Kernel Panic with R9 290X GPU

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by logik, Aug 13, 2018.

  1. logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 13, 2018 at 5:19 AM #1
    logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 (F13 BIOS, not UEFI BIOS)
    Intel Core i7-3770 3.4GHz
    Samsung 840 Series SSD 500 GB SATA3
    16 GB RAM

    I read that this GPU "just works". However, I previously had a Radeon 6850 but I don't remember what I did to get that to work so possibly something I installed previously is conflicting. If I remove AMDxxxx kexts, it will boot but no details in System Information

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018
  2. logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 13, 2018 at 5:57 AM #2
    logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I did clover config as shown here and GPU info looks better but doesn't actually work.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018
  3. logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 13, 2018 at 7:15 PM #3
    logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    If I boot with monitor plugged into 290x, boot freeze here:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 13, 2018 at 10:31 PM #4
    logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Tried my old Gigabyte Radeon HD6850 which worked with Yosemite, can't this to work either. Read about and tried a million config.plist settings. Going out of my mind over here.
     
  5. Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,927
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2018 at 4:15 AM #5
    Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,927
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You did not say which version of MacOS you are running. Which is it?
     
  6. logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 14, 2018 at 4:29 AM #6
    logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Lordy, it's been a long day! High Sierra.
     
  7. Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,927
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2018 at 5:27 AM #7
    Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,927
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    High Sierra? Then according to the Radeon Compatibility Guide here, you probably need the RadeonDeInit setting in Clover, or the Lilu and WhateverGreen kexts in /EFI/Clover/kexts/Other in the EFI partition of the boot drive.

    I think the guide and any other information can be used as reference, but not absolute truth. I got a second hand 7870 some time ago and was set to use it in my X99 build, as the guide says it should be OOB with no problems. But when I attempted to boot El Capitan 10.11.6 with it I was greeted with a black screen, even with the Lilu and WhateverGreen kexts. However, with those two kexts I have no problems in Sierra 10.12.6, and in High Sierra 10.13.6 it worked directly even without those kexts.

    I have since put back a GTX760 into that system and it works in El Capitan / Sierra / High Sierra.
     
  8. logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 14, 2018 at 5:53 AM #8
    logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Yea, I tried all that and a million different clover configs for about 6 hours.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  9. Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,927
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2018 at 6:50 AM #9
    Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,927
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Will you consider upgrading your motherboard to UEFI BIOS? Personally I think using a UEFI BIOS is better than a traditional BIOS like what you have when using MacOS. I have the same motherboard myself and I have upgraded it to use UEFI BIOS, and it works using a i5 2405S CPU with Mountain Lion / Mavericks / Yosemite / El Capitan with no problems.

    I saw "Unsupported CPU" in your provided picture and I don't know if this is due to the fact you are using an Ivy Bridge CPU with a Sandy Bridge motherboard.
     
  10. logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 14, 2018 at 4:05 PM #10
    logik

    logik

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thanks for your reply. Yes, I'm willing to try UEFI BIOS. Do I have to reinstall macOS if I do that or just Clover?

    re: CPU - that's interesting. This CPU is compatible with the motherboard with the newer BIOS that I have. Would there be something that prevents macOS from taking full advantage of the CPU?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice