Contribute
Register

Lenovo ThinkPad EDGE E420 i3-2330. Black Screen

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E420 - 1141BTF Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i3-2350m 2.30 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,


I just attempted my first Hackintosh on the same laptop, I was aware of the black screen problem, read this forum since a while, that was really helpful.

Skip the quote below if that's too long, I mention my setup and where I am so far.

I attempted to install Mavericks, and after moving the AppleIntel* Kext, suceeded with the install on my first try. :D
Also installed a basic battery Kext which work perfectly (VoodooBattery? Not sure). Managed to get sound working with VoodooHDA, did not applied any DSDT patches, not used to it yet (I try).

I also got installed Chimera on the hard drive succesfully - people reported that this laptop cannot boot on GPT disk, I can't confirm, but I patched the installer for MBR, then booted from Unibeast, installed Chimera from Multibeast as well. I had to apply the fix for boot:0 error, the 4k sectors. I had "boot0:done boot:0 error". Applied the fix, and now I have a working triple-boot, Windows, OS X and Linux on one SSD (mSATA) drive. :D

Couldn't get video to work as well...
You've asked for lspci -nn output. Here it is. I have the same model, but with a Intel Core i3-2350m CPU.

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller [8086:0104] (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0116] (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 [8086:1c3a] (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 [8086:1c2d] (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1c20] (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:1c10] (rev b4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 [8086:1c12] (rev b4)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 [8086:1c14] (rev b4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 4 [8086:1c16] (rev b4)
00:1c.7 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 8 [8086:1c1e] (rev b4)
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 [8086:1c26] (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation HM65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller [8086:1c49] (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port SATA AHCI Controller [8086:1c03] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller [8086:1c22] (rev 04)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)
03:00.0 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd PCIe SDXC/MMC Host Controller [1180:e823] (rev 07)
08:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter [10ec:8176] (rev 01)

From the moment I copy AppleIntelHD3000Graphics.kext, AppleIntelHD3000GraphicsGA.plugin, AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext in S/L/E (Well, I don't copy, I use KextBeast, which also fix permissions), and reboot, I also get the blackscreen, no matter if my definition is MacBook Pro 8.1 or MacMini. :(

I notice the keyboard output and sound still work. I cannot test VNC, because it asks to be activated with a license and I have no Internet.
May I ask how did you managed to get Internet working, wired probably? I know Wifi won't work unless you swap the card and modify the BIOS (Won't attempt this), but I assume you managed to get connected to Internet at all? That would be really helpful.


Thanks, if anyone can help me with that! :)


EDIT: I just noticed this is a forum for Lion, and I use Mavericks (I attempted Mavericks I guess, because I knew Lion had this problem... Mavericks was not CONFIRMED to have the same problem, so that was nicer to attempt my first Hackintosh, and not knowing if the problem would also happen with Mavericks.
Is Mavericks a problem in that case ? (It runs really well actually)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...

From the moment I copy AppleIntelHD3000Graphics.kext, AppleIntelHD3000GraphicsGA.plugin, AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext in S/L/E (Well, I don't copy, I use KextBeast, which also fix permissions), and reboot, I also get the blackscreen, no matter if my definition is MacBook Pro 8.1 or MacMini. :(

...
Thanks, if anyone can help me with that! :)

Why are you installing such kexts? HD3000 is supported by default...
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E420 - 1141BTF Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i3-2350m 2.30 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Why are you installing such kexts? HD3000 is supported by default...

Two possibilities:

- I tried to enable HD3000 by installing a few downloaded/modified kexts, from those who had the same problem on InsanelyMac (neither them could fix it: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/292690-lenovo-edge-e420-hd3000-internal-screen-not-working/ );
- I remember I had to remove these Kexts from my Unibeast /Extras to start the installer, otherwise I would just get the same black screen and couldn't install. I assume I have to install these kext again to enable HD3000 instead of generic 1024x768, because I removed them for the installation. I might be wrong on this - I'm still new to Hackintoshing.


Thanks for your reply.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Two possibilities:

- I tried to enable HD3000 by installing a few downloaded/modified kexts, from those who had the same problem on InsanelyMac (neither them could fix it: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/292690-lenovo-edge-e420-hd3000-internal-screen-not-working/ );
- I remember I had to remove these Kexts from my Unibeast S/L/E to start the installer, otherwise I would just get the same black screen and couldn't install. I assume I have to install these again, because I removed them for the installation. I might be wrong on this - I'm still new to Hackintoshing.


Thanks for your reply.

The only reason you would have to remove them to install is if you have a 7-series board (should be noted in your profile).

And in that case (HD3000 on 7-series), you're better off doing DSDT patches instead of installing a modified kext.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E420 - 1141BTF Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i3-2350m 2.30 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
These were all the kexts I moved on my Unibeast drive - I moved them in "KextBackup", so I could boot the installer without a black screen. After the installation, I had direct access to Mavericks, with a 1024x768 resolution.

kext.jpg

EDIT: Oh, and here are details about my motherboard:

motherboard.jpg
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
These were all the kexts I moved on my Unibeast drive - I moved them in "KextBackup", so I could boot the installer without a black screen. After the installation, I had direct access to Mavericks, with a 1024x768 resolution.

View attachment 96135

EDIT: Oh, and here are details about my motherboard:

View attachment 96136

You have HD3000 on 6-series. HD3000 is directly supported. What is your screen resolution?
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E420 - 1141BTF Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i3-2350m 2.30 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My native is 1366x768.
BIOS has the latest update as well.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My native is 1366x768.

With vanilla kexts installed you should be able to inject snb-platform-id:
IGPlatformID=00010000

Assumes Chimera. And have enabled HD3000. For Chimera3 that is the default for HD3000 mobile.

There are exceptions, but 90% of HD3000/1366x768 work with 00010000 for snb-platform-id.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E420 - 1141BTF Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i3-2350m 2.30 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
With vanilla kexts installed you should be able to inject snb-platform-id:
IGPlatformID=00010000

Assumes Chimera. And have enabled HD3000. For Chimera3 that is the default for HD3000 mobile.

There are exceptions, but 90% of HD3000/1366x768 work with 00010000 for snb-platform-id.

Thanks;
I have Chimera installed on the SDD, I will double-check the version and post it back (2.2.1 ? Latest included with Multibeast for Mavericks).

I have a few kext installed I might have to remove (Maybe even restart OS X install all over, but might as well try to remove my kext without reinstalling, for the experience. I am capable of deleting kext from Single-User mode).

I will do ressearch on how to inject snb-platform-id, I don't know where to start yet. Is this related to this topic?
I believe that's about the DSDT patching.

http://www.osx86.net/topic/12860-mountain-lion-hd3000/


Thanks again for trying to help.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks;
I have Chimera installed on the SDD, I will double-check the version and post it back (2.2.1 ? Latest included with Multibeast for Mavericks).

Latest is Chimera3.

I have a few kext installed I might have to remove (Maybe even restart OS X install all over, but might as well try to remove my kext without reinstalling, for the experience. I am capable of deleting kext from Single-User mode).

I will do ressearch on how to inject snb-platform-id, I don't know where to start yet. Is this related to this topic?
I believe that's about the DSDT patching.

You can inject it with DSDT or use the flag I mentioned in my previous post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top