Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Jpgs won't open in Preview Mojave!

Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z170X Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
How do you enable the iGPU exactly?
Do you still use the dGPU when the iGPU is enabled?

Best,
-a-
i got black screen when computer goes to sleep no success to fix that tried a lot of guide
please help me
There is a kext for viewing jpegs, no additional bios settings required.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
549
Motherboard
Asus Prime X570 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
There is a kext for viewing jpegs, no additional bios settings required.
I think that if you do this the iGPU is not used at all and you lose a bit in performances (since the dGPU does all the work).
Since Mojave the "redundant" iGPU is put to work instead of resting inactive and useless, AFAIU...
But maybe I'm wrong... let me know if you know better :)

Best,
-a-
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have tried like everything I've read on this thread, but it still doesn't work :(
I have installed with KextBeast that jpeg kext, I have used Kext utility to repair permissions, I even enabled the integrated video card from bios, even copied the kexts to EFI, Clover, Kexts, Other.. but still nothing.

I can preview png's, pdf's.. but no jpegs :(
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
7,015
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have tried like everything I've read on this thread, but it still doesn't work :(
I have installed with KextBeast that jpeg kext, I have used Kext utility to repair permissions, I even enabled the integrated video card from bios, even copied the kexts to EFI, Clover, Kexts, Other.. but still nothing.

I can preview png's, pdf's.. but no jpegs :(

Hi there.

Sorry, not enough information here to identify what went wrong ... It will work.

So it's worth repeating the basics -

1) ensure you have set the SIP security to a level that allows third-party kexts to install and run:

Code:
<key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BooterConfig</key>
        <string>0x28</string>
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x67</string>
    </dict>

... is a suggestion, or you can use Clover Configurator to add the keys instead.

2) for NoVPAJpeg.kext you ALSO need Lilu.kext, as it is now a plug-in for Lilu. Check you have both latest versions.

3) if you are worried about kext cache rebuilding when you install to Library/Extensions, you can always do your testing by placing the kext pair in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other instead ...

4) If you choose to do this remove them from L/E first and rebuild the caches using Terminal and the command:

Code:
sudo kextcache -i /

:)
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi there.

Sorry, not enough information here to identify what went wrong ... It will work.

So it's worth repeating the basics -

1) ensure you have set the SIP security to a level that allows third-party kexts to install and run:

Code:
<key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BooterConfig</key>
        <string>0x28</string>
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x67</string>
    </dict>

... is a suggestion, or you can use Clover Configurator to add the keys instead.

2) for NoVPAJpeg.kext you ALSO need Lilu.kext, as it is now a plug-in for Lilu. Check you have both latest versions.

3) if you are worried about kext cache rebuilding when you install to Library/Extensions, you can always do your testing by placing the kext pair in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other instead ...

4) If you choose to do this remove them from L/E first and rebuild the caches using Terminal and the command:

Code:
sudo kextcache -i /

:)


Thank you very much for your reply! :D

I have mounted the partition with Efi Mounter v3, then opened Clover Configuration, went to RT Variables and wrote 28 for Booter Config and 67 for CsdActiveConfig, hit Save and selected EFI>Clover to save the config.plist.

Then I rebooted, but when I open again CLover Configuration.. at RT Variables, there is still 0 and 0. How do I know it saved the entries wrote before?

Thank you very much!

P.S. I would enter the code manually, not with Clover Configuration, but I don't know how. What other informartions do you need, so we can solve this issue? Thank you!
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
7,015
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you very much for your reply! :D

I have mounted the partition with Efi Mounter v3, then opened Clover Configuration, went to RT Variables and wrote 28 for Booter Config and 67 for CsdActiveConfig, hit Save and selected EFI>Clover to save the config.plist.

Then I rebooted, but when I open again CLover Configuration.. at RT Variables, there is still 0 and 0. How do I know it saved the entries wrote before?

Thank you very much!

P.S. I would enter the code manually, not with Clover Configuration, but I don't know how. What other informartions do you need, so we can solve this issue? Thank you!

Okay ...

Post your config.plist here so we can check :thumbup:
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Okay ...

Post your config.plist here so we can check :thumbup:

Thanks a lot! :D I have added the code at the end of the config.plist, but still doesn't work.
And in the printscreen you can see the files I have in Efi>Clover>Kexts>other
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    1.5 KB · Views: 77
  • Screenshot 2019-07-14 at 13.17.16.png
    Screenshot 2019-07-14 at 13.17.16.png
    189.9 KB · Views: 49

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
7,015
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks a lot! :D I have added the code at the end of the config.plist, but still doesn't work.
And in the printscreen you can see the files I have in Efi>Clover>Kexts>other

Okay ...

1) The config.plist is malformed/corrupt. There's not enough in there. Double-check the one in your EFI/CLOVER directory to see if it is still intact etc. If your macOS is still booting okay, then that's a mystery.

I can see you have the SIP code in there already.

2) In the EFI/CLOVER/kets/Other folder, you don't need the *.dSYM file too.

:)
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Okay ...

1) The config.plist is malformed/corrupt. There's not enough in there. Double-check the one in your EFI/CLOVER directory to see if it is still intact etc. If your macOS is still booting okay, then that's a mystery.

I can see you have the SIP code in there already.

2) In the EFI/CLOVER/kets/Other folder, you don't need the *.dSYM file too.

:)

1) Yes, I am writting from my computer, it boots alright. Maybe it helps.. before Mojave, I've had Sierra, updated Clover and then updated to Mojave with the method described here.
The config.plist that is in EFI/CLOVER is this one. What is missing from there? Can I add?

2) I deleted the *dSYM file.

What should I do next? Thanks! :D
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    1.5 KB · Views: 47
Top