Kernel Panic after upgrading to 8gb help!

Discussion in 'Lion Desktop Support' started by jt8277, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Motherboard:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5 2.71 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2048 Mb
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 14, 2011 at 12:31 AM #1
    jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Motherboard:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5 2.71 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2048 Mb
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hi guys,

    This is fantastic, I am writing this on my newly built MacOSx box, the guides provided by all of you guys and tonymacx86 of course.

    My computer is so fast its unreal.

    I have managed to get all working great in OSx Lion 10.7.2 using tonymacx86 guide... had to re-run Multi-Beast because I lost network but re-ran it and it works great.

    My only problem now is that I can't seem to get the installation to accept anything more than 8gb, it crashes before it gets to boot with a Kernel Panic.

    Has anyone used similar hardware to mine and managed to get it to accept more than 4gb, I would suspect that Windows 7 will accept it but I haven't tested with that yet.

    Any help you guys can provide would be greatly received.

    Yours

    JT
     
  2. OldFred

    OldFred

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H
    CPU:
    2.93 Ghz i7
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 14, 2011 at 1:05 AM #2
    OldFred

    OldFred

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H
    CPU:
    2.93 Ghz i7
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Have you swapped your memory around to see if the new memory is good? Sounds like a bad stick of ram.
     
  3. nzalog

    nzalog

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 14, 2011 at 1:26 AM #3
    nzalog

    nzalog

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yeah dude it sounds like bad memory... try this:

    -Take out the 4GB that you had in there originally.

    -Put in one stick of the new memory.

    -Boot up see if you get a panic.

    -Repeat with other stick of memory.
     
  4. jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Motherboard:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5 2.71 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2048 Mb
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 14, 2011 at 9:16 AM #4
    jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Motherboard:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5 2.71 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2048 Mb
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hi

    I am actually running on the other stick of memory right now, all seems fine... that was my first thought that I could have gotten a bad stick.

    Any other ideas guys?

    Thanks
    J
     
  5. jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Motherboard:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5 2.71 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2048 Mb
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 14, 2011 at 3:59 PM #5
    jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Motherboard:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5 2.71 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2048 Mb
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Strange!!! Darn system... I booted with 8Gb and got the Kernel Panic as described earlier but thought I would just give it a try by pressing the reset button, and all of a sudden it decided it wanted to boot to Lion.

    Now my old iMac has died... it must have known it was becoming surplus to requirements. :lol:

    Thank you all for checking this post out and to those that replied.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2011-10-14 at 3.54.48 PM.png  (824.1 KB, 60 views)

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice