Kernel Panic after upgrading to 8gb help!

Discussion in 'Lion Desktop Support' started by jt8277, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Oct 14, 2011 at 12:31 AM #1
    jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Hi guys,

    This is fantastic, I am writing this on my newly built MacOSx box, the guides provided by all of you guys and tonymacx86 of course.

    My computer is so fast its unreal.

    I have managed to get all working great in OSx Lion 10.7.2 using tonymacx86 guide... had to re-run Multi-Beast because I lost network but re-ran it and it works great.

    My only problem now is that I can't seem to get the installation to accept anything more than 8gb, it crashes before it gets to boot with a Kernel Panic.

    Has anyone used similar hardware to mine and managed to get it to accept more than 4gb, I would suspect that Windows 7 will accept it but I haven't tested with that yet.

    Any help you guys can provide would be greatly received.

    Yours

    JT
     
  2. OldFred

    OldFred

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H
    CPU:
    2.93 Ghz i7
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 14, 2011 at 1:05 AM #2
    OldFred

    OldFred

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H
    CPU:
    2.93 Ghz i7
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Have you swapped your memory around to see if the new memory is good? Sounds like a bad stick of ram.
     
  3. nzalog

    nzalog

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 14, 2011 at 1:26 AM #3
    nzalog

    nzalog

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yeah dude it sounds like bad memory... try this:

    -Take out the 4GB that you had in there originally.

    -Put in one stick of the new memory.

    -Boot up see if you get a panic.

    -Repeat with other stick of memory.
     
  4. jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Oct 14, 2011 at 9:16 AM #4
    jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Hi

    I am actually running on the other stick of memory right now, all seems fine... that was my first thought that I could have gotten a bad stick.

    Any other ideas guys?

    Thanks
    J
     
  5. jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Oct 14, 2011 at 3:59 PM #5
    jt8277

    jt8277

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC Kit DC3217IYE
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Strange!!! Darn system... I booted with 8Gb and got the Kernel Panic as described earlier but thought I would just give it a try by pressing the reset button, and all of a sudden it decided it wanted to boot to Lion.

    Now my old iMac has died... it must have known it was becoming surplus to requirements. :lol:

    Thank you all for checking this post out and to those that replied.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2011-10-14 at 3.54.48 PM.png  (824.1 KB, 48 views)

Share This Page