Contribute
Register

just got stuck only one thing on dell 3542, please help

Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
207
Motherboard
HP mini Desktop
CPU
Core i3 3.91 Ghz
Graphics
intel 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
what method did you use to get audio, wifi& brightness working?
if they are working alright, can you post the related kext files?
first the brightness it works roughly. when i press Fn+F12 it turns on like MAC but i can't adjust the brightness. It doesn't bother me much i use System Preference (display) to adjust it.

Second wifi it isn't supported by kext. I need replacing my wifi card to a new BCM9XXXXX chipset from broadcom it will work out of the box.

_____________________________________________________________________________

I tried many times to install the Win8.1 NOW it fixed the problem by changing a new USB drive.

Well, I come back to ask Mr. Rehabman that how i can make a dual boot. ?? I have already installed Win 8.1 but it keeps downloading Windows NOT the Dual Boot Options. NOW what i only stuck is "HOW can i make a Dualboot OPtions POP up on the screen to choose OSX or Win8.1????
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
806
Motherboard
Acer Aspire 5750G
CPU
i7 2630QM
Graphics
GT 540M + HD 3000
Mobile Phone
iOS
first the brightness it works roughly. when i press Fn+F12 it turns on like MAC but i can't adjust the brightness. It doesn't bother me much i use System Preference (display) to adjust it.

Second wifi it isn't supported by kext. I need replacing my wifi card to a new BCM9XXXXX chipset from broadcom it will work out of the box.

_____________________________________________________________________________

I tried many times to install the Win8.1 NOW it fixed the problem by changing a new USB drive.

Well, I come back to ask Mr. Rehabman that how i can make a dual boot. ?? I have already installed Win 8.1 but it keeps downloading Windows NOT the Dual Boot Options. NOW what i only stuck is "HOW can i make a Dualboot OPtions POP up on the screen to choose OSX or Win8.1????
You need to change your boot options. So go into your BIOS and set Clover to the top.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
first the brightness it works roughly. when i press Fn+F12 it turns on like MAC but i can't adjust the brightness. It doesn't bother me much i use System Preference (display) to adjust it.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...ching-dsdt-ssdt-laptop-backlight-control.html

Second wifi it isn't supported by kext. I need replacing my wifi card to a new BCM9XXXXX chipset from broadcom it will work out of the box.
WiFi: Depends on having compatible hardware. Use DPCIManager->PCI List to find out what you have. Compatible chipsets and the procedures for making them work are covered here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/104850-guide-airport-pcie-half-mini-v2.html

_____________________________________________________________________________

I tried many times to install the Win8.1 NOW it fixed the problem by changing a new USB drive.

Well, I come back to ask Mr. Rehabman that how i can make a dual boot. ?? I have already installed Win 8.1 but it keeps downloading Windows NOT the Dual Boot Options. NOW what i only stuck is "HOW can i make a Dualboot OPtions POP up on the screen to choose OSX or Win8.1????
Dual boot can work with Clover... What is your issue? Not sure what you mean by "downloading Windows"..
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
20
Motherboard
Dell 3542
CPU
i7-4510u
Graphics
IntelHDGraphics4400+geforce 840m
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
first the brightness it works roughly. when i press Fn+F12 it turns on like MAC but i can't adjust the brightness. It doesn't bother me much i use System Preference (display) to adjust it.

Second wifi it isn't supported by kext. I need replacing my wifi card to a new BCM9XXXXX chipset from broadcom it will work out of the box.

_____________________________________________________________________________

I tried many times to install the Win8.1 NOW it fixed the problem by changing a new USB drive.

Well, I come back to ask Mr. Rehabman that how i can make a dual boot. ?? I have already installed Win 8.1 but it keeps downloading Windows NOT the Dual Boot Options. NOW what i only stuck is "HOW can i make a Dualboot OPtions POP up on the screen to choose OSX or Win8.1????
Our systems are same ie DELL 15 3542 laptop, so whatever works for you should work for me.
here is discription specific.
audio:alc3223
wifi:ar9565
grafics:Intel HD4400 + GeForce 840m.
please confirm if that matchs.
and what did you do to get the audio working?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Our systems are same ie DELL 15 3542 laptop, so whatever works for you should work for me.
here is discription specific.
audio:alc3223
wifi:ar9565
grafics:Intel HD4400 + GeForce 840m.
please confirm if that matchs.
and what did you do to get the audio working?
FYI: AR9565 is not supported and must be replaced...

There is a lot of information in the sticky posts: http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-support/
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
207
Motherboard
HP mini Desktop
CPU
Core i3 3.91 Ghz
Graphics
intel 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Our systems are same ie DELL 15 3542 laptop, so whatever works for you should work for me.
here is discription specific.
audio:alc3223
wifi:ar9565
grafics:Intel HD4400 + GeForce 840m.
please confirm if that matchs.
and what did you do to get the audio working?
first of all, i would like to tell you that in my coutry. Dell Inspiron 3542 is manufactured into two series. series One has cpu core i3 4005u which doesn't have AMD or Nvidia graghic card and series Two, it comes with Nvidia graphic cards. the cpu, I can't remember what series is (it should be core i3 core i5.

Mine is inspiron 15.6 inches, core i3 4005u 4400 intel graphics.

Anyway, the thing is you shouldn't install GRAPHICS cards Nvidia driver (from MultiBeast) you can only run INTEL graphic cards.

The spec that I have the same as yours

audio:alc3223 >>>>> I have the same.>>>>I install Voodoo to run it. No ALC driver supports
wifi:ar9565 >>>>>>I have the same>>>>>it s not working. I need to replace my wifi card.

grafics:Intel HD4400 + GeForce 840m.>>>>>>I have only INTEL 4400>>>>You can only run INTEL and ALSO DISABLE GEFORCE840

Brightness control (i haven't tried it yet)
http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...ching-dsdt-ssdt-laptop-backlight-control.html
Wifi mini half PCI
http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/104850-guide-airport-pcie-half-mini-v2.html

Finally I have done installing Dual boot. Now i can select Windows 8.1 and Yosemite on the screen.

Big thanks to Mr. Rehabman.

Cheers
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
20
Motherboard
Dell 3542
CPU
i7-4510u
Graphics
IntelHDGraphics4400+geforce 840m
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
can you upload your voodoo kext for audio, and where did you install it, in the extensions or in the EFI partition.
and since we have the same hardware, we could work together on fixing further issues.
thakyou.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
207
Motherboard
HP mini Desktop
CPU
Core i3 3.91 Ghz
Graphics
intel 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have problem with adjusting the brightness. Here is the thing, I can use Fn+F11 and Fn + F12 but when I press Fn+F11 the light goes DOWN completely just ONCE I press it and It is the same as when I press Fn+F12 the light turns completely bright!! I CAN't adjust bit by bit. well, the pop up looks the same as Mac. Tell me please how i can fix this.
It is a keyboard problem (your brightness keys are breakless). Post your native DSDT. At least that is my guess.

Also...

Download patchmatic: https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-MaciASL-patchmatic.
Extract the 'patchmatic' binary from the ZIP. Copy it to /usr/bin, such that you have the binary at /usr/bin/patchmatic.

In terminal,
Code:
rm -Rf ~/Downloads/RehabMan
mkdir ~/Downloads/RehabMan
cd ~/Downloads/RehabMan
patchmatic -extract
Post contents of Downloads/RehabMan directory (as ZIP).

Also, post ioreg: http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/58368-guide-how-make-copy-ioreg.html. Please, use the IORegistryExplorer v2.1 attached to the post! DO NOT reply with an ioreg from any other version of IORegistryExplorer.app.

And output from:
Code:
kextstat|grep -y acpiplat
kextstat|grep -y appleintelcpu
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
207
Motherboard
HP mini Desktop
CPU
Core i3 3.91 Ghz
Graphics
intel 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
It is a keyboard problem (your brightness keys are breakless). Post your native DSDT. At least that is my guess.

Also...

Download patchmatic: https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-MaciASL-patchmatic.
Extract the 'patchmatic' binary from the ZIP. Copy it to /usr/bin, such that you have the binary at /usr/bin/patchmatic.

In terminal,
Code:
rm -Rf ~/Downloads/RehabMan
mkdir ~/Downloads/RehabMan
cd ~/Downloads/RehabMan
patchmatic -extract
Post contents of Downloads/RehabMan directory (as ZIP).

Also, post ioreg: http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/58368-guide-how-make-copy-ioreg.html. Please, use the IORegistryExplorer v2.1 attached to the post! DO NOT reply with an ioreg from any other version of IORegistryExplorer.app.

I have attached ioreg as zip.
What is it below ? What should I do with this??

And output from:
Code:
kextstat|grep -y acpiplat
kextstat|grep -y appleintelcpu
 

Attachments

Top