Contribute
Register

KP During Installation

Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Tried to update to Sierra via both direct update, and from a newly created USB installer. I get this every time:

IMG_2627.JPG


GA-X79-UP4, i7 3930k, GTX 770
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
287
Motherboard
MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Tried to install Sierra via both direct update, and from a newly created USB installer.
Have you tried to use different usb ports?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Have you tried to use different usb ports?
Yes, and also tried updating via an internal SATA drive. Still no luck.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UP4
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
Tried to install Sierra via both direct update, and from a newly created USB installer. I get this every time:

View attachment 215650
GA-X79-UP4, i7 3930k, GTX 770
I have a X79-UP4/3820/GTX 760(Bios F7) fully woking on ElCap & Sierra attached is my EFI Folder. hope you get sorted.
Using MacPro 6,1 fixed blacksceen error, think it still works on other system definitions.

Install Clover v3811 on the EFI Partition, copy contents of the zip file onto the EFI.
I can then boot a cloned system from my mac, only thing that does not work is audio, which is fixed by running
the audio clover script, (attached is the sierra version), and change the serial number.

My only issue is on Sierra the audio always defaults to the wrong port every boot, don't know how to fix that.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a X79-UP4/3820/GTX 760(Bios F7) fully woking on ElCap & Sierra attached is my EFI Folder. hope you get sorted.
Using MacPro 6,1 fixed blacksceen error, think it still works on other system definitions.

Install Clover v3811 on the EFI Partition, copy contents of the zip file onto the EFI.
I can then boot a cloned system from my mac, only thing that does not work is audio, which is fixed by running
the audio clover script, (attached is the sierra version), and change the serial number.

My only issue is on Sierra the audio always defaults to the wrong port every boot, don't know how to fix that.
Thanks, I'll give it a shot!
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a X79-UP4/3820/GTX 760(Bios F7) fully woking on ElCap & Sierra attached is my EFI Folder. hope you get sorted.
Using MacPro 6,1 fixed blacksceen error, think it still works on other system definitions.

Install Clover v3811 on the EFI Partition, copy contents of the zip file onto the EFI.
I can then boot a cloned system from my mac, only thing that does not work is audio, which is fixed by running
the audio clover script, (attached is the sierra version), and change the serial number.

My only issue is on Sierra the audio always defaults to the wrong port every boot, don't know how to fix that.
Your attachment made it so that the installer ran successfully. But now I'm getting a "system up time in nanoseconds" error. >_<
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,639
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Your attachment made it so that the installer ran successfully. But now I'm getting a "system up time in nanoseconds" error. >_<
You are posting for help in a Guide thread but you should open a thread of your own in Sierra Desktop Support.
I know everyone else is doing it but they are wrong too.

There is no such thing as a "system up time in nanoseconds" error, what you have is a kernel panic.
The "system up time in nanoseconds" message refers to the length of time that the system was 'alive' for before the KP.

At a guess I would say that you probably neglected to delete the AppleTyMCEDriver.kext when you changed your system definition to a MacPro6,1 and the KP is because you don't have ECC RAM.

If this is the case,
Boot in Safe Mode and either change your system definition to one that doesn't use ECC RAM or,

In Finder navigate to /System/Library/Extensions/ and move AppleTyMCEDriver.kext to the Trash.


Restart and boot without caches.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UP4
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
Included in my EFI folder was the VoodooTSCSync.kext for 4core cpus, if yours is a 6core you will need to chnage that.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You are posting for help in a Guide thread but you should open a thread of your own in Sierra Desktop Support.
I know everyone else is doing it but they are wrong too.

There is no such thing as a "system up time in nanoseconds" error, what you have is a kernel panic.
The "system up time in nanoseconds" message refers to the length of time that the system was 'alive' for before the KP.

At a guess I would say that you probably neglected to delete the AppleTyMCEDriver.kext when you changed your system definition to a MacPro6,1 and the KP is because you don't have ECC RAM.

If this is the case,
Boot in Safe Mode and either change your system definition to one that doesn't use ECC RAM or,

In Finder navigate to /System/Library/Extensions/ and move AppleTyMCEDriver.kext to the Trash.


Restart and boot without caches.
Thank you for clarifying that for me.

When I try to boot to safe mode (boot flag "-x") I get a message that says: "boot failed sleeping for 10 seconds before restarting."
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 rev 1.1
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Included in my EFI folder was the VoodooTSCSync.kext for 4core cpus, if yours is a 6core you will need to chnage that.
I'll try that, thanks. Currently booting from my external, which is a clone of my system drive in 10.9.5 to try and remedy this mess. :banghead::crazy:
 
Top