Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have attached an image of the kernel panic screen I get when trying to install/upgrade High Sierra. To my eyes there is a serious lack of helpful information.
I initially tried the upgrade method, following the instructions in the first post to the letter.
When that failed I tried creating the USB installer, again following the instructions to the letter.
Both gave me the screen you see in the attachment.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I did install the latest Clover 4220
I did copy the files apfs.efi, fakeSMC.kext and NullCPUPowerManagement.kext to the correct destinations. screen.jpg

The really annoying and frustrating thing is that I have been hacking my toshes for almost nine years flawlessly.

I have attached an image of the kernel panic screen I get when trying to install/upgrade High Sierra. To my eyes there is a serious lack of helpful information.
I initially tried the upgrade method, following the instructions in the first post to the letter.
When that failed I tried creating the USB installer, again following the instructions to the letter.
Both gave me the screen you see in the attachment.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I did install the latest Clover 4220
I did copy the files apfs.efi, fakeSMC.kext and NullCPUPowerManagement.kext to the correct destinations.View attachment 280965

The really annoying and frustrating thing is that I have been hacking my toshes for almost nine years flawlessly.

Hello, I have exactly the same problem, you have been able to solve it.

Thank you very much.

Search this forum for backtrace. I think one common cause is having to drop the MATS table, or the DMAR table, or another firmware table found in your firmware that 10.13 does not like.