Contribute
Register

Is this the perfect Macbook pro substitute? everything working OOB except intel wifi

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
.. i have now been able to boot into the installer, the only thing i've changed is removing the cpusensor thing in fakesmc and adding intel inject 0x61610002.
0x61610002 is an invalid ID (perhaps you meant 0x16160002). It will keep the graphics drivers from loading...

61610002, but to be honest i didnt see a difference with 61610000.
Both IDs are invalid.

[*]Sound not working - fresh install doesnt not yet have sound enabled via voodoo or HDA kext. how the heck do I find out what codec its got? Acer doesnt supply such details.
Audio: Best result with patched AppleHDA. Google 'patch AppleHDA guide'. Search for suitable AppleHDA or patch it yourself. Apply appropriate DSDT patches.

DSDT patches for patched AppleHDA are covered in the DSDT/SSDT patching guide:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-support/152573-guide-patching-laptop-dsdt-ssdts.html

Hint: You obtain a codec dump from Linux.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is a journey, one USB port (USB3.0) will not play nice with clover, the USB 2 port is ok.......
Clover? What is the specific issue? What are you using for USB3? (GenericUSBXHCI.kext or AppleUSBXHCI.kext)?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
160
Motherboard
Asus Z170-K
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
iOS
0x61610002 is an invalid ID (perhaps you meant 0x16160002). It will keep the graphics drivers from loading...

Both IDs are invalid.
dammit! you're right, it was actually a typo.... in the config file too! yet somehow it still say HD6000 in sys info... and it didnt give a panic, twice so far rebooted and no graphics issue....
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
dammit! you're right, it was actually a typo.... in the config file too! yet somehow it still say HD6000 in sys info... and it didnt give a panic, twice so far rebooted and no graphics issue....
It won't panic. It will just keep the drivers from loading. No QE/CI. You're making a false assumption that just because HD6000 is shown in sys info, that the proper drivers are loaded.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
160
Motherboard
Asus Z170-K
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
iOS
Clover? What is the specific issue? What are you using for USB3? (GenericUSBXHCI.kext or AppleUSBXHCI.kext)?
No real issues as such, but I have noticed to get the HDD install to boot using the USB, it fails everytime I use the USB 3 port but seems to behave when using the USB 2 port. using genericUSBXHCI for usb in clover....
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
No real issues as such, but I have noticed to get the HDD install to boot using the USB, it fails everytime I use the USB 3 port but seems to behave when using the USB 2 port. using genericUSBXHCI for usb in clover....
I'm not clear on what you mean by "to get the HDD install to boot". What does booting from HDD have to do with USB?

GenericUSBXHCI.kext is a kext. It is started by OS X. Clover itself does not use it...
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
160
Motherboard
Asus Z170-K
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm not clear on what you mean by "to get the HDD install to boot". What does booting from HDD have to do with USB?

GenericUSBXHCI.kext is a kext. It is loaded by OS X. Clover itself does not use it...
ATM I have not installed clover to the HDD, I start up booting from USB then select the HDD. My plan is once i get everything working reasonably then I can install the correct clover options to the HDD so I dont keep messing with clover on the HDD.
On the second bit, strangely whenever i insert the clover boot USB into the USB 3 port it just doesnt boot up the HDD, but works fine in the other port which is USB 2....so for now I wont ponder it too much just use whats working....
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
On the second bit, strangely whenever i insert the clover boot USB into the USB 3 port it just doesnt boot up the HDD, but works fine in the other port which is USB 2....so for now I wont ponder it too much just use whats working....
BIOS issue.
 
Top