installer following the laptop guide but the same occurs, both with and without Intel Injected. I see the Apple logo, the loading bar, it completes loading and then display is turned off.

Attached the CLOVER folder that I created that way.

Remove IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext. Those kexts do no apply to your hardware. Remove the FakeSMC sensor kexts. They are not needed for installation (or even after).

If you suspect a graphics problem, you can use an invalid FakeID (0x12345678). You can change it in Clover options -> Graphics injector.

But it is clear you're not using this config.plist (eg. not booting from the EFI/Clover you attached). That setup would not allow you to boot into install_osx since HFSPlus.efi is missing from drivers64UEFI.
 
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
DH55HC
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
GTX 950 2GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Remove IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext. Those kexts do no apply to your hardware. Remove the FakeSMC sensor kexts. They are not needed for installation (or even after).

If you suspect a graphics problem, you can use an invalid FakeID (0x12345678). You can change it in Clover options -> Graphics injector.

But it is clear you're not using this config.plist (eg. not booting from the EFI/Clover you attached). That setup would not allow you to boot into install_osx since HFSPlus.efi is missing from drivers64UEFI.

I thought I would not need the HFSPlus.efi because I'm using Clover Legacy. I'm removing the kexts you said and will try again.

From the guide:

Note: For Clover legacy, HFSPlus.efi is built-in (Clover legacy loads no drivers from drivers64UEFI anyway)

Still getting the same result. I've attached the current Clover folder and will try to use an invalid FakeID. Also attached two images, the final image before going totally to the black screen (display off) and another that hangs for a while, it took more than minutes loading before going to the black screen.
 

Attachments

  • clover-z370-removed-not-needed-kexts.zip
    3.7 MB · Views: 34
  • 20170627_211205.jpg
    20170627_211205.jpg
    310.2 KB · Views: 56
  • screenshot2.png
    screenshot2.png
    148.4 KB · Views: 81
  • screenshot1.png
    screenshot1.png
    153.2 KB · Views: 66
  • screenshot0.png
    screenshot0.png
    206.2 KB · Views: 65
  • 20170627_211824.jpg
    20170627_211824.jpg
    367.7 KB · Views: 44
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I thought I would not need the HFSPlus.efi because I'm using Clover Legacy.

Your signature does not specify Clover legacy. Clover UEFI is assumed when Clover legacy is not specified...

Still getting the same result. I've attached the current Clover folder and will try to use an invalid FakeID. Also attached two images, the final image before going totally to the black screen (display off) and another that hangs for a while, it took more than minutes loading before going to the black screen.

From where did you download macOS?
On what hardware did you create your USB installer?
 
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
DH55HC
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
GTX 950 2GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Your signature does not specify Clover legacy. Clover UEFI is assumed when Clover legacy is not specified...



From where did you download macOS?
On what hardware did you create your USB installer?

Added to the signature, isn't a rule to use Clover EFI on Intel 5 and 6 families?

I downloaded and created the installer from my desktop that's in my signature. I've successfully installed OS X on this laptop in the past, not sure if it was 10.10 or 10.09. Maybe I could try to create an installer with a previous version of MacOS and see how it goes?
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Added to the signature, isn't a rule to use Clover EFI on Intel 5 and 6 families?

Many 6-series laptops have UEFI.

I downloaded and created the installer from my desktop that's in my signature. I've successfully installed OS X on this laptop in the past, not sure if it was 10.10 or 10.09. Maybe I could try to create an installer with a previous version of MacOS and see how it goes?

I think FakeID/IntelGFX has no effect when NoDefaultProperties=true is set...
 
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
DH55HC
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
GTX 950 2GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Many 6-series laptops have UEFI.



I think FakeID/IntelGFX has no effect when NoDefaultProperties=true is set...

I think my laptop does not have UEFI, there's nothing related to UEFI in setup/bios.

Where do you see that "NoDefaultProperties=true" is set and how to remove it?

I see that on config.plist

Code:
<dict>
        <key>NoDefaultProperties</key>

Should I remove everything in this block?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Where do you see that "NoDefaultProperties=true" is set and how to remove it?

Look in your config.plist.
Always use a plist editor such as Xcode or PlistEdit Pro.
 
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
DH55HC
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
GTX 950 2GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Look in your config.plist.
Always use a plist editor such as Xcode or PlistEdit Pro.

Thanks, sorry to insist, but just to know...

Wouldn't changing this:
Code:
    <dict>
        <key>NoDefaultProperties</key>
        <true/>

To:
Code:
    <dict>
        <key>NoDefaultProperties</key>
        <false/>

Do the job?

Edit: I changed this way but got the same result.
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top